Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
E. T. Pierce Ledgers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame T2-MsV Ame T3
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1883-1885, of E. T. Pierce, merchant [News Ferry, Halifax County, Va.] who sold tobacco fertilizers.
Dates:
1883-1885
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
T. H. Love and John B. Winfree Account Books
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ac5-10, Ac14 and Ac15
Scope and Contents
Account books, 1868-1873, of T. H. Love and John B. Winfree, possibly carpenters, tobacconists or proprietors of a hardware store in Lynchburg, Va. Some prominent names mentioned are "Robert and Virgee and "Miller and Franklin." Most accounts are from the Lynchburg area, but include businesses and people in Memphis, Tennessee; Knoxville, Tennessee; Norfolk, Virginia; New Orleans, Louisiana and other towns, particularly in Virginia and Tennessee. 8 volumes
Dates:
1868-1873
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Plantation and Farm Instruction, Regulation, Record, Inventory and Account Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af27
Scope and Contents
Journal of work done on an unknown plantation, perhaps in Brunswick or Greensville County, Virginia, between January 3-June 16, 1853 and June 15-July 1, 1857. Notes on weather are given. The book includes an inventory of slaves in 1864 with their ages and in some cases their birth days recorded. There are inventories of livestock and implements, undated, but probably for 1853. There is a record of slave marriages for 1857 and births and deaths for 1857-1861, and a record of...
Dates:
1853-1864
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas C. Jones Ledger
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame T1
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1869-1878, of Thomas C. Jones of the firms of Jones & Brooks, coal and wood dealers, and T. C. Jones & Co., tobacconists, of Richmond, Va.
Dates:
1869-1878
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center