Skip to main content

Box 17

 Container

Contains 136 Results:

J. B. Roberts, Grand Gulph, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, Ohio County, West Virginia, 1833 April 23

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1864
Identifier: id169559
Scope and Contents

Asks Woods to attend to note.

Dates: 1833 April 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

J. Mallory, Wheeling, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 April 30

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1865
Identifier: id169560
Scope and Contents

Needs to meet with Woods.

Dates: 1833 April 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

J. B. Roberts, Grand Gulph, ?, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, Ohio County, West Virginia, 1833 May 2

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1866
Identifier: id169561
Scope and Contents

Arrangements for settling with Woods.

Dates: 1833 May 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Michael Cresap to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 May 4

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1867
Identifier: id169562
Scope and Contents

Recommends individuals as magistrates and opposes Nicholas Wykert.

Dates: 1833 May 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Agnes Clark, Steubenville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 May 27

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1868
Identifier: id169563
Scope and Contents

Asks for money due under Eugenius Wilson's will.

Dates: 1833 May 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

M. Woods, Mount Prospect near Pittsburgh Pa. to Father Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833? June 5

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1869
Identifier: id169564
Scope and Contents

Lost horse in coal pit. Family news, (Letter is begun by Louisa ?)

Dates: 1833? June 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

C. D. Knox, Wheeling, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 June 7

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1870
Identifier: id169565
Scope and Contents

Mr. Grafton and Mr. King have closed their bargain. Sends reports of board of health, "I have this morning seen Doctor Houston an he informs that he has not heard of any new cases today."

Dates: 1833 June 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Arthur Okey, Woodsfield, Ohio to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, Ohio County, West Virginia, 1833 June 17

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1871
Identifier: id169567
Scope and Contents

Have not brought money to Wheeling because of fear of the cholera Gutherie is selling land.

Dates: 1833 June 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Charles D. Knox, Wheeling, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 June 20

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1872
Identifier: id169573
Scope and Contents

Sylvia or Silvia ? left at house of John F. Clarke. Things left by Mr. Paull. Encloses reports of Board of Health. "The ... sickness with two exceptions is confined to the immediate neighborhood of McConnell's old tan yard. I am informed that the old vats is full of water and all kinds of filth & that they have been in that situation for the last two years."

Dates: 1833 June 20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Mary Woods to mother Mrs. Anne Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 June 20

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1873
Identifier: id169576
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Mary Woods to mother Mrs. Anne Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia Received letter from Dr. Houston. Trusts her Ann is obedient. Mr. Laurie preached his trial sermon.

Dates: 1833 June 20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Daniel Peck, St. Clairsville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, Virginia, 1833 June 21

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1874
Identifier: id169578
Scope and Contents

Mr. Ruggles and wife deeded lot to Gutherie. People are frightened of cholera. "If anyone dies in this neighborhood & we have had a number of deaths, the person is rolled up in his bed, & bedclothes & his own clothes tumbled into a rough box, as soon as dead, & immediately buried." Guthrie will deed lots to Woods.

Dates: 1833 June 21
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Archibald Woods to Zacharias Jacob, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 June 29

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1875
Identifier: id169579
Scope and Contents

Asks about distraining (detaining personal property for security of a debt) a wheat crop. Includes Jacob answering Woods questions.

Dates: 1833 June 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

H. F. Feeny, Montezuma, Parke County, Indiana to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, Virginia, 1833 July 24

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1876
Identifier: id169580
Scope and Contents

Report on tending to Woods' land. Includes account of Woods with Feeny.

Dates: 1833 July 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

John C. Snider, Wheeling, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 July 24

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1877
Identifier: id169582
Scope and Contents

Wishes to borrow six hundred dollars. Father will give deed of trust on property in Hagerstown, Maryland.

Dates: 1833 July 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Mary (Woods) Wilson, Salt Sulphur Springs, to Archibald Woods, Ohio County, West Virginia, 1833 July 29

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1878
Identifier: id169583
Scope and Contents

Describes trips to White Sulphur Springs and Salt Sulphur Springs.

Dates: 1833 July 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

M. D. Washington, "Hills" Ohio County, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, near Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 August 2

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1879
Identifier: id169584
Scope and Contents

Asks to borrow fifty dollars.

Dates: 1833 August 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Richard H. Henderson, Leesburg, Virginia to William B. King, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 August 7

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1880
Identifier: id169585
Scope and Contents

Letter of recommendation for N. Osburne as a tavern keeper.

Dates: 1833 August 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

John R. Cocke, Winchester, Virginia to William B. King, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 August 7

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1881
Identifier: id169586
Scope and Contents

Osburn keeps a first-rate tavern.

Dates: 1833 August 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

J. T. Martin, Tridelphia, ?, to Archibald Woods, 1833 August 10

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1881A
Identifier: id169587
Scope and Contents

Will build mill wheel for two dollars and fifty cents per foot.

Dates: 1833 August 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Copy of Resolution of trustees of Wheeling Lancasterian Academy, 1833 August 15

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1882
Identifier: id169588
Scope and Contents

Samuel Sprigg and Archibald Woods be appointed a Committee to settle with Henry Sockman for rent of Know Hon Farm,

Dates: 1833 August 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Archibald Woods, to Isaac S. Seaman, 1833 August 15

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1883
Identifier: id169589
Scope and Contents

Concerns terms of rental of stores and warehouse at Powhatan.

Dates: 1833 August 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

I or J List, New York, N. Y. to Archibald Woods, President North West Bank, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1833 August 31

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1884
Identifier: id169591
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, chiefly 1783-1846, of Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia. The papers concern his family, the Poage family, and the Houston family, as well as his business dealings. Correspondents include Levi Barber, Daniel Call, Philip Doddridge, Chapman Johnson, Henry Lee, James Pindall, Benjamin Ruggles, Daniel Sheffey and John Tyler, Edgar Campbell Wilson, George Washington Wilson and Thomas Wilson. Subjects dealt with in the collection include banking, cholera, the Cumberland Road,...
Dates: 1833 August 31
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

Archibald Woods to T. Ewing, 1833? September

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1885
Identifier: id169592
Scope and Contents

Answer to inquiries about North Western Bank of Virginia.

Dates: 1833? September
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

John Wells to Archibald Woods, 1833 September 2

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1886
Identifier: id169593
Scope and Contents

Request to borrow two thousand dollars from Wheeling Bank.

Dates: 1833 September 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17

J. T. Martin, Tridelphia, ?, to Archibald Woods, Greenfield, Ohio County? West Virginia, 1833 September 25

 File — Box: 17, Folder: 1887
Identifier: id169594
Scope and Contents

Progress on building of grist mill.

Dates: 1833 September 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 17