Scope and Contents From the Series:

An artificial collection of material, 1687-1924, relating to James City County, Virginia. Includes copies of court records, farm censuses, tax receipts, church brochures, and photographs. Box 12 and 13 are mostly a gift from Robert T. Slater.

Scope and Contents From the Series:

An artificial collection of material, 1687-1924, relating to James City County, Virginia. Includes copies of court records, farm censuses, tax receipts, church brochures, and photographs. Box 12 and 13 are mostly a gift from Robert T. Slater.

Scope and Contents From the Series:

An artificial collection of material, 1687-1924, relating to James City County, Virginia. Includes copies of court records, farm censuses, tax receipts, church brochures, and photographs. Box 12 and 13 are mostly a gift from Robert T. Slater.

Scope and Contents From the Series:

An artificial collection of material, 1687-1924, relating to James City County, Virginia. Includes copies of court records, farm censuses, tax receipts, church brochures, and photographs. Box 12 and 13 are mostly a gift from Robert T. Slater.

Scope and Contents

1687 August 8. Copy of will of John Holder, deceased. Proved at the County Court held at James City, 8 August 1687 by the oaths of John White and Dorothy Peach. Recorded by W. Edwards, Cl[erk of] Co[u]r[t]. 1 page. Photostat of Document Signed.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Copy of a law enacted by General Assembly, 17 February 1644, prohibiting desertions of plantations that have been seated; persons deserting their plantations are not to burn their houses but will receive as many nails as were expended in building them. Signed by William Robertson (d. 1739) Cl[er]k Gen[era]l Ass[emb]ly [from 1702-1738]. 1 page. Document Signed.

Scope and Contents

1805 February. Copy of pages from a court record signed by Ro[bert] B. Armistead. "Found among the ruins of the old Court House at Williamsburg, Va. 1864." 2 pages. Copy of Document Signed.

Scope and Contents

1813 February 12. Copy of advertisement in the Richmond Enquirer for the rent or lease of the Greenspring Estate. 1 page. Typewritten Copy of Newspaper Clipping.

Scope and Contents

1820 September 1. Census record of James City county for 1820. Signed by Rich[ar]dson Henley, assistant to the Marshal. (Note reads "From Lib. of Cong.") 1 page. Photostat of Document.

Scope and Contents 1827 June 30. Copy of Complaint brought by Archer Hankins, late sheriff of James City and Committee of the esate of James Banks, deceased, against William Gregory, sheriff of King William County, appointed to represent William Gregory, Christopher Johnson, Ann Dudley, G. R. Lambert Meredith, Martha Bingham, Julia Bingham, Jno. Bingham, Geo. Bingham, [?] Lambert (wife of Eugene Sullivan), and Stephen Bingham, the heirs of Stephen Bingham. Concerns a tract of land in James City county called...

Scope and Contents

1847 May 6. Memorandum of deed of trust executed on 21 Sep[tember] 1841 is filed as an exhibit in the Chancery Suit in the Supr[eme] Court of James City County and City of Williamsburg by Upshur's executors vs. Pryor and others. Signed by P. P. Mayo. Fragment. Document Signed.

Scope and Contents

1849 January 19. Copy of advertisement in the Richmond Enquirer of the Hickory Neck Academy, James City County, Virginia. 1 page. Typewritten Copy of Newspaper Clipping.

Scope and Contents

1882-1893 and undated. Tax receipts, James City County, Virginia of Alexander Preston and Alfred Epps and a few miscellaneous receipts. Printed Document Signed. (13 items).

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents 1896 June 1. "The James City Cavalry, Its Organization and Its Service." (Company H, Fifth Regiment, mustered into service 22 May 1861). From "Our Confederate Column" in the Richmond Dispatch. Newspaper clipping.

Scope and Contents

1928 February 12. Bulletin from the Mount Vernon M. E. Church, South, Toano, Virginia. H. Conrad Blackwell, Pastor. 4 pages. Printed Material.

Scope and Contents

1929 June 30. Church Bulletin of Five Forks Church, Old Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, Virginia. Rev. James M. McKnight, Pastor. 4 pages. Printed Material.

Scope and Contents

1946 October 6. Invitation to Homecoming Day at James River Baptist Church, J. E. Bowman, Pastor. 1 page. Typewritten Copy.

Scope and Contents

1948 July 27. Letter. Mrs. William Lawrence Gatewood at New York to Brantley Henderson, Jr. at Williamsburg, [?] house and lot, and a store in Toano, Virginia. 4 pages. Autograph Letter Signed.

Scope and Contents

No Year. June 27. Program from Our Saviors Lutheran Church, Norge, Virginia in honor of the visit of the Crown Prince Olaf and Crown Princess of Norway. 1 page. Typewritten Copy.

Scope and Contents

Undated. Program of The County Council of Women's Clubs presenting "Days in James City County from 1609 to 1817." 1 page. Printed Material. (3 items).

Scope and Contents

Undated. Bulletin of Hickory Neck Church, Blissland Parish, Toano, James City County, Virginia. 2 pages. Printed Material.

Scope and Contents

Undated. Brochure of the James City County Chamber of Commerce, Toano, Virginia. 2 pages. Printed Material.

Scope and Contents

1920. Economic Survey for James City County 1920 Census. 1 page. Typewritten Document.

Scope and Contents

1923 October 9. S. H. Hobbs, Jr., Rural Social Science, The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, N. C. to Miss Mabel Massey, County Home Demonstration Agent, Williamsburg, Virginia. Is sending bulletin compiled from information secured in a survey of the townships in Chatham Co. [N. C.] and a bulletin on Johnston Co. [N. C.]; discusses types of surveys used by his department. 2 pages. Typewritten Letter Signed.

Scope and Contents

1924 February 12-13. Program of the Peninsula Farmers Institute. 1 page. Printed Material.