Box 2
Container
Contains 30 Results:
Box 2
Series — Box: 2
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
Majority of material found within 1794-1934
L.W. Lane's land sale to Power City Investment Co. , 1916-1918
File — Box: 2, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1916-1918
Bond, L.W. Lane and Esso Standard Oil, 1926 January
File — Box: 2, Folder: 2
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1926 January
L.W. Lane, Sr. Materials, 1869-1886
File — Box: 2, Folder: 3
Scope and Contents
Materials related to Lane's tenure as Treasurer and Deputy Sheriff of James City County
Dates:
1869-1886
Shield's Point Land and Timber , 1876-1909
File — Box: 2, Folder: 4
Scope and Contents
Materials include deeds and correspondence related to the timber business
Dates:
1876-1909
James H. Lane Correspondence, 1895-1899
File — Box: 2, Folder: 5
Scope and Contents
Correspondence written on Alabama Polytechnic Institute (A.M. College) stationary
Dates:
1895-1899
Biographies of James H. Lane, 1946 and undated
File — Box: 2, Folder: 6
Scope and Contents
Handwritten biography, titled "James H. Lane and His Battles," appears to be written in Land's handwriting.
Dates:
1946 and undated
James H. Lane's History of Williamsburg
File — Box: 2, Folder: 7
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
Majority of material found within 1794-1934
Last Will and Testament of Ezechael Lane, 1794 April 15
File — Box: 2, Folder: 8
Scope and Contents
Will sets free nine enslaved persons and some of their children; lands and enslaved person to his grandson; specifically mentions Point Comfort, Piankatank River, Mathews County.
Dates:
1794 April 15
Kate C. Young Tax Receipts, 1888-1910
File — Box: 2, Folder: 9
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1888-1910
Kate C. Young Tax Receipts, 1911
File — Box: 2, Folder: 10
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1911
Kate C. Young, Checks, 1903, 1911-1912
File — Box: 2, Folder: 11
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1903, 1911-1912
Kate C. Young Deeds, 1899-1911
File — Box: 2, Folder: 12
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1899-1911
Kate C. Young, Financial Documents, 1887-1910
File — Box: 2, Folder: 13
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1887-1910
Kate C. Young, Insurance Policy, 1911
File — Box: 2, Folder: 14
Scope and Contents
Deed is for a property on Victoria Avenue in West Hampton, Virginia
Dates:
1911
Deeds for City of Williamsburg Properties, 1882-1913
File — Box: 2, Folder: 15
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1882-1913
Deeds for York County Properties, 1884-1911
File — Box: 2, Folder: 16
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1884-1911
Correspondence between W.S. Spencer and Martha Lane Spencer, 1878
File — Box: 2, Folder: 17
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1878
Death of Spencer Lane, 1927 February 7
File — Box: 2, Folder: 18
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1927 February 7
Oyster Business Records, 1900-1911
File — Box: 2, Folder: 19
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1900-1911
W.W. Vest's Receipts, 1881-1890
File — Box: 2, Folder: 20
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1881-1890
Nu Chapter House Corporation Bonds, 1920
File — Box: 2, Folder: 21
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1920
Letter and Bond, 1921
File — Box: 2, Folder: 22
Scope and Contents
Signed by B.R. James, of Kappa Sigma Fraternity
Dates:
1921
R.W. Lane, Jr. Insurance Documents, 1930 September
File — Box: 2, Folder: 23
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1930 September
L.W. Lane, Jr. York County Tax Receipts, 1931 December
File — Box: 2, Folder: 24
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
1931 December