Scope and Contents

Discusses his family, especially Peter Grayson Washington and Quinton Washington; market has a good supply of fruits and vegetables; suggests newspapers for ads for the Medical College of Virginia.

Scope and Contents

Cannot lecture before the Athenaeum at the time suggested, because Bishop Johns will be away, so he must stay to attend the religious services at the College of William and Mary, and officiate at the church in town (Bruton Parish Church); would be able to lecture on Mental Philosophy in March.

Scope and Contents

Form letter informing Maupin of the awarding of an Exhibitor's Medal for his exhibit of Minerals at the 1851 Exhibition of the Works of all Nations in London; also signed by Peter Force.

Scope and Contents

Written in German.

Scope and Contents

Summary of Military Warrants issued to Lund Washington in 1838.

Scope and Contents

Discusses a resolution of the Faculty of the University in light of conversations between them during the disturbances in May; demands that he have the resolution rescinded.

Scope and Contents

Encloses descriptions of 17 men who deserted "last night," and asks that the list be forwarded to Lt. (?) Maupin, the recruiting officer at Raleigh, North Carolina; also asks for cartridges because he feels it will help morale if the guard has loaded arms. This letter was included with the letter listed below; T. M. R. Talcott, Head Quarters, 1st Engineers Regiment, January 21, 1864.

Scope and Contents

Ordering Lt. (?) Maupin to take steps to notify the proper officers about the deserters. This letter was included within the above letter; Peyton Randolph, Captain Commanding, Head Quarters, Camp (sic) Fort Gilmer, Virginia, to Lieutenant Colonel T. M. R. Talcott, Commanding 1st Engineer Regiment, January 21, 1864.

Scope and Contents

Thanks his brother for the overcoat; regiment has been guarding Yankee prisoners at Belle Isle, and will be detailed to escort the prisoners to Georgia; is tired of being near Richmond; needs shoes; saw Captain E[?] Grayson, whose son Willie is going to school "in town"; asks for a bottle of [?] for Captain S. T. S.[?].

Scope and Contents

Notification that much of his cotton has been stolen "since the occupation of this country by the Federal troops"; asks him to send someone to see the situation.

Scope and Contents

Introduces Richard W. Walker, who is visiting Virginia to find schools for his son and daughter; asks for the same attention to Walker's son as was shown his son, Charles.

Scope and Contents Mentions his courses in classical studies; discusses Mr. Schele's[?] proposal that C. M. teach languages; refers to many (European?) and American professors; describes the organization of Prussian universities; mentions other University of Virginia students studying in Berlin, including Garnett, Hill, and Gallaher; American dislike of George Bancroft in Berlin; reaction to a divorce case in England involving the Prince of Wales (later Edward VII); arrival of "the Siamese twins"; discusses...

Scope and Contents

Describes a visit from Mr. John Barbee Minor, who wants detailed information on father's (Socrates Maupin) life; describes her cold; sends best wishes to other relatives.

Scope and Contents

The letters concern Lund Washington, his papers and his family Also includes 1 Autograph Letter Signed on the same subject from Worthington C. Ford, Brooklyn, New York, to Chapman Maupin, no place, 4 October 1891, enclosing a chart of the descendants of Lawrence Washington.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...

Scope and Contents

Deed to parcel of land, part of that taken up by their father, John Wahhis.

Scope and Contents

Appointment to survey lands in western Virginia, and agreement to give him a portion of those lands.

Scope and Contents

Agreement to sell land "on the street leading by the Swan tavern (commonly called the main street on Shockoe Hill, Richmond, Virginia), purchased from Dr. Philip Turpin with receipt for £l8O of the £200 purchase price. Witnessed by William Price, William] West, and Charles Blagrove.

Scope and Contents

Deed to parcel of land on main street on Shockoe Hill, Richmond, Virginia, "opposite the ... house of Daniel Call"; sold for £200 (Virginia money); witnesses: John S. Ellis, Robert Priddy, Morris Cosby, and John Allan; land is further described in relationship to Smith's "yellow house," the Swan tavern, "Harris the coach-maker's shop," and Alexander McRae's "carriage house."

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...

Scope and Contents

This deed formerly belonged to Samuel Smith, late husband of Tabitha Smith Parish; lot further described in relationship to property of Alexander McRae, and Lewis M. Rivelain (sic) Rivalain.