Box 3
Container
Contains 11 Results:
Box 3
File — Box: 3
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
The bulk of this collection consists of letters to and from Norman E. Lau, who served as an aviation metalsmith for the U.S. Navy during World War II, and his family. The correspondence was written before and after the war, and concern Lau's search for a job in Chicago during the Depression, his training, his time spent overseas during the war stationed in the Philippines, and his life after the war in California. Many of the letters were written to or by his wife, "Kitty." Correspondence...
Dates:
1929-1950
Mr. and Mrs. A.G. Lau to their Children, 1929, 1944, 1946
File — Box: 3, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
The bulk of this collection consists of letters to and from Norman E. Lau, who served as an aviation metalsmith for the U.S. Navy during World War II, and his family. The correspondence was written before and after the war, and concern Lau's search for a job in Chicago during the Depression, his training, his time spent overseas during the war stationed in the Philippines, and his life after the war in California. Many of the letters were written to or by his wife, "Kitty." Correspondence...
Dates:
1929, 1944, 1946
Lau Grandchildren to their Grandparents, 1938-1944
File — Box: 3, Folder: 2
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
The bulk of this collection consists of letters to and from Norman E. Lau, who served as an aviation metalsmith for the U.S. Navy during World War II, and his family. The correspondence was written before and after the war, and concern Lau's search for a job in Chicago during the Depression, his training, his time spent overseas during the war stationed in the Philippines, and his life after the war in California. Many of the letters were written to or by his wife, "Kitty." Correspondence...
Dates:
1938-1944
Mr. and Mrs. A.G. Lau - Personal and Business Correspondence, 1933-1943
File — Box: 3, Folder: 3
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
The bulk of this collection consists of letters to and from Norman E. Lau, who served as an aviation metalsmith for the U.S. Navy during World War II, and his family. The correspondence was written before and after the war, and concern Lau's search for a job in Chicago during the Depression, his training, his time spent overseas during the war stationed in the Philippines, and his life after the war in California. Many of the letters were written to or by his wife, "Kitty." Correspondence...
Dates:
1933-1943
Postcards, 1941-1945
File — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Scope and Contents
Mostly letters from family members, but a few blank ones are included.
Dates:
1941-1945
Telegrams, undated
File — Box: 3, Folder: 5
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
The bulk of this collection consists of letters to and from Norman E. Lau, who served as an aviation metalsmith for the U.S. Navy during World War II, and his family. The correspondence was written before and after the war, and concern Lau's search for a job in Chicago during the Depression, his training, his time spent overseas during the war stationed in the Philippines, and his life after the war in California. Many of the letters were written to or by his wife, "Kitty." Correspondence...
Dates:
undated
Greeting Cards, 1938-1951
File — Box: 3, Folder: 6
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
The bulk of this collection consists of letters to and from Norman E. Lau, who served as an aviation metalsmith for the U.S. Navy during World War II, and his family. The correspondence was written before and after the war, and concern Lau's search for a job in Chicago during the Depression, his training, his time spent overseas during the war stationed in the Philippines, and his life after the war in California. Many of the letters were written to or by his wife, "Kitty." Correspondence...
Dates:
1938-1951
Diplomas and Marriage Certificate, 1926, 1932, 1944
File — Box: 3, Folder: 7
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
The bulk of this collection consists of letters to and from Norman E. Lau, who served as an aviation metalsmith for the U.S. Navy during World War II, and his family. The correspondence was written before and after the war, and concern Lau's search for a job in Chicago during the Depression, his training, his time spent overseas during the war stationed in the Philippines, and his life after the war in California. Many of the letters were written to or by his wife, "Kitty." Correspondence...
Dates:
1926, 1932, 1944
Poems, Negatives, Flyers, Cartoons and Other Mementos
File — Box: 3, Folder: 8
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
The bulk of this collection consists of letters to and from Norman E. Lau, who served as an aviation metalsmith for the U.S. Navy during World War II, and his family. The correspondence was written before and after the war, and concern Lau's search for a job in Chicago during the Depression, his training, his time spent overseas during the war stationed in the Philippines, and his life after the war in California. Many of the letters were written to or by his wife, "Kitty." Correspondence...
Dates:
1929-1950
Ephemera
File — Box: 3, Folder: 9
Scope and Contents
Pamphlets, small new testament bible, test notebook, school notebook and religious booklet.
Dates:
1929-1950
Photograph of Katherine Dell Newcomb and Norman Ellsworth Lau, circa 1942
File — Box: 3, Folder: 10
Dates:
circa 1942