Box 28
Container
Contains 213 Results:
Blow & Scammel, Tower Hill, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 July 2
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
Re: brandy made and barrels for same
Dates:
1803 July 2
Blow & Scammel, Tower Hill, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 July 30
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1803 July 30
S. T. Jenkins, New York, to Richard Blow, Norfolk, 1803 July 4
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1803 July 4
Buchanan & Pallak, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 July 7
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1803 July 7
S. T. Jenkins, New York, to Richard Blow, Norfolk, 1803 July 6
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
Sending Ship Fortitude to Blow, wishes Blow to get cargo of flour or tobacco for England and Ireland for her. Wishes ship to go at once, gives agents names at each British Port to which his cargo should be consigned
Dates:
1803 July 6
J. Parker, Isle of Wight, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 July 4
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1803 July 4
Buchanan & Pallak, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 July 28
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1803 July 28
Buchanan & Pallak, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 July 31
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1803 July 31
Wm Haxall, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 July 12
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
Re: injunction of B & B
Dates:
1803 July 12
Wm Little, Boston to Richard Blow, Norfolk, 1803 July 30
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
Announcing his commission business and offering services
Dates:
1803 July 30
Buchanan & Pallak, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 July 21
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
Wishes vessel for Falmouth
Dates:
1803 July 21
C. & F. Whittle, Norfolk, to Richard Blow, 1803 July 21
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1803 July 21
Gen. S. W. Carney, North Carolina, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 August 25
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
Re: arrival of his imported horse; [See letter of April 25, 1803 about horse]
Dates:
1803 August 25
William Barksdale, London, to Mr. Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 August 4
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
“Agreement with Thomas Wallace relative to bringing horses from England in 1803.” Names of horses were Citizen and Clown, Wallace was the groom.
Dates:
1803 August 4
Geo. Dudley, Battery to Richard Blow, 1803 August 4
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
[Nephew of Blow]
Dates:
1803 August 4
A. Lane, Norfolk County, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 September 24
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1803 September 24
Lamb & Younger, London, to Richard Blow, Norfolk, 1803 August 22
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 3
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
Re: Blow’s renewal of insurance policy at Phoenix office, Premium of £ 18.15.
Dates:
1803 August 22
Alex. Boothe, Brunswick County to Robert H. Waller, Williamsburg, 1803 September 5
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 4
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
Re: Mrs. Boothe, widow’s dower and [div.?] of enslaved persons ("Negroes") between Hutchings and Edwards, commissioners appointed formerly, who neglected to allot dower: one is now dead and two have left the state. Please have commissioners appointed for my guardian; suggests Wm. E. Brodnax & Sterling Ruffin & Hutchings will appoint two for himself. Dr. John Claiborne and Tho. [unclear?], Jr. may be chosen if H. has no objections.
Dates:
1803 September 5
Buchanan & Pallak, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 September 6
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 4
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
Re: cargoes
Dates:
1803 September 6
Buchanan & Pallak, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 September 13
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 4
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1803 September 13
Thas. Williamson, Richmond, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 September 10
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 4
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
Re: land in Dismal Swamps alleged to be property of Robt. Craig of Manchester (England), adjacent Col. Newton’s
Dates:
1803 September 10
Wylie McPherson, Canal to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 September 10
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 4
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
“The canal road is in such order as you may ride to the end of [unclear?] Contract"
Dates:
1803 September 10
Alexander Love, Norfolk County, to Mr. Blow, Portsmouth, 1803 September 4
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 4
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1803 September 4
Benj Jones, Camdem, to Mr. Blow, 1803 September 25
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 4
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
Re: opening of canal road
Dates:
1803 September 25
Henry Huttleston, New Bedford to Richard Blow, Norfolk, 1803 September 8
Item — Box: 28, Folder: 4
Identifier: id3653
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1803 September 8