Skip to main content

Box 7

 Container

Contains 15 Results:

"A Manuscript being an Exact Coppy of the Debate att large between the House of Lords and House of Commons. Att the free Conference held in the Painted Chamber...", 1688/89 January 22-February 15

 File — Box: 7, Folder: 1
Identifier: id94286
Scope and Contents Manuscript copy of the proceedings of the convention of 1688 believed to be the copy of Henry Compton, Bishop of London, tutor of Princess Mary and Princess Anne, one of the seven signatories to the secret coded letter inviting Prince of Orange to invade, officiator at the coronation of William and Mary, and first Chancellor of the College of William and Mary in Virginia. The manuscript, 62 pages of the debate with 4 pages of [The Declaration of Rights?], in a contemporary secretarial hand...
Dates: 1688/89 January 22-February 15

"Upon Ye Peace", 1697

 File — Box: 7, Folder: 2
Identifier: id94287
Scope and Contents

Typescript copy of "Upon Ye Peace, 1697" declaring that "We think fit...to give notice to all whom it may concern, that we cannot allow any [soldiers] to come to continue at the place of our residence without their having first obtained our special licence for it." No original

Dates: 1697

An order for a public thanksgiving, 1688 January 22

 File — Box: 7, Folder: 3
Identifier: id94289
Scope and Contents

An order for a public thanksgiving "to Almighty God for having made his Highness the Prince of Orange, the Glorious Instrument of the Great Deliverance of this Kingdom from Popery and Arbitrary Power." The thanksgiving day set to be Thursday, Febrary 14.

Dates: 1688 January 22

Order calling on the Prince of Orange to take administrative charge of Great Britain., 1688 December 25

 File — Box: 7, Folder: 4
Identifier: id213029
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of documents, 1655-1791, most of which relate to King William III and Queen Mary II of England. Includes correspondence of and warrants signed by William III; letter of Mary II; documents signed by Sir Christopher Wren; documents written by Samuel Pepys; order signed by James II; letter of Leopold, Emperor of Germany; engravings of William III; and a printed announcement of the ascension of William and Mary to the throne of England. Some documents are in French and Latin but some...
Dates: 1688 December 25

Letter, 1688 December 4

 File — Box: 7, Folder: 5
Identifier: id94291
Scope and Contents Mr. Fridling, London, to the honorable Sr. John Lowther, Lowther Hall, Westmorland. Princess Anne is under the protection of Ld. Devon at Nottingham states that "our comdrs. left London the previous Sunday, expecting to meet up with William of Orange, probably at Malborough; estimates William's troops as 16,000 horse and 35,000 foot; says that their headquarters are at Reading, Windsor with 25,000 troops in all; reports foot-sore condition of Sir. John's horse left with Sir William Villers;...
Dates: 1688 December 4

Letter, circa 1688 January 30

 File — Box: 7, Folder: 6
Identifier: id94292
Scope and Contents January 30, 1688/9. Thomas Comber, York, England, to his wife [Thomas Comber, 1645-1699, Presentary 1677, Precenter 1683 of York, Dean of Durham 1691, author of pamphlets in favour of William III]. Informs his wife that he is disappointed that he must break his promise to her and will not come home before "Fryday" about two o'clock, because he is waiting for a letter, and if he leaves without it he will have to make another troublesome and inconvenient journey; assures her that the Dean of...
Dates: circa 1688 January 30

Warrant, 1691 October 23

 File — Box: 7, Folder: 7
Identifier: id94293
Scope and Contents Warrant to the commissioners of the treasury to pay two hundred fifty eight pounds, nine shillings and seen pence to the following out of rents and profits of the lotterys for their support and pentions; to Coll. Edward Ogar, twenty two pounds, sixteen shillings, and three pence; to Maj[o]r Francis Berkin, twenty two pounds, sixteen shillings, and three pence; to Duke for herself and three children, twenty two pounds, sixteen shillings, and three pence; to Sr. Sharles Clingsby and Mary his...
Dates: 1691 October 23

Print, undated

 File — Box: 7, Folder: 8
Identifier: id94294
Scope and Contents

Black and white print, 5 6/8" x 8 1/4" of William III. Printed and sold by Tho. Bakewell next to Ye Horn Tavern in Fleetstreet.

Dates: undated

Photograph, undated

 File — Box: 7, Folder: 9
Identifier: id94296
Scope and Contents

One color photograph 4" x 5 3/4" of Christopher Wren's grave in St. Paul's Cathedral, London.

Dates: undated

Military document, 1688 January 9

 File — Box: 7, Folder: 10
Identifier: id94298
Scope and Contents

A document signed by William III in the early days of his invasion of England. Dates from the interregnum, and signed on the day that the first members of the Convention were chosen. Describes fees to pay the armed forces: £ 3,000 to the Treasurer of the Ordinance and the Treasurer of the Navy, £ 1,500 to the Earl of Ranelagh "for the forces," and £ 1,500 to the Queen Dowager, Catherine of Braganza. William III signed as "G Prince d'Orange" his official title at the time.

Dates: 1688 January 9

Box 7

 File — Box: 7
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of documents, 1655-1791, most of which relate to King William III and Queen Mary II of England. Includes correspondence of and warrants signed by William III; letter of Mary II; documents signed by Sir Christopher Wren; documents written by Samuel Pepys; order signed by James II; letter of Leopold, Emperor of Germany; engravings of William III; and a printed announcement of the ascension of William and Mary to the throne of England. Some documents are in French and Latin but some...
Dates: circa 1688-1697

Box 7

 File — Box: 7
Identifier: id94288
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of documents, 1655-1791, most of which relate to King William III and Queen Mary II of England. Includes correspondence of and warrants signed by William III; letter of Mary II; documents signed by Sir Christopher Wren; documents written by Samuel Pepys; order signed by James II; letter of Leopold, Emperor of Germany; engravings of William III; and a printed announcement of the ascension of William and Mary to the throne of England. Some documents are in French and Latin but some...
Dates: 1688

Box 7

 File — Box: 7
Identifier: id94290
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of documents, 1655-1791, most of which relate to King William III and Queen Mary II of England. Includes correspondence of and warrants signed by William III; letter of Mary II; documents signed by Sir Christopher Wren; documents written by Samuel Pepys; order signed by James II; letter of Leopold, Emperor of Germany; engravings of William III; and a printed announcement of the ascension of William and Mary to the throne of England. Some documents are in French and Latin but some...
Dates: 1688-1691

Box 7

 File — Box: 7
Identifier: id94295
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of documents, 1655-1791, most of which relate to King William III and Queen Mary II of England. Includes correspondence of and warrants signed by William III; letter of Mary II; documents signed by Sir Christopher Wren; documents written by Samuel Pepys; order signed by James II; letter of Leopold, Emperor of Germany; engravings of William III; and a printed announcement of the ascension of William and Mary to the throne of England. Some documents are in French and Latin but some...
Dates: undated

Box 7

 File — Box: 7
Identifier: id94297
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of documents, 1655-1791, most of which relate to King William III and Queen Mary II of England. Includes correspondence of and warrants signed by William III; letter of Mary II; documents signed by Sir Christopher Wren; documents written by Samuel Pepys; order signed by James II; letter of Leopold, Emperor of Germany; engravings of William III; and a printed announcement of the ascension of William and Mary to the throne of England. Some documents are in French and Latin but some...
Dates: 1688 January 9