Content Description From the Collection:

A series of two letters and two pamphlets regarding the policies and curriculum of the Union Co-Operative School in Bedford city, Virginia. Correspondence is addressed to Mr. R.A. Bradley of Hammett, Virginia from the Union Co-Operative School and includes information on tuition and boarding costs as well as the structure of the curriculum. The two pamphlets outline the school's policies and initiatives as well as the courses offered within the program for prospective students.

Content Description From the Collection:

A series of two letters and two pamphlets regarding the policies and curriculum of the Union Co-Operative School in Bedford city, Virginia. Correspondence is addressed to Mr. R.A. Bradley of Hammett, Virginia from the Union Co-Operative School and includes information on tuition and boarding costs as well as the structure of the curriculum. The two pamphlets outline the school's policies and initiatives as well as the courses offered within the program for prospective students.

Content Description From the Collection:

A series of two letters and two pamphlets regarding the policies and curriculum of the Union Co-Operative School in Bedford city, Virginia. Correspondence is addressed to Mr. R.A. Bradley of Hammett, Virginia from the Union Co-Operative School and includes information on tuition and boarding costs as well as the structure of the curriculum. The two pamphlets outline the school's policies and initiatives as well as the courses offered within the program for prospective students.

Content Description From the Collection:

A series of two letters and two pamphlets regarding the policies and curriculum of the Union Co-Operative School in Bedford city, Virginia. Correspondence is addressed to Mr. R.A. Bradley of Hammett, Virginia from the Union Co-Operative School and includes information on tuition and boarding costs as well as the structure of the curriculum. The two pamphlets outline the school's policies and initiatives as well as the courses offered within the program for prospective students.

Content Description From the Collection:

Content warning: The John Hulit and Charles correspondence contains racist language. The materials have been processed for fair use and research purposes.

A letter sent to John Hulit of James City County, Virginia from Charles, last name unknown, dated December 7, 1851. The letter provides a general description of Williamsburg, Virginia in regards to hunting. Derogative terminology used to describe Black people is contained in this letter.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

A letter from Biddle Boggs to Mrs. B. Miller discussing the American Civil War (1861-1865).

Scope and Contents

Letters to Lawrence Washington regarding a subscription to the National Intelligencer, wheat and corn prices in Alexandria and the health of Henry Augustine Washington. Includes letter dated 1868, from Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman concerning her first husband's (Henry Augustine Washington) estate and land in Minnesota.

Scope and Contents

Letters included in file concern finances and farming. One letter outlines payment for guano (a fertilizer made from bat excrement often imported from Peru). This shipment had proved worthless. Includes letters from Hastings, Minnesota, concerning land owned by Henry Augustine Washington.

Scope and Contents

Empty envelopes addressed to Lawrence Washington, Mrs. Mary D. Washington and Robert James Washington.

Content Description From the Collection:

Letters from Charles J. MacConnell (1837-1909) while serving on the USS Pensacola and Monogahela to his wife while touring the Peruvian Central Railway (1873-1874, 1877). Also includes a cabinet card depicting MacConnell and the rest of his Pensacola crew on deck off Valparaiso, Chile in 1873.

Content Description From the Collection: The collection contains letters received by Colonel Henry Goddard Thomas, the commander of the U.S. Colored Infantry during the Civil War. The letters were sent to Thomas from two individuals, German immigrants Lewis C. Henser and Rudolph Tensler (Teusler). In his two letters, Hensler outlined news of funding and his town of residence. In his single letter to Thomas, Tensler spoke mostly of family affairs. The letters contain content pertaining to funding, personal and family life, and news...

Scope and Contents

Postcard depicting Wakefield, the birthplace of George Washington.

Content Description From the Collection:

An excerpt of a letter from Lawrence Washington esq. to Thomas Bayard dated December 9, 1832 in regards to the division of property.

Content Description From the Collection:

A single four page letter from Robert Saunders, Jr., (Williamsburg, Virginia) to Robert C. Randolph, (Millwood, Clarke County, Virginia), dated 1847 January 15. The letter contains Saunders concerns of official college business at William & Mary including the vacancy of the chair of Belle Lettres and the election of a permanent president. Saunders also lists and discusses potential presidential candidates.

Scope and Contents

Camp near Paw Paw Tunnel [near Oldtown, Maryland]. Reports "North Branch Bridge in Maryland was burnt last night. ...John has the mumps; there is a great many sick in Cumberland [MD] and a great many that has the mumps."

Scope and Contents

at Grafton,WM, to Mother. "Had fine time in Boothsville [WV]; took 70 prisoners and swore them all but two and then we sent them to Columbus Ohio and shot one man the ring leader in that country; there was five rebels there to one union man....Colonel talks of taking us in Preston County [WV] on a scout and if he does maybe we will come through that part of the county and in Tucker County [WV] also to hunt out the rebels."

Scope and Contents

from Romney Headquarters, Hampshire County VA [today part of  WV]. To Father, "...met preacher from home, discuss who of their acquaintances were Union or Secess...I get 20 dollars a month...working in hospital...General Banks took Winchester last night; the government has called out 500,000 men for two months; I don't think the rebels is going to hold out very long now."

Scope and Contents

Cumberland, Maryland to Father, "…I came to Cumberland [Maryland] yesterday evening to the hospital; I have got the mumps and the doctor said I best come to Cumberland as our force are expecting to leave Paw Paw Tunnel [Maryland]."

Scope and Contents from Harrison's Landing, Virginia to Mother and Father..."came to Fortress Monroe [Virginia] and from there we came up James River to Harrison's Landing [Virginia]; got off and came 5 miles toward Richmond [Virginia].  You need not be wear about me diserting but there is one thing I am afraid the salve question has too much to do with the cause but when ever they want us Union soldiers to free the negroes we will just quietly lay down our arms and give up the ghost.  I hear cussing and...

Scope and Contents

Harrison's Landing, Virginia, "...and iu know we came out to fight for the Union not to free the negroes...we have fine encampment and tolerable good water for this country and we got plenty to eat."

Scope and Contents

Harewood Hospital, Washington, D.C. To Father and Mother, "…my health is not so good; I hear this morning that our regiment was in the big fight in Maryland; I am about 4 miles from the city [Washington DC]."

Scope and Contents

Harewood Hospital, Washington, D.C. To Father and Mother.  "My health is improving rite smart; everything is quiet here about Washington except there is a great deal of growling about the President's Proclamation in regard to freeing all slaves after the first of January."

Scope and Contents

"I heard from the regiment yesterday they are still at Falmouth opposite Fredericksburg [Virginia]"

Scope and Contents

Camp near Falmouth. To Father and Mother.  Speaks of friends and family. Will send pay home

Scope and Contents

envelope addressed to F. Baylis 3513 E. Lombard St