Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of documents, 1655-1791, most of which relate to King William III and Queen Mary II of England. Includes correspondence of and warrants signed by William III; letter of Mary II; documents signed by Sir Christopher Wren; documents written by Samuel Pepys; order signed by James II; letter of Leopold, Emperor of Germany; engravings of William III; and a printed announcement of the ascension of William and Mary to the throne of England. Some documents are in French and Latin but some...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of documents, 1655-1791, most of which relate to King William III and Queen Mary II of England. Includes correspondence of and warrants signed by William III; letter of Mary II; documents signed by Sir Christopher Wren; documents written by Samuel Pepys; order signed by James II; letter of Leopold, Emperor of Germany; engravings of William III; and a printed announcement of the ascension of William and Mary to the throne of England. Some documents are in French and Latin but some...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of documents, 1655-1791, most of which relate to King William III and Queen Mary II of England. Includes correspondence of and warrants signed by William III; letter of Mary II; documents signed by Sir Christopher Wren; documents written by Samuel Pepys; order signed by James II; letter of Leopold, Emperor of Germany; engravings of William III; and a printed announcement of the ascension of William and Mary to the throne of England. Some documents are in French and Latin but some...

Scope and Contents

8 January, 1689/90. Receipt for £ 6,250 signed by five members of the Estates General of the United Provinces. Payment sent in recognition of assistance given when William of Orange came "into this nation for its deliverance from popery and arbitrary power." 1 p. DS.

Scope and Contents

"Abstract of ye first Establishment of the Forces...which began from ye 1st of May: 1689 and continued to ye last of May: 1690. Inclusive is also a particular of ye alterations & additions made within ye times." 2 pp. D.

Scope and Contents Unpublished and unrecorded manuscript, author unknown. "An essay in contemplation of the Late Happy Revolution Togehter with an Addresse Prepared to Have Been Presented to Their Majestes King William and Queen Mary in Iuly [July] 1689. By a Person of Quality. Portions of text are burned (pp. 71-91). Noted: Sir Robert Gilman, p. 28; the Rev. Dr. [William] Sherlock, pp. 28, 52-59; Bishop of Carlisle pp. 28, 29. Bishop John Overall [Bishop of Coventry and Litchfield (1614-1618) and Bishop of...

Scope and Contents

Queen Mary, Whitehall, to King (William III) Writes by way of "L. Belomont's" brother. She heard that the King arrived in Chester, but doubts the news. Tells of the Bishop of Salisbury's "long, thundering sermon" which he wants to have printed. Impatient to see him again and will not rest if she does not hear from him that day. 1p. AL.

Scope and Contents

10 January, 1690/91. Warrant issued to make additional allowances of pay to the officers of the First Regiment of Foot Guards. payment retroactive to 1 January, 1689. Signed by William III countersigned Henry, Viscount Sydney, Richard Hampden, Stephen Fox, and Sir Thomas Pelham. 1 p. DS.

Scope and Contents

Warrant issued at Kensington authorizes payment of four thousand ninety seven pounds, fifteen shillings, and three and a half pence to Charles Fox and Thomas Coningesby "for use of our forces in and designed for the service of Ireland." Signed by Sydney Godolphin, Richard Hampden, Stephen Fox, Thomas Pelham. William III. 1 p. DS.

Scope and Contents

Warrant to pay three thousand ninety-two pounds, eighteen shillings and six pence to Bernard Eales, his majesty's goldsmith for new gold works and for repairs to gilt and white plate. Signed by Sydney Godolphin, L. Robers, scribe. 1 p. DS.

Scope and Contents

Warrant for payment of nine hundred and five pounds, to John Trevar, Knight and Speaker of the House of Commons. Given at Whitehall and signed by Marie R (Queen Mary) and countersigned by Sydney Godolphin, Richard Hampden, Stephen Fox. 1 p. DS.

Scope and Contents

Appointment of Philip Mison, Zeeland, by King William III as ensign of the Company of Mayor d Mauregnault. Registered in Zeeland. Signed by [van Wijk?]. Registered in the Audit office and signed by Dignus Nollens, [?]...Magghe 10 April, 1691. 1 p. DS. Includes certificate of registration signed by William III and countersigned by Constantijn Huygins. 1 p. Ds. Includes transcripts and translations. 4 pp.

Scope and Contents

23 December, 1691-2 January, 1692. William III, Kensington, to "Mon Frere," Did not receive the letter from the King of Spain. Congratulates recipient on his governorship. He will be with him for the next campaign. Warns him the Netherlands are in a dangerous state. In French. 2 pp. ALS. Includes transcription and translation. 2 pp. and chronology. 1 p.

Scope and Contents

20 January, 1691/2. Warrant to the Commissioners of the Treasury to pay three hundred sixty five pounds as follows: to John Trevas, Speaker of the House of Commons, one hundred fifty five pounds; to col. Philip Howard for half a year's pension (sixty pounds); to Ann Fitzharry a gift of fifty pounds; and to Parry Walton, one hundred pounds. Signed at Kensington by William III. Cosigned by Richard Hampden, Sydney Codolphin, John Lowther. 1 p. DS.

Scope and Contents

William III, Whitehall, to men of the Swabian Circile Diplomatic letter promises the King's support and that of the Elector of Bavaria in the War of the League of Augsburg and in the formation of an alliance. In Latin. 1 p. Dr. Includes translation (1 p.).

Scope and Contents

Warrant to the Commissioners of the Treasury to pay to John Goddard, lieutenant governor and commander-in-chief of the Islands of Bermuda, two hundred pounds to transport "himselfe, Family, and household Goods." Issued at Kensington and singed by William III. Countersigned by Richard Hampden, Stephen Fox, and F. W. Seymour. 1 p. DS.

Scope and Contents

Warrant to the commissioners of the Treasury to pay Mrs. DeVaulx, secretary to Mr. Eckhart, late of Brussels, one hundred pounds for tending to affairs at Brussels until Mr. Eckhart's replacement, Mr. Wolseley arrived. Signed by William III and countersigned by Richard Hampden, F.W. Seymour, and Charles Montague. 1 p. DS.

Scope and Contents

19 March 1691/2. [?], Elector of Trier and Mentz, the Hague, to King William III Sends news of his safe arrival here [the Hague], would welcome a visit from his highness and Christian princes; affirms his loyalty to the king. 1 p. Draft. In Latin. Includes translation (1 p.) by Julian Ward Jones, Jr., Prof. of Classical Studies, College of William and Mary.

Scope and Contents

Anselmus Fransiscus, Elector of Mainz, Aschaffenburg from citadel of Saint John, to King William III Received letter from the King telling of his maritime victory over the French; sends congratulations and best wishes to the king. In Latin. 2 pp. LS. includes translation (1 p.) by Julian Ward Jones, Jr., Prof. of Classical Studies, College of William and Mary.

Scope and Contents

Joesph Clemens, Elector of Cologne, Friesing, to King William III Acknowledges he is bound to the King because he informed him of the victory of his fleet and the Belgian provinces against the French fleet; sends thanks for the message and continued best wishes to the king. In Latin. 2 pp. Includes translation (1 p.) by Julian Ward Jones, Jr., Prof. of Classical Studies, College of William and Mary.

Scope and Contents John Hugo Archbishop Elector of Trier, Ehrenbreitstein, to King William III Sends his adviser and marshall, the baron of Leyen Sassig, to congratulate the King upon his safe return from the field and operations of war and to "set forth certain matters pertaining to the public state;" hopes the King will expedite matters according to the demand of circumstances; assures King of his loyalty. In Latin. 2 pp. LS. Includes translation (1 p.) by Julian Ward Jones, Jr., Prof of Classical Studies,...

Scope and Contents

20/30 January, 1692/3. William III to "mon cousin" the Archbishop of Trier, Johannes Hugo, Prince Elector of the Empire. Received letter concerning the lifting of the siege of Rhinfolt. Allies are interested. Promises military aid if needed. Signed "your affectionate cousin." In French. 1 p. ALS. Includes Xcopy, 2 pp. and typed translation. 1 p.

Scope and Contents Privy Council, Whitehall, to William, Earl of Devonshire, Lord Lieutenant of the County of Derby and Nottingham, and Custos Rotularum of the County of Derby. Order to impress seamen and to deliver them to maritime counties where they are to be kept until enough are impressed. Pay them an impress fee and allow them six pence per day subsistence. Keep a list of name and age of each man and deliver lists to the sheriffs along the way. Do not impress "old, decrepid crazy or unhealthy men." Gives...

Scope and Contents Friderick Carl, Duke of Wurttemberg, Stuttgart, Germany, to King William III Deplores his fate; has been captured and taken to Paris, was returned to Germany without ransom, then was deprived of the administrative fief he had managed for fifteen years; Baron Crusius, acting colonel of cavalry, will present his case to the King; affirms his loyalty to the King. in Latin. 4 pp. LS. Includes translation (3 pp) by Julian Ward Jones, Jr., Prof. of Classical Studies at the College of William and...

Scope and Contents

26 February, 1692/3. Warrant from William III to the Commissioners of the Treasury to pay to James Lord Mardington two hundred ninety-seven pounds eight shillings as a free gift. Signed by William III and countersigned by Richard Hampden, Stephen Fox, and F.W. Seymour. 1 p. DS. Includes typescript. 1 p.