Skip to main content

Box 2

 Container

Contains 70 Results:

John Naylor to John Coalter, 1807 March 5

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 59
Identifier: id173304
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents John Naylor married to Jane, sister of John Coalter.

Dates: 1807 March 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

L. Bouye, Sweet Springs, to Mrs. Frances Bland Tucker Coalter, 1807 May

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 60
Identifier: id173306
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: The subseries covers the correspondence of John Coalter during his second marriage to Margaret Davenport, and in the early years of his third marriage, to Frances Bland Tucker. Correspondence from St. George Tucker, Mrs. Lelia Tucker, Mrs. Judith Randolph, and others is included. The material traces the legal career of John Coalter from 10 April 1795, when St. George Tucker recommended him for the position of Clerk of the Court in Staunton, through the period of his second and third...
Dates: 1807 May
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

St. George Tucker, Richmond, to John Coalter, 1807 October 12

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 61
Identifier: id173308
Scope and Contents

Payment of $1,230 on bank shares.

Dates: 1807 October 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Letters from St. George Tucker, Williamsburg, Warminster and Richmond, to John Coalter, 1808 January-December

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 62
Identifier: id173309
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents The marriage of Beverley Tucker to Mary Coalter.

Dates: 1808 January-December
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Letters from Mrs. Judith Randolph, Bizarre, to Mrs. Frances Bland Tucker Coalter, 1808 February-December

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 63
Identifier: id173310
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Small pox.

Dates: 1808 February-December
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Letters from St. George Tucker and Mrs. Tucker, Williamsburg and Richmond, to Mrs. Frances Bland Tucker Coalter, 1808 February-December

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 64
Identifier: id173311
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: The subseries covers the correspondence of John Coalter during his second marriage to Margaret Davenport, and in the early years of his third marriage, to Frances Bland Tucker. Correspondence from St. George Tucker, Mrs. Lelia Tucker, Mrs. Judith Randolph, and others is included. The material traces the legal career of John Coalter from 10 April 1795, when St. George Tucker recommended him for the position of Clerk of the Court in Staunton, through the period of his second and third...
Dates: 1808 February-December
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Letters from Polly Coalter, Orangeburg, South Carolina, to Mrs. Frances Bland Tucker Coalter, 1808 February-March

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 65
Identifier: id173312
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Difficulties in South Carolina caused by the embargo.

Dates: 1808 February-March
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

S. P. Dandridge, Martinsburg, to Mrs. Frances Bland Tucker Coalter, 1808 February 13

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 66
Identifier: id173313
Scope and Contents

His wife Evelina has given birth to a son.

Dates: 1808 February 13
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Elizabeth Carmichael, Orangeburg, South Carolina, to Anne Catherine Coalter, 1808 March 7

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 67
Identifier: id173314
Scope and Contents

Anne Catherine Coalter was visiting the Coalters at Elm Grove.

Dates: 1808 March 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Mrs. Frances Bland Tucker Coalter, Warm Springs, to Mrs. Davenport, circa 1808 August

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 68
Identifier: id173315
Scope and Contents

Mention of her young daughters, Fancilea (Francis Lelia) and Lizba (Elizabeth Tucker Coalter).

Dates: circa 1808 August
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Letters from Mrs. Frances Bland Tucker Coalter, Warm Springs, to John Coalter, 1808 September

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 69
Identifier: id173316
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: The subseries covers the correspondence of John Coalter during his second marriage to Margaret Davenport, and in the early years of his third marriage, to Frances Bland Tucker. Correspondence from St. George Tucker, Mrs. Lelia Tucker, Mrs. Judith Randolph, and others is included. The material traces the legal career of John Coalter from 10 April 1795, when St. George Tucker recommended him for the position of Clerk of the Court in Staunton, through the period of his second and third...
Dates: 1808 September
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Letters from Maria E. and Anne Catherine Coalter, Elm Grove, to Mrs. Frances Bland Tucker Coalter, 1808 October-December

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 70
Identifier: id173318
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Frances Bland Tucker Coalter spent every summer at the medicinal springs for her health.

Dates: 1808 October-December
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

St. George Tucker, Charlottesville, to John Tyler and others, 1793 April 10

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 1
Identifier: id172695
Scope and Contents

Recommends John Coalter as Clerk of the Staunton Court.

Dates: 1793 April 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

John Coalter, Charlottesville, to Peggy (Margaret) Davenport, in Williamsburg, 1793 April 17

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 2
Identifier: id172696
Scope and Contents

"Yes, Peggy, my Maria is gone! The worst of evils has befallen your friend."

Dates: 1793 April 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

R. Whiting, New York, to John Coalter, 1793 November 1

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 3
Identifier: id172698
Scope and Contents

Requests payment of a debt.

Dates: 1793 November 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

James Coalter, Orangeburg, South Carolina, to John Coalter, 1793 December 8

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 4
Identifier: id172699
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: The subseries covers the correspondence of John Coalter during his second marriage to Margaret Davenport, and in the early years of his third marriage, to Frances Bland Tucker. Correspondence from St. George Tucker, Mrs. Lelia Tucker, Mrs. Judith Randolph, and others is included. The material traces the legal career of John Coalter from 10 April 1795, when St. George Tucker recommended him for the position of Clerk of the Court in Staunton, through the period of his second and third...
Dates: 1793 December 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

William Munford, to John Coalter, 1793 December 13

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 5
Identifier: id172701
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents William Munford has returned to the College of William and Mary, and is "in constant attendance on Mr. (St. George) Tucker...Mrs. Tucker has lately been so unfortunate as to lose a newborn child."

Dates: 1793 December 13
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Letters between Jenny Stuart and John Coalter, 1794 January-June

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 6
Identifier: id172702
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Covers lacking. Accuses John Coalter of "making a stroke at her character"; makes insulting statements regarding John Coalter's late wife. John Coalter responds by threatening to take Jenny Stuart into court, after which she offers to return John Coalter's letter.

Dates: 1794 January-June
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

James Coalter, Charlestown, South Carolina, to John Coalter, 1794 February 1

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 7
Identifier: id172703
Scope and Contents

James Coalter is a merchant, dealing largely in indigo.

Dates: 1794 February 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

William Munford, Williamsburg, to John Coalter, 1794 April 20

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 8
Identifier: id172704
Scope and Contents

Recounts a voyage to Hampton Roads to view the French Fleet, consisting of 150 ships, including three men of war, five or six frigates, and armed merchantmen laden with flour. Party spirit in Norfolk; Aristocrats more prominent; acrimony inflamed by the presence of the French fleet and a British frigate. William Munford is ready to apply for his law license.

Dates: 1794 April 20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Margaret Davenport to F. Currie, 1794 May 25

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 9
Identifier: id172706
Scope and Contents

"There can be but one in the world"; for her, but he is "out of her reach." At a recent dinner the first toast by Governor Lee was to her.

Dates: 1794 May 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

F. H. Curry, North of Louisa, to Mrs. Margaret Davenport Coalter, Williamsburg, 1795 February 15

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 10
Identifier: id172707
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Congratulations on the occasion of her marriage to John Coalter.

Dates: 1795 February 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Letters from John Coalter, Staunton, to Mrs. Coalter, 1795 February-May

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 11
Identifier: id172709
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents The difficulty of finding passage for Mrs. Coalter and her mother from Williamsburg to Staunton. John Coalter is finally able to borrow a phaeton which he has overhauled and supplied with an umbrella. Advice regarding divorce of F.

Dates: 1795 February-May
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

D. Holmes, Harrisburg, to John Coalter, 1795 May 2

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 12
Identifier: id172710
Scope and Contents

Concerning a mare to be serviced.

Dates: 1795 May 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter

Mrs. Coalter, Williamsburg to John Coalter, 1795 May 10

 File — Box: 2, Folder: 13
Identifier: id172711
Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: The subseries covers the correspondence of John Coalter during his second marriage to Margaret Davenport, and in the early years of his third marriage, to Frances Bland Tucker. Correspondence from St. George Tucker, Mrs. Lelia Tucker, Mrs. Judith Randolph, and others is included. The material traces the legal career of John Coalter from 10 April 1795, when St. George Tucker recommended him for the position of Clerk of the Court in Staunton, through the period of his second and third...
Dates: 1795 May 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I) / GROUP A:  Coalter and Tucker Papers / John Coalter / Correspondence of John Coalter