Skip to main content

Box 14

 Container

Contains 96 Results:

Josias Thompson, Triadelphia, West Virginia, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1826 September 4

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1555
Identifier: id167606
Scope and Contents

Would like to be appointed superintendent of road.

Dates: 1826 September 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Elijah McClandhan to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, Ohio County, West Virginia, 1826 September 15

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1556
Identifier: id167607
Scope and Contents

Inquires about land his deceased father owned in Ohio County. If Woods never collected money for A. Hamilton, he won't from his estate which will be insolvent. McClandhan's mother died 1824 May.

Dates: 1826 September 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

David Scott, Woodsfield, Ohio, to Archibald Woods, near Wheeling, West Virginia, 1826 September 19

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1557
Identifier: id167609
Scope and Contents

William Brookover would like to rent land from Woods.

Dates: 1826 September 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Mary (Woods) Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia to Anne (Poage) Woods, 1826 September 23

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1558
Identifier: id167613
Scope and Contents

Darky, slave, has tried to run away twice. Is being returned to Woods family.

Dates: 1826 September 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia to John Tyler, Governor, Richmond, Virginia, 1826 October 6

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1559
Identifier: id167616
Scope and Contents

Concerned over money owed Northwestern Bank by a director. Recommends three names to be appointed as director.

Dates: 1826 October 6
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

John Sexton to Archibald Woods, 1826 October 8

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1560
Identifier: id167618
Scope and Contents

Suggests Woods direct finishing of his warehouse.

Dates: 1826 October 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Edgar Campbell Wilson, Clarksburg, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1826 October 20

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1561
Identifier: id167621
Scope and Contents

Transmits money owed to Woods by ? Maxwell.

Dates: 1826 October 20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Eugenius M. Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1826 October 22

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1562
Identifier: id167624
Scope and Contents

Compromise proposed in Wilson v. Woods. Cresap v. Chapline's heirs was decided in favor of Cresap. Has sold Darky to man in Harrison County for $300.

Dates: 1826 October 22
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Eugenius M. Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1826 October 31

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1563
Identifier: id167627
Scope and Contents

Thinks Doddridge will stand better chance of winning than Leffler for Congress.

Dates: 1826 October 31
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

T. G. Haymond, Wheeling, West Virginia to Archibald Woods?, 1826 November 7

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1564
Identifier: id167642
Scope and Contents

Concerns appointment of Woods as a director of Northwestern Bank.

Dates: 1826 November 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Eugenius M. Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1826 November 10

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1565
Identifier: id167643
Scope and Contents

Concerns Wilson v. Woods, Woods v. Booth, and Woods' place as director of Northwestern Bank of Virginia.

Dates: 1826 November 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Isaac Leffler to Archibald Woods, 1826 November 18

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1566
Identifier: id167644
Scope and Contents

Will defend three directors of Northwestern Bank of Virginia against being surplanted.

Dates: 1826 November 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Richard Norris, Baltimore, Md., to Charles D. Knox, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1826 November 28

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1567
Identifier: id167646
Scope and Contents

Concerns Emily Knox's dissatisfaction with her school in Baltimore.

Dates: 1826 November 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Eugenius M. Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1826 November 29

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1568
Identifier: id167647
Scope and Contents

Does not recommend compromise in Wilson v. Woods. Problem with directors of Northwestern Bank of Virginia T. P. Ray and Alpheus P. Wilson will attend canal convention before going to Richmond. Does not trust Thomas S. Haymond. Passes on name of George Kyger for tavern. Wilson will act as clerk in T. P. Ray's absence.

Dates: 1826 November 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Edgar Campbell Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, ?, 1826 November 30

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1569
Identifier: id167648
Scope and Contents

Maxwell expects to pay money owed to Woods.

Dates: 1826 November 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Daniel Steenrod, Wheeling, Creek, Ohio County, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, 1826 December 5

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1570
Identifier: id167650
Scope and Contents

Moses Shepherd wants to meet with Woods.

Dates: 1826 December 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Eugenius M. Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1826 December 12

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1571
Identifier: id167653
Scope and Contents

Defends Henry St. George Tucker from charge of being an agent of John R. Wilson (charges perhaps levied by Philip Doddridge).

Dates: 1826 December 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

W. D. , to Benjamin Ruggles, Senate Chamber, Washington, D.C., 1826 December 19

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1572
Identifier: id167655
Scope and Contents

Notifies Ruggles that there is already a post office named Captina Creek in Belmont County, Ohio so suggests another name.

Dates: 1826 December 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Agnes Wilson, Morgantown, West Virginia, to Ann (Poage) Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1826? December 22

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1573
Identifier: id167656
Scope and Contents

Family news.

Dates: 1826? December 22
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

A.C. Baker, Bowling Green, Mo. to sister Mrs. Ann R. Morgan, Salem, Fauquier County, Virginia, 1826 December 24

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1574
Identifier: id167658
Scope and Contents

Travel in Missouri in winter.

Dates: 1826 December 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14

Lewis Maxwell, Weston, Lewis County, West Virginia, to Archibald Woods, Wheeling, West Virginia, 1826 December 26

 File — Box: 14, Folder: 1575
Identifier: id167659
Scope and Contents

Making arrangements to pay note. Candidate for next Congress. Hopes Woods will not move against Middle Island Company.

Dates: 1826 December 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Archibald Woods Papers / Box 14