Skip to main content

Box 1

 Container

Contains 12 Results:

Box 1

 File — Box: 1
Identifier: id127911
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Papers, 1812-1915, of the Riddle family of Chambersburg, Pa., Baltimore, Md., and Charlestown, W. Va. Chiefly the correspondence and accounts of Horace R. Riddle, banker of Baltimore, Md. and Charles Town, W. Va. who was the agent for the receiver of the Bank of the Valley in Virginia. Collection also includes a farm account book, 1812-1832, of James Riddle of Chambersburg; and plans and specifications for re-modeling a house in Charles Town.

Dates: 1844-1886
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters

1844-1849

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id127912
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Papers, 1812-1915, of the Riddle family of Chambersburg, Pa., Baltimore, Md., and Charlestown, W. Va. Chiefly the correspondence and accounts of Horace R. Riddle, banker of Baltimore, Md. and Charles Town, W. Va. who was the agent for the receiver of the Bank of the Valley in Virginia. Collection also includes a farm account book, 1812-1832, of James Riddle of Chambersburg; and plans and specifications for re-modeling a house in Charles Town.

Dates: 1844-1886
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters / Box 1

Correspondence, 1860-1862

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 2
Identifier: id127918
Scope and Contents

Five letters written in 1861 to H. R. Riddle commenting on political turmoil and one, 1862, concerning a brother of the writer captured by the Confederates.

Dates: 1860-1862
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters / Box 1

Correspondence, 1867-1879 and undated

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 3
Identifier: id127919
Scope and Contents

Chiefly letters to and from H. R. Riddle concerning financial matters.

Dates: 1867-1879 and undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters / Box 1

Thurlow Weed, Albany, New York to P. S. Shelton, Boston, Massachusetts, 1844 November 17

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id127913
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Papers, 1812-1915, of the Riddle family of Chambersburg, Pa., Baltimore, Md., and Charlestown, W. Va. Chiefly the correspondence and accounts of Horace R. Riddle, banker of Baltimore, Md. and Charles Town, W. Va. who was the agent for the receiver of the Bank of the Valley in Virginia. Collection also includes a farm account book, 1812-1832, of James Riddle of Chambersburg; and plans and specifications for re-modeling a house in Charles Town.

Dates: 1844 November 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters / Box 1 / 1844-1849

Thurlow Weed, Albany, New York to Riddle, 1848 May 6

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id127914
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Papers, 1812-1915, of the Riddle family of Chambersburg, Pa., Baltimore, Md., and Charlestown, W. Va. Chiefly the correspondence and accounts of Horace R. Riddle, banker of Baltimore, Md. and Charles Town, W. Va. who was the agent for the receiver of the Bank of the Valley in Virginia. Collection also includes a farm account book, 1812-1832, of James Riddle of Chambersburg; and plans and specifications for re-modeling a house in Charles Town.

Dates: 1848 May 6
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters / Box 1 / 1844-1849

A. Stuart Riddle to R. R. Schneck, 1848 July 28

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id127915
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Papers, 1812-1915, of the Riddle family of Chambersburg, Pa., Baltimore, Md., and Charlestown, W. Va. Chiefly the correspondence and accounts of Horace R. Riddle, banker of Baltimore, Md. and Charles Town, W. Va. who was the agent for the receiver of the Bank of the Valley in Virginia. Collection also includes a farm account book, 1812-1832, of James Riddle of Chambersburg; and plans and specifications for re-modeling a house in Charles Town.

Dates: 1848 July 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters / Box 1 / 1844-1849

J. Draper, New York to John M. Clayton, Secretary of State, 1849 October 26

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id127916
Scope and Contents

Regarding affairs in Cuba.

Dates: 1849 October 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters / Box 1 / 1844-1849

William H. Seward to William B. Preston, Secretary of the Navy, 1849 November 24

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1
Identifier: id127917
Scope and Contents

Letter of introduction for H. R. Riddle.

Dates: 1849 November 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters / Box 1 / 1844-1849

H. R. Riddle. Letterpress book, 1865-1872

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 3
Identifier: id127920
Scope and Contents From the File:

Chiefly letters to and from H. R. Riddle concerning financial matters.

Dates: 1865-1872
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters / Box 1 / Correspondence

H. R. Riddle. Letterpress book, 1876-1884

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 3
Identifier: id127921
Scope and Contents From the File:

Chiefly letters to and from H. R. Riddle concerning financial matters.

Dates: 1876-1884
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters / Box 1 / Correspondence

H. R. Riddle. Letterpress book, 1884-1886

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 3
Identifier: id127922
Scope and Contents From the File:

Chiefly letters to and from H. R. Riddle concerning financial matters.

Dates: 1884-1886
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Riddle Papers / Series 1: Letters / Box 1 / Correspondence