Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Includes corrsepondence with Julia Gardiner Tyler, William H. Spencer and Robert Fitzwalter Tyler concerning news of family and friends; her studies at the Catholic Academy of the Visitation; social news; her search for the "ideal man". 16 items.

Scope and Contents

Includies correspondence with Robert Fitzwalter Tyler and Julia Spencer Fleurot cheever concerning family news; social news; her married life with William Ellis; her husband's financial difficulties; her husband's political career; Robert Fitzwalter Tyler's sudden marriage and his incessant financial problems. 14 items.

Scope and Contents Including correspondence with Annie (Tucker) Tyler, Lyon G. Tyler and Robert Fitzwalter Tyler concerning the failing health of her sister-in-law, Annie Tucker Tyler; Robert Fitzwalter Tyler's continuing financial problems; the difficult times her own family was experiencing; her plans to send her sons to the College of William and Mary; genealogical inquiries. Also included are letters from William Ellis and daughter Margaret Langhorne Ellis to Pearl Tyler's brother Lyon G. Tyler. 17...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Including correspondence with Robert Fitzwalter Tyler and Lyon G. Tyler concerning Robert Fitzwalter Tyler's ongoing financial and personal troubles; the activities of her children, including the marriages of Margaret Ellis, Cornelia Ellis, and Gardinre Ellis; plans to erect a monument to her father, John Tyler; the illness of her husband, William Ellis; the outbreak of World War I and the entering of her sons into the armed services; news of Julia [Spencer Fleurot] as a...

Scope and Contents

Including correspondence with Lyon G. Tyler and Sue (Ruffin) Tyler concerning her children; her travels and visits with friends and family; the illness and death of her brother, Lyon G. Tyler; the second marriage of her niece, Julia [Spencer] Fluerot Cheever; the outbreak of World War II; discussion over Sue Ruffin Tyler's desire to publish certain personal Tyler letters. 21 items.

Scope and Contents

Including correspondence with Lyon G. Tyler and Robert Fitzwalter Tyler concerning primaily her children. included are references to Robert Fitzwalter Tyler's financial problems; Julia Spencer Fluerot's marriage to George Fluerot and her becoming a Red Cross nurse during World War I; other Tyler family news; genealogical inquiries by Sue Ruffin Tyler. 34 items.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Correspondence of the children of Pearl Tyler Ellis mostly with Lyon G. Tyler and Sue (Ruffin) tyler about genealogical inquiries and family news. Correspondents include Cornelia Ellis Booker, John Tyler Ellis, julia Ellis Robinson, Leila Ellis Marye and Ambrose Marye, Lyon Ellis, Margaret Ellis Topping, Pearl Ellis, William Munford Ellis, Jr., and Nannie Kent Ellis. 24 items.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...