Box 4
Container
Contains 67 Results:
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 June 18
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 June 18
George Briggs, Portsmouth, to __________ [?], 1784 June 21
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 June 21
Robert Crew, London, to Blow & Barksdale, 1784 June 25
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 June 25
Benj. Baker, South Quay, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 July 11
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 July 11
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 July 12
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Re: Lots in Petersburg and buildings thereon too near Blow's storehouse
Dates:
1784 July 12
Balaud & Farlie, Edenton to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 July 19
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 July 19
Receipt John Hay & Co., Richmond, to Charles Briggs & Co., 1784 October 18
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
£ 63
Dates:
1784 October 18
Robert Crew, London, to Blow & Barksdale, 1784 August 12
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Goods sent out, etc. Commission merchants problems re payment of tobacco brought over
Dates:
1784 August 12
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 August 15
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 August 15
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 September 9
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 September 9
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 September 14
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 September 14
Robert Crew, London, to Blow & Barksdale, 1784 September 20
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Ship Marlborough sent to Virginia for tobacco. Probably to West Point; York River tobacco brings better prices than James River; "my commission for selling a hhd of tobacco shall be 21 shillings; brokerage is 5 shilling"
Dates:
1784 September 20
Wm. Bailey of Low Point in Surry County to Richard Blow, 1784 September 21
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
£ 350 due
Dates:
1784 September 21
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 September 27
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 September 27
Robert Crew, London, to Blow & Barksdale, 1784 September 28
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Good shipped out
Dates:
1784 September 28
Robert Crew, London, to Blow & Barksdale, 1784 October 11
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 October 11
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 October 15
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 October 15
Barray & N[?]dingh, Pointe-a-Pitre, Guadeloupe, 1784 October 20
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Announcing firm
Dates:
1784 October 20
Ben Baker, South Quay to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 October 1
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Wishes bar iron
Dates:
1784 October 1
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 October 3
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Refers to death of George Briggs
Dates:
1784 October 3
Wm. Barksdale, Petersburg, to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 October 8
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Refers to the Charlotte store
Dates:
1784 October 8
Daniel Bardeau[?], Charleston, South Carolina, to Richard Blow, Norfolk, 1784 November 21
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 November 21
Ben Baker, South Quay to Richard Blow, Portsmouth, 1784 December 5
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Wants canvas and anchor
Dates:
1784 December 5
Robert Crew to Blow & Barksdale, Portsmouth, 1784 December 5
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1784 December 5
Ship Jolly Tar Records, 1784 December 29
Item — Box: 4, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
Articles bound from Norfolk to London, agreement, names of Crew, wages, etc.
Dates:
1784 December 29