Skip to main content

Box 9

 Container

Contains 89 Results:

Drafts of letters - of James Barron to Amos Kendall, 1834 June-December

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 76
Identifier: id176206
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

6 items. Autograph draft signed. Discussions of the "steam cylinder craft" invented by Kendall.

Dates: 1834 June-December
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Act - "An act for the Relief of Ann Mortimer Barron," signed by A[?] Dinkind, Chief Clerk, Department of State. Endorsed by James Barron, 1834 September 4

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 77
Identifier: id176208
Scope and Contents

1 page. Printed Autograph Draft Signed. Bill to pay Ann Mortimer Barron, the daughter of William Barron, for services in the Revolutionary War.

Dates: 1834 September 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Letter - H.S. Crabb, Navy Yard, Philadelphia, to Comr. James Barron, Washington, 1834 February 1

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 78
Identifier: id176211
Scope and Contents

1 page. Autograph letter signed. Re: letters forwarded to Barron.

Dates: 1834 February 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Letter - James Barron, Phi[l]a[delphia], to M. Dickinson, 1834 July 5

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 79
Identifier: id176214
Scope and Contents

1 page. Autograph draft signed. "On the subject of Armed Steam Vessels."

Dates: 1834 July 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Application - James Barron to the Honorable John Forsythe, Secretary of State for the United States, 1834 August 8

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 80
Identifier: id176216
Scope and Contents

2 pages. Autograph document signed. An application for a patent on the process for making shells of blocks of cast iron.

Dates: 1834 August 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Letter - James Barron, U.S. Navy Yard, Philadelphia, to Robert Armistead, 1834 August 20

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 81
Identifier: id176218
Scope and Contents

5 pages. Copy of Autograph letter signed. "On the [ship] Portia's business," which was sold in Copenhagen because it was impounded there due to the war with Great Britain.

Dates: 1834 August 20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Letter - Francis A. Dickens, Washington, to Com. James Barron, 1834 September 18

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 82
Identifier: id176221
Scope and Contents

2 pages. Autograph letter signed. Re: a descendant's war pay claim to be paid by Miss Barron.

Dates: 1834 September 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Letter - Duff Green, Washington, to Commodore James Barron, Philadelphia, 1834 September 24

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 83
Identifier: id176223
Scope and Contents

1 page. Autograph letter signed. Re: the pump invented by Barron.

Dates: 1834 September 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Letter - [Lt.] Philemon Gatewood, Portland, [Maine], to Commodore James Barron, U.S. Navy, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 1834 September 24

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 84
Identifier: id176225
Scope and Contents

3 pages. Autograph letter signed. Description of Maine coastline.

Dates: 1834 September 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

James Barron, Philadel[phia], to Commo. Charles Stewart, 1834 September 25

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 85
Identifier: id176227
Scope and Contents

1 page. Autograph draft. Re: "on Prow Ship."

Dates: 1834 September 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Evaluation - Cha[rle]s Stewart, Philade[lphia], to Commodore James Barron, Comm[an]d[in]g the Navy Yard, Philade[lphia], 1834 October 25

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 86
Identifier: id176229
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

pages. Autograph letter signed, Copy of Autograph letter signed. Evaluation of the "Prow Ship" invented by Barron.

Dates: 1834 October 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Letter - Francis Faior, Philade[lphia], to Captn. James Barron, U.S. Navy, Philadelphia, 1834 November 5

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 87
Identifier: id176231
Scope and Contents

1 page. Autograph letter signed. Thanking Barron for information regarding the steam boat.

Dates: 1834 November 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Copy of a letter - James Barron, U.S. Navy Yard, Philad[elphia], 1834 November 6

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 88
Identifier: id176233
Scope and Contents

2 pages. Autograph draft. "Copy of a letter written by me for the S[ecretary] of the Navy on the pay of officers." He urges increases in Navy pay in all grades.

Dates: 1834 November 6
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9

Letter - A.J. Dallas, Washington, to Com. James Barron, Washington, 1834 December 18

 Item — Box: 9, Folder: 89
Identifier: id176235
Scope and Contents

2 pages. Autograph letter signed. Comment on the steam prow ship.

Dates: 1834 December 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 9