Scope and Contents From the Collection: Thomas Mead, of Lynchburg, Virginia, writes to his brother-in-law Frederick Carper, of Fairfax City, Virginia. The letter mentions their political differences and discusses laborers from Pennsylvania coming to work on the James River Canal (which was never completed). Mead describes these white laborers as a "motley crew" and mentions "Lynches law" as a method to deal with them. Enslaved "hands" were hired from $100 to $150 per year to work on the project. Mead mentions prices for enslaved...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Three (3) page letter from Methodist minister, Thomas Wilmer Dorman to fellow clergy member, Henry Furlong. Dorman writes from Middleburg, Virginia to Furlong in Abingdon, Maryland. Dorman has recently returned from the “Southern Country” and expresses his desire to permanently move to Montgomery, Alabama. He mentions “black and Indian populations” and the “savage warfare” during the Second Creek War in Alabama. Though he expresses some concern about the violence, Dorman expresses his desire...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: (2) letters by Alexander Galt (1827-1863), a sculptor from Norfolk, Virginia, and John Young Mason (1799-1859), Secretary of the Navy and Attorney General to President James K. Polk. In the 1848 copy-letter, Mason writes that Galt will sail on the Erie ship, under the command of Lieutenant William M. Blair. Mason also tells Galt to secure employment as Blair’s clerk by networking with Blair’s friends in Norfolk. It is addressed from Washington, on July 28, 1848. The...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Materials include a (3) page letter and (8) sketches sent to Julia Johnson Davis, author of "Gribble's: The Story of a Beloved Penny Shop." In the letter, Dashiell explains her sketches and the decision to set them on Valentine's Day. She offers these to Davis for the "Gribble's" reprint and closes with her price of "$2.00 each for pen and ink drawings." Dashiell also mentions her aversion to decorative page borders, but she ends with "that is a matter of taste."The sketches are...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Four letters from Hamilton to his father, James A. Hamilton and his sister, Eliza. They are dated 10 July 1832; July 11, 1832; 9 September 1833; and 22 October 1833. Hamilton wrote the letters while a Cadet at the United States Military Academy at West Point. In a letter to his father, dated July 10, 1832, he discusses possibly sexual relationships between male Cadets as "petting" and plans to steer clear of this practice. He also mentions "pets in the Corps" who are "held in...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Two handwritten letters from Walter Lada to his girlfriend Irma Marhan while Lada was stationed in Bainbridge, Maryland at the United States Naval Training Center, perhaps as part of the lead-up to the Korean War. Marhan's address is Long Island City, New York, and Lada refers to her as "Hon" in both letters. Both letters are written on U.S.N. stationery. The first sheet includes an illustration of a topless woman with a short hair bob dancing for a group of sailors. The second...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Correspondence from Horace Ray and Sam P. Collins to their sister and brother-in-law while each was serving in World War II. Letters, V-Mail, and postcards are sent from the United States, Sicily, and an unnamed African country. The materials also includes blank V-Mail envelopes, receipts from the Inman Gin, located in Inman, South Carolina; and blank stationery from the 56th Air Disarmament Squadron, the U.S. Air Force, McClellan Field, and the Sacramento Air Depot.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Two-page letter sending condolences regarding the loss of Captain Davis. The letter also addresses trade negotiations, as they pertain to sugar, and the attempt to ensure that their arrival into ports does not negatively impact the value of the various ship's goods.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: A four-page lengthy letter from Camp Suffolk, VA to his friend in Fillmore, NY. Skiff is a Union soldier and tells of his various assignments to the Divisional Quartermaster Department and as Clerk of the Brigade Commissary. Overall, Skiff is happy to serve the Union especially in order to avenge his brother's death. However, Skiff is utterly disgusted with the leadership of the Union Army, McClellan in particular, and the manner in which the war is conducted. He outlines all of his...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

A two-page letter from Petersburg, VA informing Maury of the inability to pull into the Harbor ar Norfolk due to the high winds and the desire to protect the cargo for the owners. Additionally, he gives reports on behalf of Captian Bliss of the cargo on board other vessels, chiefly cotton, tobacco, flour, and wheat.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

One-page arrest warrant issued from the town of Salisbury in the county of Rowen in North Carolina.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Colonial Bill in the denomination of six dollars printed in Annapolis for the colony of Maryland. Anne Catharine Green was one of the first female printers of colonial monies.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Three-page letter addressed to his cousin in Greensboro, Alabama. Pasteur is a student at William and Mary on break and visiting family. He writes of his appreciation for having his cousin relay a message of courtship to a Miss Julia, despite the lukewarm response she wrote in return. He also lays out his plans as they pertain to his return to Williamsburg in preparation for the upcoming session.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Perforated but unfolded box that was meant to hold 10 Cuban cigarettes. The brand is "John" and features a well dressed dark skinned Cuban striking a match to light a cigarette held in his mouth.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Daguerreotype of the bust of Edmund Mitchell, an unmarried man who resided in Baltimore, Maryland and was the President of the Vigilant Fire Company. Mitchell was shot and killed the night of the election of John H.T. Jerome in October of 1850. Articles concerning his assassination are included with the photograph.

Scope and Contents

A typed copy of Beaumont's travel journal, including numberic accounting of trip cost

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Copy of a memo from the Assistant Secretary of Defense to Harry Rowen "regarding the distribution and use of the Vietnam Papers." It was Exhibit B-1 in the trial of U.S. v. Ellsberg-Russo, in the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California, No. 9373-WMB-CD. The memo outlines who has full access to the Vietnam Papers, composed of the Warnke Private Papers, the McNaughton Private Papers, and the OSD Task Force Papers. It is signed by Paul C. Warnke, Horton H....

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

One page prose poem with several April Fools' Day romantic sayings, like "As sure as the grapes hangs on the vine, I'll be yours and you'll be mine." Signed "Mr. I Don't Know Who." It was written from Fiddlers Green, Virginia using a black ink fountain pen.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

From Norfolk, Watkins writes to her sister in Indianapolis. She mentions an illness and how she is overwhelmed by her teaching duties in Norfolk. Watkins seeks charity from her friends and family as she is too ill to work.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Assorted but unrelated materials from before, during and immediately after World War I, including a photograph of a young man in military uniform, labeled "Richard Flack"; an envelope addressed to Carlotta Howard; an invoice for stamps bought at the United States Military Academy; and a "Food Conservation Notes" newspaper.There is also a two-page typed letter sent from John J. Miland, Company "E" 13th Infantry, Manila, Philippines to Captain Charles N. Murphy. Captain Murphy was...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Edward Bland Account book.