Skip to main content

Box 8

 Container

Contains 9 Results:

Letter, Henrietta Marx, Manchester, to Henrietta Johnson, Powhatan, 1804 November

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 5
Identifier: id287458
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Wilhelmina and Henrietta Marx are back home and preparing for Henrietta's mother's return, her health has not been good.  Miss Wheeler is now in Richmond, the musical society gave her a concert.  They dined at Mr. Chevallie's.  Discusses why clever women are disliked by men.  The theater in Richmond will soon be completed, mentions Mr. Green and "Cooper" in connection with it. Discusses fashion trends in women's dresses, turbans.

Dates: 1804 November
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Myers Papers (II) / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Henrietta Marx to Joseph Marx, George Marx, Henrietta Johnson, Rachel Mordecai

Letter, Henrietta Marx, Richmond, Virginia to George Marx, 1811 May 26

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 5
Identifier: id287463
Scope and Contents

[In French]

Dates: 1811 May 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Myers Papers (II) / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Henrietta Marx to Joseph Marx, George Marx, Henrietta Johnson, Rachel Mordecai

Letter, Henrietta Marx, Richmond, Virginia to George Marx, 1812 March 3

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 5
Identifier: id287468
Scope and Contents

[In French]

Dates: 1812 March 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Myers Papers (II) / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Henrietta Marx to Joseph Marx, George Marx, Henrietta Johnson, Rachel Mordecai

Letter, Henrietta Marx, Richmond, Virginia to Rachel Mordecai, Warrenton, North Carolina, 1813 March 15

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 5
Identifier: id287473
Scope and Contents

Discusses family news, Rachel's worries for her brother's safety in another country. Philosophical letter about happiness.

Dates: 1813 March 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Myers Papers (II) / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Henrietta Marx to Joseph Marx, George Marx, Henrietta Johnson, Rachel Mordecai

Letter, Henrietta Marx, Richmond, Virginia to Rachel Mordecai, Warrenton, North Carolina, 1813 April 25

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 5
Identifier: id287528
Scope and Contents

Local news from Richmond, Miss Taylor and Miss Lindsey have returned from Norfolk, says they are "rustic." Says Sam Marx is first in his class at Princeton College.Asks about Judith, and says they hope to see George in June.

Dates: 1813 April 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Myers Papers (II) / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Henrietta Marx to Joseph Marx, George Marx, Henrietta Johnson, Rachel Mordecai

Letter, Henrietta Marx, Richmond, Virginia to Rachel Mordecai, 1814 October 8

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 5
Identifier: id287533
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series contains correspondence.

Dates: 1814 October 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Myers Papers (II) / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Henrietta Marx to Joseph Marx, George Marx, Henrietta Johnson, Rachel Mordecai

Letter, Henrietta Marx to George Marx, New York, 1814 October 14

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 5
Identifier: id287538
Scope and Contents

[with letter in French from Judith Marx to George Marx on same page] Henrietta asks George to obtain some fabric for her, talks of disappointed hope of peace.

Dates: 1814 October 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Myers Papers (II) / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Henrietta Marx to Joseph Marx, George Marx, Henrietta Johnson, Rachel Mordecai

Letter, Henrietta Marx to Joseph Marx, New York, 1814?

 Item — Box: 8, Folder: 5
Identifier: id287543
Scope and Contents

Talks about a [possible] house fire, and the arrangements for moving people and furniture, that nothing of any consequence was lost.

Dates: 1814?
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Myers Papers (II) / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8 / Henrietta Marx to Joseph Marx, George Marx, Henrietta Johnson, Rachel Mordecai

Henrietta Marx to Joseph Marx, George Marx, Henrietta Johnson, Rachel Mordecai, 1804 - 1814, undated

 File — Box: 8, Folder: 5
Identifier: id269095
Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series contains correspondence.

Dates: 1804 - 1814, undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Myers Papers (II) / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 8