Box 6
Container
Contains 109 Results:
J. Horace Lacy, Ellwood, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1854 August 22
File — Box: 6, Folder: 26
Identifier: id174202
Scope and Contents
A rumor that Frances Bland Coalter is to marry.
Dates:
1854 August 22
Frances Tucker Bryan, Rockbridge, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1854 September 8
File — Box: 6, Folder: 27
Identifier: id174203
Scope and Contents
From the Sub-Series:
Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...
Dates:
1854 September 8
Mattie H. Morton, Buffaloe, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1854 October 3
File — Box: 6, Folder: 28
Identifier: id174204
Scope and Contents
"Julia Green was here...when I told her that you had gotten a letter from Mr. Hoge she said she was so jealous of you that she was ready to fight..."
Dates:
1854 October 3
Sallie W. Gaines, Powhite, to F. B. Coalter, 1854 October 6
File — Box: 6, Folder: 29
Identifier: id174206
Scope and Contents
"I am going to Baltimore...and I shall see Mr. William Hoge! Don't you wish you were going? What shall I tell him for you?"
Dates:
1854 October 6
St. George T. Coalter, Boswell, to Mrs. Elizabeth T. Bryan, 1854 October 23
File — Box: 6, Folder: 30
Identifier: id174211
Scope and Contents
St. George is now in school at Staunton.
Dates:
1854 October 23
A. Steven, Jr., Charlottesville, to Colonel Harrison Tomlin, 1855 January 12
File — Box: 6, Folder: 31
Identifier: id174212
Scope and Contents
Construction work to be done at the University of Virginia.
Dates:
1855 January 12
Rev. M. D. Hoge to Frances Bland Coalter, 1855 January 28
File — Box: 6, Folder: 32
Identifier: id174214
Scope and Contents
"I hope that it will not be long before I have the pleasure of seeing you, my dear and constantly remembered friend."
Dates:
1855 January 28
Letters from Mattie Morton, Richmond, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1855 February-September
File — Box: 6, Folder: 33
Identifier: id174216
Scope and Contents
From the Sub-Series:
Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...
Dates:
1855 February-September
Mrs. Elizabeth T. Bryan, Eagle Point, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1855 February 12
File — Box: 6, Folder: 34
Identifier: id174217
Scope and Contents
From the Sub-Series:
Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...
Dates:
1855 February 12
Letters from Mrs. B.C. Lacy, Ellwood, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1855 February-December
File — Box: 6, Folder: 35
Identifier: id174219
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents "I have heard several times of your engagement to Thomas--who has made himself very scarce."
Dates:
1855 February-December
Letters from Betty Braxton, Oak Springs, to Frances Bland Coalter, circa 1855 April
File — Box: 6, Folder: 36
Identifier: id174222
Scope and Contents
From the Sub-Series:
Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...
Dates:
circa 1855 April
Sue Taliaferro, Belle Ville, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1855 May 28
File — Box: 6, Folder: 37
Identifier: id174224
Scope and Contents
Accepts invitation to the marriage of Virginia, younger sister of Fanny Coalter.
Dates:
1855 May 28
Sallie Gaines, Powhite, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1855 June 25
File — Box: 6, Folder: 38
Identifier: id174226
Scope and Contents
From the Sub-Series:
Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...
Dates:
1855 June 25
W. Hall to Frances Bland Coalter, 1855 June 28
File — Box: 6, Folder: 39
Identifier: id174228
Scope and Contents
From the Sub-Series:
Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...
Dates:
1855 June 28
Mrs. B.C. Lacy, Eliwood, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1855 July 29
File — Box: 6, Folder: 40
Identifier: id174230
Scope and Contents
From the Sub-Series:
Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...
Dates:
1855 July 29
Frances Bland Coalter, Salt Sulphur Springs, to Mrs. Elizabeth T. Bryan, 1855 September 1
File — Box: 6, Folder: 41
Identifier: id174234
Scope and Contents
From the Sub-Series:
Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...
Dates:
1855 September 1
Letters from Betty Braxton, Chericoke, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1855 November-December
File — Box: 6, Folder: 42
Identifier: id174236
Scope and Contents
Covers lacking.
Dates:
1855 November-December
Henry T. Coalter, Gloucester Court House, to Mrs. Elizabeth T. Bryan, 1855 November 21
File — Box: 6, Folder: 43
Identifier: id174237
Scope and Contents
Now a practicing lawyer, he writes to his aunt on business.
Dates:
1855 November 21
Lucy T. Braxton, Philadelphia, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1855 December 10
File — Box: 6, Folder: 44
Identifier: id174239
Scope and Contents
From the Sub-Series:
Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...
Dates:
1855 December 10
Letters from Fanny C. Braxton, Richmond, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1855 December
File — Box: 6, Folder: 45
Identifier: id174242
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents To her cousin regarding "Mr. President" and "The Vice." (This appears to refer to the Brown brothers, John Thompson and Henry Peronneau. Frances Bland Coalter was to marry the latter.)
Dates:
1855 December
John Thompson Brown to Frances Bland Coalter, circa 1855
File — Box: 6, Folder: 46
Identifier: id174244
Scope and Contents
"I wish you to be very particular in your conversations with Peronneau not to let him have the least idea of the tenor of my remarks to you yesterday and at the same time manage to convince him that I am not in love with you, as I am afraid such is his present opinion."
Dates:
circa 1855
Letters from Sue Carter, Pampatike, to Frances Bland Coalter, circa 1855
File — Box: 6, Folder: 47
Identifier: id174246
Scope and Contents
From the Sub-Series:
Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...
Dates:
circa 1855
H. B. Tomlin, Richmond, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1856 January 9
File — Box: 6, Folder: 48
Identifier: id174248
Scope and Contents
From the Sub-Series:
Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...
Dates:
1856 January 9
Mrs. Elizabeth Bryan, Eagle Point, to Mrs. St. George Coalter, 1856 February 15
File — Box: 6, Folder: 49
Identifier: id174250
Scope and Contents
Trouble in: finding a teacher for her children; "the Roanoke business"--(evidently a reference to the still unsettled will of John Randolph of Roanoke.)
Dates:
1856 February 15
Letters from Mrs. B. C. Lacy, Chatham, to Frances Bland Coalter, 1856 February-December
File — Box: 6, Folder: 50
Identifier: id174252
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Covers lacking. Concerned about the health of Fanny's mother, has a horror of those "distracting springs" for invalids.
Dates:
1856 February-December