Skip to main content

Box 15

 Container

Contains 100 Results:

Eugenius M. Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 July 2

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1648
Identifier: id167772
Scope and Contents

Hesitant to give advice in Clark lawsuit, but does so. Has applied to be Commonwealths Attorney in Brooke, Tyler and Randolph counties.

Dates: 1828 July 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Jer. Hollister, Woodsfield, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 July 2

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1649
Identifier: id167773
Scope and Contents

Cannot pay him yet. Since Woods is concerned with Wheeling foundry, asks for a cast screw and plate for pressing cloth at his fulling mill.

Dates: 1828 July 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

John S. Sehon, Clarksburg, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 July 10

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1650
Identifier: id167774
Scope and Contents

Adams has sold land in Delaware. Will pay Woods when that is settled. Sehon will pay his part even if he has to borrow.

Dates: 1828 July 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Samuel Merchant to Archibald Woods, 1828 July 19

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1651
Identifier: id167775
Scope and Contents

Would like to borrow two hundred dollars from Woods.

Dates: 1828 July 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Noah Zane, N.Y., to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 July 22

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1652
Identifier: id167776
Scope and Contents

New York is in favor of Andrew Jackson. New York "is destined to be a Great Nation within itself."

Dates: 1828 July 22
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

James McGuire to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 July 29

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1653
Identifier: id167777
Scope and Contents

Concerns Daniel Clark.

Dates: 1828 July 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Eugenius M. Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 July 30

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1654
Identifier: id167778
Scope and Contents

Leaving for Bedford. Did not get appointment as Commonwealth's Attorney for Brooke County or Tyler County. Still a candidate for Randolph County.

Dates: 1828 July 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

David Shriver, Cumberland, Md., to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 August 3

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1655
Identifier: id167779
Scope and Contents

Concerns possibility of a canal. Public is losing confidence in Railroad company.

Dates: 1828 August 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Pattrick Patrick Adams, Woodsfield, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 August 7

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1656
Identifier: id167780
Scope and Contents

Father-in-law needs land. Send terms.

Dates: 1828 August 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Augustus Stone, Marietta, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 August 8

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1657
Identifier: id167781
Scope and Contents

Will attend to entering land for Woods.

Dates: 1828 August 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Joseph Smith, Powhatan Point Belmont County, Ohio to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 September 1

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1658
Identifier: id167782
Scope and Contents

Clark says Woods has libeled and will not agree to terms.

Dates: 1828 September 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Stephen Colwell, St. Clairsville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 September 2

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1659
Identifier: id167783
Scope and Contents

Legal advice concerning injunction against Clarke.

Dates: 1828 September 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

George Paull, St. Clairsville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 September 22

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1660
Identifier: id167784
Scope and Contents

Passes on legal advice from Genin and his advice in lawsuit against Clark.

Dates: 1828 September 22
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

A. Campbell, Bethany, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 October 1

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1661
Identifier: id167785
Scope and Contents

Horatio Bakewell needs clay.

Dates: 1828 October 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

George Paull to Archibald Woods, 1828 October 2

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1662
Identifier: id167786
Scope and Contents

Gives his advice in lawsuit against Clarke. Thinks Woods should have compromised. Sends money for Alfred's bill.

Dates: 1828 October 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Daniel Peck, St. Clairsville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 October 6

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1663
Identifier: id167787
Scope and Contents

Legal advice regarding the administration of an estate.

Dates: 1828 October 6
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Jeremiah Evan, Union Town, Pa. to Archibald Woods, near Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 October 11

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1664
Identifier: id167788
Scope and Contents

Interested in renting house.

Dates: 1828 October 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Bond of Josias Adams with Archibald Woods, 1828 October 9

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1664A
Identifier: id167789
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, chiefly 1783-1846, of Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia. The papers concern his family, the Poage family, and the Houston family, as well as his business dealings. Correspondents include Levi Barber, Daniel Call, Philip Doddridge, Chapman Johnson, Henry Lee, James Pindall, Benjamin Ruggles, Daniel Sheffey and John Tyler, Edgar Campbell Wilson, George Washington Wilson and Thomas Wilson. Subjects dealt with in the collection include banking, cholera, the Cumberland Road,...
Dates: 1828 October 9
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Eugenius M. Wilson,West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 October 18

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1665
Identifier: id167790
Scope and Contents

Washington Wilson is seeking a new position.

Dates: 1828 October 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Peter Tallman to George Paull?, 1828 October 23

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1666
Identifier: id167791
Scope and Contents

Clark did not give security in lawsuit.

Dates: 1828 October 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

George Paull, St. Clairsville, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 October 24

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1667
Identifier: id167792
Scope and Contents

Clark did not give security. May compromise. Have lost member of Congress.

Dates: 1828 October 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Albert McVeigh, Wheeling, Creek, Ohio? to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, Ohio County, West Virginia, 1828 November 13

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1668
Identifier: id167793
Scope and Contents

Interested in being miller.

Dates: 1828 November 13
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Eugenius M. Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 November 14

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1669
Identifier: id167794
Scope and Contents

Advises against lawsuit in name of Northwestern Bank of Virginia against ? Adams. Justifies Sehon's bill for copying court record. Alpheus P. Willson has son, Evans.

Dates: 1828 November 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Cyrus H. Picken, Captina, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 November 28

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1670
Identifier: id167795
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Megurder? unwilling to give bail to close deed.

Dates: 1828 November 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15

Louisa Ann Wilson, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, to Ann (Poage) Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1828 December

 File — Box: 15, Folder: 1671
Identifier: id167796
Scope and Contents

Describes stay in Pittsburgh.

Dates: 1828 December
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 15