Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Box Small Collections Box 92

 Container

Contains 33 Collections and/or Records:

Papers, 1866-1887

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 92, Folder: 1
Identifier: id4381
Scope and Contents 12 August 1866. Fitzhugh Lee, Richland Mill, Stafford County Virginia, to Colonel M. M. Kimmel, Mexico. Discusses farming, politics, news of former Confederate officers. 1 Oct. 1867. Fitzhugh Lee, Garrisonville Post Office, Stafford County, Virginia, to Colonel M. M. Kimmel, Concerns Colonel Kimmel's fighting in Mexico, farming, and lady friends. 16 Nov. 1869. Fitzhugh Lee, Richland Mill, Stafford County, Virginia, to "Miss Maggie," Cryptic letter alluding to an unknown promise and a possible...

Papers

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 92, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents Item 1: Dr. Augustine Smith, Yorktown, Va., to his future wife, Alice G. Page, Rosewell, July 2, 1791 Letter announces his love for Alice and his desire to marry her. He expresses concern that Alice might be unaware of his affections for her.  He further espresses his concern over his present state of finances but notes that his profession as a doctor will provide a lifestyle for her of comfort and elegance.Item 2: Dr. Augustine Smith, Yorktown, Va., to his future wife, Alice G....

Collection, 1825-1896

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 92, Folder: 2
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of legal papers chiefly of Wythe and Warwick counties, Virginia. Includes papers of George Blow, Jr.; letters, 1842-1853, concerning the legal practice of Peter F. Schlecker; resolutions, 1860 July 28, passed by the Board of Trade of Norfolk, Virginia; and deed, 1831, to land in Wythe County, Virginia from Joseph F. White to Elisha D. Payne. Some legal documents concern grain mills.

Collection, 1825-1896

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 92, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Collection of legal papers chiefly of Wythe and Warwick counties, Virginia. Includes papers of George Blow, Jr.; letters, 1842-1853, concerning the legal practice of Peter F. Schlecker; resolutions, 1860 July 28, passed by the Board of Trade of Norfolk, Virginia; and deed, 1831, to land in Wythe County, Virginia from Joseph F. White to Elisha D. Payne. Some legal documents concern grain mills.

Roll of "Destitute Contrabands" of Williamsburg, Va., including 37 names., 1863-1864

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 92, Folder: 1
Identifier: id143148
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Manuscripts purchased in memory of Henry C. Hoar, a volunteer in the Manuscripts Department of Swem Library, College of William and Mary from 1966 to 1976. Includes letters, 1861, written to Jane Margaret (Winfree) Brown by Catherine Virginia Winfree concerning the coming of the Civil War and by Virginia A. Brown Winfree concerning the evacuation of Hampton which bears letter of C. V. Winfree concerning the vulnerability of the Peninsula; letters, 1861-1863, from Civil War soldiers such as John...

List of servants at the Eastern Lunatic Asylum, 1864 August 1

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 92, Folder: 1
Identifier: id143149
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Manuscripts purchased in memory of Henry C. Hoar, a volunteer in the Manuscripts Department of Swem Library, College of William and Mary from 1966 to 1976. Includes letters, 1861, written to Jane Margaret (Winfree) Brown by Catherine Virginia Winfree concerning the coming of the Civil War and by Virginia A. Brown Winfree concerning the evacuation of Hampton which bears letter of C. V. Winfree concerning the vulnerability of the Peninsula; letters, 1861-1863, from Civil War soldiers such as John...

Henry C. Hoar, Photograph, Undated

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 92, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Manuscripts purchased in memory of Henry C. Hoar, a volunteer in the Manuscripts Department of Swem Library, College of William and Mary from 1966 to 1976. Includes letters, 1861, written to Jane Margaret (Winfree) Brown by Catherine Virginia Winfree concerning the coming of the Civil War and by Virginia A. Brown Winfree concerning the evacuation of Hampton which bears letter of C. V. Winfree concerning the vulnerability of the Peninsula; letters, 1861-1863, from Civil War soldiers such as John...

Letter from William Henry Harrison, Headquarters, Upper Sandusky, Ohio, to Gov. (Return Jonathan) Meigs, Jr., Chillicothe, Ohio, 1812 December 24

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 92, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents Concerning Lieutenant Colonel Campbell and an expedition against Tecumsah and 600 warriors.

Letter from C.H. Phinizny, Assistant Adjutant General, Headquarters, Cummings Brigade, to Brigadier General Alexander Welch Reynolds, 1864 May 9

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 92, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents Concerning the position of the pickets of General Cumming's regiment.

Report from Hm. Pollard, Headquarters, Stevenson's, to Colonel Trigg, 1864 June 13

 File — Box: Small Collections Box 92, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents He reports that a captain, lieutenant, and twenty men of the 54th Virginia (Infantry?) abandoned their picket. He orders the recipient to immediately send out enough men to fill the gap, and to keep the news as quiet as possible.