Collection contains correspondence, chiefly 1820-1875, of Newman Williamson Barnes and his wife Margaret W.(Tomlin) Barnes of Richmond, Virginia and "Greenfield," Culpeper County, Virginia and to their daughter, Margaret W. Barnes. Letters concern life in Falmouth, Virginia and also concern Fredericksburg, Virginia. Correspondents are members of the Braxton, Coalter, Tomlin and Oliver families. Letters contain social and family news.

Collection contains correspondence, chiefly 1820-1875, of Newman Williamson Barnes and his wife Margaret W.(Tomlin) Barnes of Richmond, Virginia and "Greenfield," Culpeper County, Virginia and to their daughter, Margaret W. Barnes. Letters concern life in Falmouth, Virginia and also concern Fredericksburg, Virginia. Correspondents are members of the Braxton, Coalter, Tomlin and Oliver families. Letters contain social and family news.

Collection contains correspondence, chiefly 1820-1875, of Newman Williamson Barnes and his wife Margaret W.(Tomlin) Barnes of Richmond, Virginia and "Greenfield," Culpeper County, Virginia and to their daughter, Margaret W. Barnes. Letters concern life in Falmouth, Virginia and also concern Fredericksburg, Virginia. Correspondents are members of the Braxton, Coalter, Tomlin and Oliver families. Letters contain social and family news.

Collection contains correspondence, chiefly 1820-1875, of Newman Williamson Barnes and his wife Margaret W.(Tomlin) Barnes of Richmond, Virginia and "Greenfield," Culpeper County, Virginia and to their daughter, Margaret W. Barnes. Letters concern life in Falmouth, Virginia and also concern Fredericksburg, Virginia. Correspondents are members of the Braxton, Coalter, Tomlin and Oliver families. Letters contain social and family news.

Collection contains correspondence, chiefly 1820-1875, of Newman Williamson Barnes and his wife Margaret W.(Tomlin) Barnes of Richmond, Virginia and "Greenfield," Culpeper County, Virginia and to their daughter, Margaret W. Barnes. Letters concern life in Falmouth, Virginia and also concern Fredericksburg, Virginia. Correspondents are members of the Braxton, Coalter, Tomlin and Oliver families. Letters contain social and family news.

Collection contains correspondence, chiefly 1820-1875, of Newman Williamson Barnes and his wife Margaret W.(Tomlin) Barnes of Richmond, Virginia and "Greenfield," Culpeper County, Virginia and to their daughter, Margaret W. Barnes. Letters concern life in Falmouth, Virginia and also concern Fredericksburg, Virginia. Correspondents are members of the Braxton, Coalter, Tomlin and Oliver families. Letters contain social and family news.

Departure of guests; birth of a daughter to Mrs. Braxton; getting Armistead ready for school up in Caroline; Walker's illness; love to family members. Also includes a note by Lucy ?, Chericoke, Virginia, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Jeffersonton, Culpepper County, Virginia. "Cousin Lucy" sends love to all and particularly to Peg.

A scolding from BB about Beverly's not taking proper care of his health.

Pantaloons are finished; please write; how is GB's Mama's health? Also includes a letter by Balsora Barnes to "Peg" (Margaret W. Barnes), why has MWB not written?; questions about fowls and Peg's studies; love to MWB's Mama, Papa, and brother.

MWB's trip home; George's arrival.

Lucy's illness; arrangements for BB's trip home; hopelessness of Jack Bryan's illness and surrounding circumstances; general family news.

Wedding and plans concerning travel and visit.

Soreness in BB's hands and difficulties encountered. Also includes a note by Balsora Barnes to George Barnes, Greenfield, Virginia why has GB forgotten BB?; declaration of love for George. Also includes a note by Balsora Barnes to Beverly Barnes, Greenfield, Virginia why has BB not written? Also includes a note by Balsora Barnes to Tomlin Barnes, Greenfield, Virginia You are a fine boy.

Exchange of presents; BB hopes that the boys can stay for the winter for BB was beginning to teach them to write. Also includes a letter by Lucy H. Barnes to "Willy"Newman Williamson B. Barnes, Greenfield, Virginia. Willy's children and their education; health of family members. Also includes a letter by Frances C. Barnes to Lucy Barnes, Greenfield, Virginia. sewing and quinces.

St. George's serious illness; will send clothes for the boys; can't see at all.

Peggy's attending school near BB, Peggy's failure to arrive yet, and the value of an education for Peggy; send the boys to BB and BB will prepare them for a large school; Lucy's wedding; illness of St. George. Also includes a letter by Lucy M: H. Barnes to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Greenfield, Culpeper County, Virginia Family affairs.

Willy's illness; clothes for the boys. Also includes a letter by Balsora Barnes to Lucy Barnes? The house is not done.

Beverly Barnes - ". . .all old maids can lecture on the instruction of children to a painful extent to married ladies, Beverly still proves a dutiful teachable child.. ."; information about the activities of all family members.

BB's love for people and how feelings often "discompose"you; Margaret Tomlin's? feelings on how NWBB should come up here and not gander off with Miss S? to New York; cousin Coalter has lost her bridge and others are down in the area; James. N. is a devoted admirer of Fanny's.

Have you and George any work for BB; Cousin Lucy's health is improving; pray often for NWBB's happiness and have loved NWBB more than any being on earth with the exception of two; NWBB's future conduct toward Margaret Tomlin? and interpretive statement of Margaret's feeling toward NWBB.

Requests items to be purchased for BB, Judy, Lucy, Aunt Amy; "Margaret Tomlin? sends her love to George and yourself.

BB has not sent shirts because of illness; news of Margaret Tomlin? and her journeys; BB requests items to be purchased. Also includes a letter by Margaret W. Tomlin, Chericoke, Virginia, to "Willy"Newman Williamson B. Barnes, Richmond, Virginia. requests items to be purchased.

"stips"? sent for Peg, Lucy, you two and the boys; write to us. Also includes a note by Lucy? ?, to Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes, Greenfield, Virginia.

Pantaloons and clothing; horse that was left; Mama wants to visit Greenfield in July & Mama's health; the garden; please write, we have been mortified at your silence. Also includes a letter by Balsora Barnes, Falmouth, Virginia, to "My dear M" (Margaret W. Tomlin Barnes), Culpeper County, Virginia BB sends MWTB tea towels with Bret's? pantaloons coat; hope MWTB's health is improved; love to the "dear little children"and to Willy.

"Margaret has a new beau but I do not think you need to dread him as a rival"; the Ball in Richmond; has NWBB heard from home?