Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Helen's mother, Lettie, as well as Helen's friend, Virginia. There are letters addressed to Charlie and to Lettie. The content includes discussions of Helen finishing school and attending college, of various colds going around, news of Irma Jean, Helen’s grandmother, their love of singing, and Charlie's visit to the dentist.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Helen’s grandmother, with one addressed to Helen’s mother, Lettie. The content covers family news and minor details of every day life.

Scope and Contents

Contains a letter from Helen's friend, Marian, in addition to letters from Helen's immediate family members. The letter from Mary Ellen Cornwell asks if Charles still likes his training.

Scope and Contents

Contains the only letter in this collection written by Charlie, December 31, 1942, Lubbock Army Flying School, to Helen. Charlie refers to Helen as his “darling Honan”. He describes the details of his training. The content of letters from other friends and family spans from baking cookies for soldiers to inquiriing about Charlie's whereabouts.

Scope and Contents

Contains correspondence from Helen's mother, father, and sister, Jean.

Scope and Contents Contains a letter to Charles from a friend, Richard K. Turney. In it, Dick describes how he was drafted as a flight instructor P-47’s and P-40’s, rather than seeing combat as he wishes. Letterhead is Dale Mabry Field, Tallahassee, Florida. In another letter, Mrs. Rodgers writes an impassioned letter to Charles regarding the hardships of soldier’s wives and young families. She writes of their upcoming marriage. She describes Helen as a frail little girl who will need every...

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Helen's mother, Lettie, and her sister, Jean. The letters are now addressed to both Helen and Charles. In them, the family talks of daily life. Lettie remarks that Helen was cheated out of a lot by having such a "hurrying up affair" in regards to their wedding. Jeanie sends affectionate, teasing letters and writes that she has been flying upside down with Charles.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Helen’s parents and grandmother, as well as the receipt from Kruckemeyer and Cohn for Helen’s wedding ring.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Helen’s mother, father, and sister, Jean. Letters are typically addressed to both Honan and Charles. One letter iIncludes an article from an unknown newspaper titled "Big Transport Banked and Paratrooper Fell Out Door".

Scope and Contents

Contents consist mostly of letters from Helen's mother, in which she passes along local news. haring small local news.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Helen's mother discussing local weddings, Dad’s schedule, and vegetables from their Victory garden. Includes Mother’s recipes for griddle cakes, pancakes, tomato sauce as well as instructions for making spaghetti. Includes a letter from Helen’s grandmother and grandfather. Jean urges Helen to be careful while Charles is gone and not let anyone know she’s alone.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from family and friends, including Anne Benninghof. Helen's family shares news of daily activities and that her father is serving on the conductor’s board and off to Chicago often. The content mentions family members dealing with illnesses. One letter includes receipts from various shops. A letter from Lettie wishes Helen could have come during Charles’ visit. It ends with a red lipsticked kiss, but it is unclear whether it is from Lettie or Jean.

Scope and Contents

Lettie continues to share the reaction of friends to Helen's wedding at the end of May. Includes a lipsticked kiss at the closing of a letter, possibly from Jeanie.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Helen's family, empty envelopes, and a check stub.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Jean and Lettie about pickling, blackberries, late wedding gifts still arriving, and comments on Helen’s grandmother being weak. An article from an unknown newspaper, "Plane Tows Glider With Ton Cargo Across Atlantic" is included.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Helen’s mother Lettie, her sister Jean, and various friends, sharing news of their personal lives.

Scope and Contents

Contains lLetters from Helen’s family and A.M. Hubbard.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Aunt Hazel and family, Helen’s grandmother, and Mother, Dad, and Jean.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Dad, as well as letters from Lettie concerning sewing Helen's dresses, asking about her permanent, and the milk shortage.

Scope and Contents

Contains a typed letter from Uncle Herschel and Aunt Hazel discussing the effect of war on a young soldier in the local hospital and remarks how Helen loves to fly. Includes affectionate letters from Jean, Helen’s mother, and Irma.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Dad, Mother, and Jean. Includes a postcard from Helen’s grandmother and a letter from Mrs. Becker.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Helen’s Mother and Jean as well as a mailing from the Book-of-the-Month-Club about Helen’s subscription. Jean was staying with Helen during this time, so letters from their parents address both of the girls. Also included is a letter from Helen’s friend Betty.

Scope and Contents

Contains letters from Helen’s friend Virginia, Helen’s Aunt Mary, Mrs. John G. Davidson, and a humorous letter from her sister, Jean.

Scope and Contents

Undated letters from various family and friends, as well as birthday cards.