Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: Papers of Hugh Carrington Grigsby, which also includes some material for his sister, Mary Blair Grigsby before and after her marriage to William Wilson Galt.   Hugh Carrington Grigsby resided at Edgehill in Charlotte County, Virginia.  His papers concern family matters, such as the estate of his father Hugh Blair Grigsby, business affairs of the family and relationships with his sister Mary Blair Grigsby, William Wilson Galt and other relatives who lived in Charlotte County and elsewhere. ...

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include Mary B. Grigsby (sister), Paulus A. Irving (friend) and Hugh Blair Grigsby (father). Mary B. Grigsby asks for advice on how to dress and how to behave when she visits him, probably at Hampton-Sydney College in 1876.

Scope and Contents Includes family, friend and business correspondence. Correspondents include his father Hugh Blair Grigsby, his sister Mary B. Grigsby, and other family members and friends. W. Irving Taylor writes about a portrait of Hugh Blair Grigsby. John Whitehead, Carrington's uncle, sends a letter from Mr. Brock who asks for the original minutes of the Phi Beta Kappa Society of William and Mary which should be with his Father's papers. Family letters often concern Hugh Blair Grigsby's death and estate....

Scope and Contents Includes family, friend and business correspondence. W. G. Morton asks to buy a Revolutionary War flint lock gun, Nina Bouldin solicits donations for a library at the Mt. Pisgah Academy. Letters from brother-in-law William Wilson Galt, J. B. Whitehead, Rev. J. J. Kirkpatrick, and others. Includes draft of a letter from H.C. Grigsby to R. C. Reid where he states that Reid was out of line to publically correct him, letter from B. Johnson Barbour who wants an interview about Hugh Blair Grigsby,...

Scope and Contents Includes family, friend and business correspondence. Correspondents include:  Miss Alice Murrow accepting an invitation, Louise Carrington, great grandson of John Grigsby A.B. McCorkle, relative J. B. Whitehead, mother Mary V. Grigsby, sister Mary G. Galt, cousin B.A. White), neighbor J. W. Morton, and cousin Louise Carrington. Includes letters from Mary G. Galt to her mother, a letter from Cousin Thomas B. Venable to Mrs. Mary Grigsby about a portrait of Hugh Blair Grigsby, family letters...

Scope and Contents Includes family, friend, and business correspondence. Correspondents include:  brother-in-law William Wilson Galt, cousin John B. Whitehead, sister Mary G. Galt, Lucy A. Priddy asking for a loan, cousin J. C. Carrington, friend and old neighbor J. W. Morton,  Miss M. G. Nowlins, L. H. Hayes regarding horses, Miss S. A. Boswell with an invitation to church, an invitation from Mrs. McKelway, a driving invitation from Jennie Watkins, cousin Nellie Watkins, Alice Marrow regarding a visit, and...

Scope and Contents Includes family, friend and business correspondence, invitations and wedding announcements. Correspondents include: Mary G. Galt, William Wilson Galt, Mrs. Grigsby, Charles Deane of Cambridge, Massachusetts, Louise Carrington, Emmett M. Dickson and other friends and relatives. Includes letters of introduction by friends for Carrington Grigsby to use during a visit to Kentucky, letter from Mrs. Louise Leigh (cousin) with a note on the back by Carrington about his friendship with her and how...

Scope and Contents Includes family, friend and business correspondence, invitations, and wedding announcements. Correspondents include:  Mary G. Galt, William Wilson Galt, Mrs. Grigsby, Mary Bolling, Charles Deane, Marie Shepperdson, John Whitehead, C.T . Hanson, P. R. Carrington about the Carrington genealogy, cousin Henrietta McCormick of Chicago, T. R. Rogers, S. W. Morton, Marianne E. Skelton, and Pattie Finch. Includes a handwritten program for a local "musical soiree" at Mrs. Kate McKelway's home, letter...

Scope and Contents Includes family, friend and business correspondence. Correspondents include: Mary G. Galt, William Wilson Galt , Mary V. Grigsby, M. L. Nowlin,  G. T. Hersfelt, Mary E. Bollings, cousin John Whitehead, Miss Bigelow, and W. M. Cary. Includes 1884 invitation to Hampton Sidney College's graduation, letter from Sheriff C.V. Marshall appointing Carrington as one of the commissioners to view proposed new road, invitation to 1884 leap year party, letter from B. Johnston Barbour about one of Hugh...

Scope and Contents Includes family, friend and business correspondence. Correspondents include: Mary G. Galt, William Wilson Galt , Mrs. Grigsby, Miss Willie Garland, and other family members, friends, and business acquaintances. Includes invitations to local functions and homes, thank you notes for books, notes from Peachy Gilmer, Miss Jeffress and other female friends, note from Dr. Thackston about teeth and dentist problems, Lillian Lee genealogy, and letter from Mrs. G. P. Rice telling him bluntly that she...

Scope and Contents Includes family, friend and business correspondence. Correspondents include: J. D. Shepperson, cousin Annie Read, Victor Murguiondo, William Wilson Galt, W. W. Glasgow, Charles Deane, Mary B. Grigsby Galt, Mary V. Grigsby, and others. Includes invitations to the "jois de Vie", copy of letter from Carrington to his Mother while he was visiting White Sulphur Springs, responses from lady friends, letters of introductions, letters concerning ladies (one letter from H.H. Booker telling Carrington...

Scope and Contents Family, friend and business correspondence. Correspondents include: Mrs. L. Carrington, William Wilson Galt, Mrs. Grigsby, John Whitehead, and others. Mrs. L. Carrington asks for a loan in a flowery letter. William Wilson Galt relates financial information and family affairs . Letter from a Mrs. Crampton (?) who wants her son to receive some education and asks Carrington to ask Mr. Galt about Navy prospects, reply from William Galt about the Navy and about a lady "prospectz' for Carrington....

Scope and Contents Family, friend, and business correspondence. Mr. P. B. Price wants to publish a Hampton Sydney address by Hugh Blair Grigsby.  Farming related correspondence about prices, orders, and more.  William Wilson Galt writes about selling Main Street house, family affairs, and Mrs. Grigsby.  Letters and replies to invitations from ladies, plus a letter from P. Morison who writes, "I should prefer not going out with you...I go with are usually college boys and the younger Seminary students in whom I...

Scope and Contents Family, friend and business correspondence. Cousin Bettie Johnson sends a journal article, Lizzie J. Hunt requests a buggy ride to the court house, William Wilson Galt writes about Grigsby business and the Main Street House, J. W. Hooper  and others want to see Hugh Blair Grigsby's papers from Hampden  Sidney, business letters about farming and banking, Miss Lulie Watkins prays that he meant it when he said he wanted to accept Jesus and explains the plan of Salvation, Nancy Stuart requests...

Scope and Contents Family, friend and business correspondence. Cousin Bettie Gaines has organized a female reading club and is still teaching, Major Gaines reports that Col. Whitehead has nominated Gaines to the State Board of Agriculture, Mrs. Viola Minor asks for beef steak "I wanted to ask you this but could not summon up courage", and other correspondence from neighbors and relatives who write of family and local news, the illness of his Mother, and send replies or requests to invitations for visits or...

Scope and Contents

There are only five letters for 1889. William Wilson Galt writes about financial issues and Annie Read writes to Mrs. Grigsby about the death of her father. Includes a bond from Mary V. Grigsby to Carrington Grigsby.

Scope and Contents

There are only five letters for 1890. Three letters are addressed to Mrs. Mary V. Grigsby from friends and relatives. The other letters to Carrington concern selling stock.

Scope and Contents

Seven letters, mostly dealing with stock and other financial matters. Lizzie Nash offers condolences on the death of a family member, but is unclear who died.

Scope and Contents

Four letters. Includes a request for apples by Cousin Annie Read, the selling of Carrington's tobacco by Moss, Eanes and Gills, and matters about Hugh Blair Grigsby's estate from John Whitehead.

Scope and Contents

Five items. Includes letters from neighbors, William Wilson Galt and a bond between Carrington Grigsby, Dr. McPhail, and H. L. Smith.

Scope and Contents Letters about farming, requests for Hugh Blair Grigsby's writings, and personal and family finances. Includes a list of books with the number of volumes in each set, a letter from Dr. A. S. Priddy requesting Carrington's recommendation to Walter H. Taylor for the open position at Eastern Virginia Hospital, and letters from a woman friend who is upset that Carrington will not reply to her letters. Members of the Read family, cousins to Carrington, write about different local and personal...

Scope and Contents Correspondence with businesses, family and friends. Includes financial matters such as bonds, stock quotes and family concerns, business matters such as price of crops and farming items and a request for farming items for the "Cotton States and International Exposition,"   Ms. Blair of Walnut Grove, a regular correspondent in other years, continues to write of local events. William Wilson Galt continues as executor of the estates of both Hugh Blair and Mary Venable Grigsby, and Uncle John...

Scope and Contents Includes financial matters such as bonds, stock quotes and family concerns and business matters such as price of crops and farming items. Mary B. Galt writes about her visit with the Galt Family plus asks Carrington to check on Miss Ada at The Grove, nephew Will Galt writes his first letter to "Uncle Carrington", Cousin Emma Early writes about her family in Texas, Nannie Daniel continues writing about books, local events, and invites Carrington to visit with the caveat that he better come...

Scope and Contents

Five letters. N. Daniel invites him to the Presbytery at Bethlehem on the 26th, 27th, 28th and 29th. Dr. A. Duane of New York answers Carrington's query about his eye problems with a possible diagnosis and treatments. Sue Wainwright writes two letters that suggest they may have an interest in each other, but questions why he is always too busy.

Scope and Contents Carrington has "the grippe" in January and his eyes continue to bother him. On January 9, W. W. Galt writes from Arabia that "probably about this time...you will have left the estate of 'single blessedness' and will have settled down". But other letters from family and friends during this time period do not mention a wedding and he appears to be unmarried due to his activities. Mary B. Galt writes often to Carrington, giving news of her family, William Wilson Galt and his navy travels and...