Box 3
Container
Contains 43 Results:
Two signed documents concerning the examination of Rebecca Worsley and Tabitha Parish, 1812 April 13
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 3
Identifier: id164474
Scope and Contents
A Court order dated April 13, 1812, from the General Court of Virginia to the Justices of the Peace in Kentucky, ordering examination of Rebecca Worsley and Tabitha Parish. Another is a certificate of examination, April 13, 1812.
Dates:
1812 April 13
Signed document of Charles Scott, Governor of Kentucky, stating that Price Curd and Leonard Young were, at the time of examination, Justices of Fayette County, Kentucky, 1812 April 28
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 3
Identifier: id164475
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...
Dates:
1812 April 28
Bill of Exchange for $700 from William W. Worsley, Lexington, Kentucky, to Peter Crutchfield, Richmond, Virginia, 1812 June 5
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 3
Identifier: id164476
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...
Dates:
1812 June 5
Robert Saunders and Robert Nelson, Commissioners in 2 suits in Chancery District Court of Staunton, Virginia, 1814 May 4
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 3
Identifier: id164477
Scope and Contents
The first suit was between Samuel W. Barrett and William Hylton, Senior, William Hylton, Junior, Mehitable Campbell, George Lawrence, Luke Tiernon; and the second was between Daniel L. Hylton, and William Foushee and Samuel W. Barrett, William Hylton senior and Miles King, to William Foushee, Richmond, Virginia. Deed to land and mill in Warwick County, Virginia, called "Rich-Neck Estate" for $15,000.00, with summary of payments and endorsements in Williamsburg and Warwick County courts.
Dates:
1814 May 4
James and Ann Maria Taylor to Peter V. Daniel and James Rawlings, 1817 May 13
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 3
Identifier: id164478
Scope and Contents
Mortgage to part of Lot 7 in Petersburg, Virginia, with endorsements in courts in Richmond and Petersburg, Virginia.
Dates:
1817 May 13
William Watts Gwathmay, acting through James Temple Doswell to James D. Morris, 1842 December 31
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 3
Identifier: id164479
Scope and Contents
Deed to land in Galveston County, Republic of Texas, with endorsements by Louisiana and Texas courts.
Dates:
1842 December 31
George Washington, Camp at Cambridge, Massachusetts, to Richard Henry Lee, 1775 August 29
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164483
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...
Dates:
1775 August 29
Benjamin Franklin, London, England, to Humphry Marshall, West Bradford, Chester County, 1771 April 22
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164484
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...
Dates:
1771 April 22
Theodore D. Woolsey, President, Yale College, New Haven, Connecticut, to (?), 1854 December 20
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164485
Scope and Contents
Notice that Luckett "of the Freshman Class" is dismissed honorably and without censure "at his Father's Request."
Dates:
1854 December 20
George Minor, Commander in charge, Office of Ordinance & Head quarters, Richmond, Virginia, to Frank Minor, Exchange Hotel, Richmond, Virginia, 1861 May 27
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164486
Scope and Contents
Sends description of percussion caps for small arms and has sent him fuses and caps.
Dates:
1861 May 27
(?), Acting Secretary, Department of the Interior, Washington, D.C., to Andrew G. Chapman, La Plata, Maryland, 1883 May 23
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164487
Scope and Contents
Reports that none of the documents on North American Ethnology, which he requested from the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives, can be supplied by the Department of the Interior.
Dates:
1883 May 23
A Latin Primer, 1889
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164488
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...
Dates:
1889
2-cent stamps honoring the Sesquicentennial Exposition, 1926
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164489
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...
Dates:
1926
Menu/Program of the Celebration of the 200th Anniversary of the birth of George Washington, 1932
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164490
Scope and Contents
Sponsored by George Washington Bi-Centennial of Baltimore.
Dates:
1932
Various clipped autographs, undated
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164491
Scope and Contents
Clipped autographs include the following: J. R. Barret Noble S. Braden Benjamin S. Ewell James B. Fever(?) D. Funsten John Maclean T. F. Mayard William J. Robertston J. R. Rucker D. L. Swain Dawson S. Walker
Dates:
undated
Carte de visite of Edwin Booth, undated
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164495
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...
Dates:
undated
Carte de visite of a cartoon entitled "The Great Matrimonial Admonisher and Pacificator", Undated
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164496
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...
Dates:
Undated
Office in Clark County, Virginia, where George Washington stayed when surveying for Lord Fairfax, 1922 August
Item — Box: 3, Folder: 4
Identifier: id164497
Scope and Contents
Black and white photographic print.
Dates:
1922 August