Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection contains letters sent from William Newsum Jr. to his wife Sally, nee Cary, from 1804 through 1806. William Newsum Jr. was a William & Mary alumnus and studied law. They were married on February 1, 1806 and had their first child late 1806 or early 1807. The letters to Sally begin when they are courting and end in December 1806.Included is one letter from William Newsum to an unknown Sir and a letter from William’s mother Mary Bassett Stark Newsum to her...

Scope and Contents Discusses public office candidates, the lottery system at William & Mary, government and economy, and his desire to become a lawyer."I intended when I was in Norfolk to have asked you to purchase some of the tickets in the W&M lottery and at least to assist the sale of them by every execution – The time for drawing it is approaching fast, and I believe the tickets have had a very limited circulation." From the William & Mary Libraries Wiki: A lottery was...

Scope and Contents

Talks about his feelings for Sally, seeing his friends, wishing to be in two places at once, and apologizes for previous awkward correspondence.

William begins his letter by writing, "Our last words my dear, dear Sally are yet trembling on my lips – and my sensations at parting again and again revived, refuse to submit to any control."

Scope and Contents Discusses Sally’s sad thoughts, his Mother and family coming to visit, Sally’s education, the role of parents in education, the health of Sally’s sister, the value of exercise, and poetry."Indeed my dear friend I envy your present situation so much, that I am almost tempted to throw these musty old Law books in the fire and to entreat Mrs. C. to permit me too to become her pupil, and your schoolfellow."This letter confirms that William was studying law, but the...

Scope and Contents

Consolation letter to Sally about the death of her little sister Jane Cary, discusses the grief of Sally’s mother.

"Check not then the stream of sorrow which flows from the pitying eyes of an affectionate girl mourning the loss of a lovely amiable sister, and grieving over the agony of an afflicted mother."

William comforts Sally in this letter. Sally's younger sister Jane, aged 14, (1791 – 1805) had just passed away.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection contains letters sent from William Newsum Jr. to his wife Sally, nee Cary, from 1804 through 1806. William Newsum Jr. was a William & Mary alumnus and studied law. They were married on February 1, 1806 and had their first child late 1806 or early 1807. The letters to Sally begin when they are courting and end in December 1806.Included is one letter from William Newsum to an unknown Sir and a letter from William’s mother Mary Bassett Stark Newsum to her...

Scope and Contents

Discusses exercise, literature and reading, and forgiveness and friendship.

"I am not partial when I say that you are blameless But remember my dear friend, that forgiveness is a most amiable virtue and that if it can not conciliate those who are displeased with us – it can at least make us pleased with ourselves – Be still the same Sally Cary."

William seems to be offering Sally advice about a disagreement with one of her friends.

Scope and Contents Talks about his father being unwell, and his feelings towards Sally.William begins his letter by discussing his father, and ends by discussing his upcoming wedding. "I regret my, dear friend, that I was unable to write to you by the last mail – but the indisposition of my father has retarded his affairs so much that I was obliged to devote a greater part of the last week to his concerns...In a few short weeks my dear Sally, we shall be man & wife, and then I hope...

Scope and Contents

Discusses Sally’s sad feelings, a fight between a father and child, and his and Sally’s upcoming wedding.

"As the day approaches my dear friend – my impatience becomes almost intolerable – I wish to God it had arrived – I shall then be the happiest man in the Christendom...God bless you I wish the 1st of Feby. Had arrived."

This letter confirms the February 1, 1806 wedding date of William and Sally.

Scope and Contents

Apologizes for her poor correspondence, discusses the 4th of July and other events, and updates Sally on family members.

"As my dear Sally you so well know my aversion to writing, you will attribute to that cause my tardiness in answering your favor."

This letter was written by Sally's mother-in-law, Mary.

Scope and Contents

Apologizes for not writing sooner and talks about how much he misses Sally and wishes he could be with her.

William frequently ended his letters by writing 'adieu.' "Adieu my love and believe that nothing would give me so much delight as to be seated by your side, and to tell you how fondly – how tenderly I love you."

Scope and Contents

Discusses public office duties, the upcoming birth of their child, and visiting friends.

William offers Sally encouragement in this letter: "It is thus my dear wife that you will be enabled to meet the painful moment with more comfort and consolation. It will be but a moment of pain – and will yield us years of happiness in return. Imagine my love, as you have done, the impassioned joy we shall feel at beholding the innocent little babe."

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection contains letters sent from William Newsum Jr. to his wife Sally, nee Cary, from 1804 through 1806. William Newsum Jr. was a William & Mary alumnus and studied law. They were married on February 1, 1806 and had their first child late 1806 or early 1807. The letters to Sally begin when they are courting and end in December 1806.Included is one letter from William Newsum to an unknown Sir and a letter from William’s mother Mary Bassett Stark Newsum to her...

Scope and Contents

First two poems to Martha Waldron Skipwith, born 1724, married to Fulwar Skipwith, and six poems to Sally Cary. The poems were written by H Tucker and F Carr.

Scope and Contents

The poems are undated, and it is unknown who copied them down.

Mrs. Barbauld is Anna Laetitia Barbauld (1743-1825). The title of the poem is "A Thought on Death." Written underneath is "Written by Mrs Barbauld at the age of 96." However, Mrs. Barbauld died at the age of 81.

The bottom lines under Mrs. Barbauld poem are from the Iliad of Homer by Alexander Pope.