Skip to main content

Box 2

 Container

Contains 7 Results:

Papers - defending the action of General Robert B. Taylor's actions in the defense of Craney Island, off Norfolk, 1813 April-December

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 17
Identifier: id168516
Scope and Contents

12 items. Autograph draft.

Dates: 1813 April-December
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 2

JS Barbour, Richmond, to Gen'l Robert B Taylor,Norfolk, letter enclosing a commission as Brig.General of Militia, 1812 December 19

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 17
Identifier: id211007
Scope and Contents

letter enclosing a commission as Brig.General of Militia

Dates: 1812 December 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 2

Certificate that Major Gen'l Hampton took command of Army Post at Norfolk, 1813 April 15-May 31

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 17
Identifier: id211008
Scope and Contents

Number 4 as noted in state of December 24, 1813

Dates: 1813 April 15-May 31
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 2

Report of a council of war, signed by James Maurice, 1813 June 19

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 17
Identifier: id211009
Scope and Contents

A note to evacuate Craney Island off Norfolk, if the enemy should attack; officers are listed by name. Number 2 and 3 as noted in statement of December 24, 1813

Dates: 1813 June 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 2

Statement by Theo Wellauven, Norfolk, 1813 December 26

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 17
Identifier: id211010
Scope and Contents

The attack on Craney Island by the British on June 22, 1813

Dates: 1813 December 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 2

Morning Reports of the regiment infantry commanded by Lt Col. Henry Beatty, Craney Island, 1813 June 21-22

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 17
Identifier: id211011
Scope and Contents

Morning reports for Regiment Infantry commanded by Lt Col Henry Beatty; 1st Regiment commanded by Major Wiley Campbell; 2nd Regiment commanded by Lt. Col. WM Sharp; 5th Regiment VA Militia; Troops under command of Col Thomas Read of Artillery,; Strength and state of the three troops of Cavalry commanded by Captain Carr

Dates: 1813 June 21-22
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 2

Petition - of James Barron to the U.S. Secretary of State, 1815 August 12

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 46
Identifier: id168593
Scope and Contents

2 pages. Autograph copy signed. For a patent on a machine for cutting corks.

Dates: 1815 August 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Papers (I) / Box 2