Box Series 2, Box 11
Container
Contains 201 Results:
Benjamin S. Ewell, Williamsburg, to Dr. John M. Galt, 1861 January 30
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 111
Identifier: id110787
Scope and Contents
Encloses resolutions from the faculty concerned with Galt's liberality to the College since the fire. If he wishes to continue, he might indicate that the money be used for the Library, and how long the gift will continue.
Dates:
1861 January 30
J. McCormick, Augusta, Georgia, to William R. Galt, Norfolk, 1861 February 25
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 111
Identifier: id110790
Scope and Contents
Writes concerning the legal case of the heirs of James Galt, and feels there is need for evidence of the kinship of the present heirs as grand-children of James Galt.
Dates:
1861 February 25
Deposition regarding mental condition of James Haike [?], 1861 March 2
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 111
Identifier: id110791
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1861 March 2
Sally M. Galt, Williamsburg, to "Dearest Cousin", 1861 May 30
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 111
Identifier: id110796
Scope and Contents
The enemy has not advanced past Warwick county, and our soldiers hold the roads between there and here. Many families left Williamsburg, and were replaced by refugees from Hampton with nothing but what they wore. The first night many slept on the Court House green. Col. Magruder "has just sent to John for the old map of the battle ground which is the only copy exant and belonged to our grandfather who you know was chief Surgeon to the forces in Virginia. General Lee has sent for a copy."...
Dates:
1861 May 30
Receipt, 1861 June 25
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 111
Identifier: id110813
Scope and Contents
Of Vest and Hansford for $40 for pew rent and $215.50 on account from Dr. Galt.
Dates:
1861 June 25
Eliza Lambert, Richmond, to Sally M. Galt, [1861?] June
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 111
Identifier: id110814
Scope and Contents
Describes the work of women in the churches making tents and clothing for the soldiers. Understands there may soon be a battle at Manassas that will decide everything. Have heard little from Davey Lambert, and asks Sally to find out if he received the things they sent. Asks her to come live with them if Williamsburg is in any danger. Describes Capitol Square.
Dates:
[1861?] June
David Lambert, Richmond, to [Sally M. Galt?], 1861 August 20
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 111
Identifier: id110836
Scope and Contents
It is impossible to get coal anywhere. Is now 2nd Lt. of Artillery.
Dates:
1861 August 20
Sally Maria Galt, Williamsburg, to "My dear Cousin," [Richmond?], 1861 October 31
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 111
Identifier: id110838
Scope and Contents
Requests 4 yds. of carpeting, a candle mould, and $1 worth of potash. Candles and soap are hard to get so she is going to make her own. The churches are all being used as hospital, so the Methodist, Baptist, and Episcopalian ministers are preaching in the chapel at the Asylum. There are 750 sick soldiers in town. Lettie Tyler Semple is living in the College hospital and has charge of all the churches. Describes the Zouave and Louisiana Regiments' ball at their camp and another at "Col....
Dates:
1861 October 31
William Kirk, African Hospital, to Miss Galt, 1861 December 25
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 111
Identifier: id110839
Scope and Contents
The letter is addressed to "Miss Gault". Would like a glass of milk for a sick brother who can drink nothing but tea and milk.
Dates:
1861 December 25
G. Wm. Semple, Seminary Hospital, to Dr. John A. M. Galt, Lunatic Asylum Williamsburg, 1862 January 7
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 112
Identifier: id110840
Scope and Contents
Since most all of the timber on Galt's land has been cut and is going to waste, would like permission to have it gathered up and used.
Dates:
1862 January 7
May I. Cundiff [?] to Miss Galt, 1862 January 30
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 112
Identifier: id110841
Scope and Contents
Asks certain questions about the physical and mental condition of her mother. Mrs. Whitlock is not again deranged.
Dates:
1862 January 30
William H. Clarke, Fort Roy, Smart's Mill, Matthews Co., to Mr. [William R.?] Galt, 1862 February 5
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 112
Identifier: id110842
Scope and Contents
Describes his various military assignments in Gloucester and Mathews Counties. News of Lucia Tabb's wedding.
Dates:
1862 February 5
Joseph C. Lively [?], Ward Physician, to Miss [Sally M?] Galt, 1862 February 6
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 112
Identifier: id110843
Scope and Contents
Requests some pieces of cloth to be used for blisters.
Dates:
1862 February 6
Mary G. Cundiff to Sally M. Galt, 1862 February 16
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 112
Identifier: id110846
Scope and Contents
Describes her mother's funeral. Thanks Miss Galt for her letter. Inquires if her mother knew of her insanity, and if she gave any indication of what caused it.
Dates:
1862 February 16
Certificate to Commit a Soldier, 1862 February 22
Item — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 112
Identifier: id110847
Scope and Contents
Of Wm. H. Robertson, Asst. Surgeon, C.S.A. that Private Wilburne, Company A, Cobbs Legion, is suffering from mania and should be sent to the Asylum at Williamsburg, and receipt of Robert Saunders that he had been received there.
Dates:
1862 February 22
Folder 111, 1861
File — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 111
Identifier: id110526
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1861
Folder 112, 1862
File — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 112
Identifier: id110528
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1862
Folder 113, 1863-1864
File — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 113
Identifier: id110529
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1863-1864
Folder 114, 1865
File — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 114
Identifier: id110530
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1865
Folder 115, 1866 January-May
File — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 115
Identifier: id110532
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1866 January-May
Folder 116, 1866 June-July
File — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 116
Identifier: id110534
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1866 June-July
Folder 117, 1866 August-December
File — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 117
Identifier: id110536
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1866 August-December
Folder 118, 1867 January- July 15
File — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 118
Identifier: id110538
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1867 January- July 15
Folder 119, 1867 July 16-December
File — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 119
Identifier: id110539
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1867 July 16-December
Folder 120, 1868
File — Box: Series 2, Box 11, Folder: 120
Identifier: id110541
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1868