Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6
B. Davenport & Co. Ledger
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.
Dates:
1841-1861
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Blow Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...
Dates:
1613-1960; Majority of material found in 1770-1875
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Catesby Jones Account Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af6
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1767-1845, of Catesby Jones, of "Marlfield," Gloucester County, Va. Includes information on Robert Yates, a student at the College of William and Mary in 1827.
Dates:
1767-1845
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Macon Family Manuscript Volumes
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad156-160
Scope and Contents
Manuscript volumes kept by several generations of the Macon family of New Kent ["Ingleside"] and Hanover ["New Castle"] Counties, Va. including William Hartwell Macon (1759-1843), Doctor William Hartwell Macon (1819-1891) and William Hartwell Macon (1850-1918). The volumes are four ledgers concerning farming and medical practice and a diary. The earliest ledger mentions William Macon (1725-1813). In addition to members of the Macon family, individuals and subjects mentioned in...
Dates:
1782-1888
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Sheldon Business Papers and Accounts
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Sh4
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1826-1857, (including accounts and memorandum books) of various mercantile firms with which Jacob D. Sheldon was associated in Williamsburg, Virginia, such as Jacob Sheldon & Co.; Cole & Sheldon; Sheldon & Maupin; Peachy & Sheldon; Thomas G. Peachy & Co.; and W. W. Webb & Co. Also includes papers of Jacob C. Sheldon and of Roscow Cole. The collection includes accounts with professors and students and staff at William & Mary; with Eastern State Hospital;...
Dates:
1826-1857
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center