Skip to main content

Box 2

 Container

Contains 17 Results:

Johnston (J. E.), at Richmond, to Col. Benjamin S. Ewell, 1868 October 12

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 11, Object: 11
Identifier: id180663
Scope and Contents

Appreciates E’s offer to give E’s place [President of College] to J., who cannot accept. J. asked to accept presidency of Express Company being formed. J. may visit Williamsburg in 4 or 5 weeks.

Dates: 1868 October 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, International-Knowlton, M.

Ewell (Elizabeth S.) to her mother, Mrs. Elizabeth Ewell, at Buckland, Prince William County, Virginia Postmarked Georgetown, D.C., undated

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 1, Object: 11
Identifier: id179226
Scope and Contents

Mrs. Elizabeth Ewell to Benjamin S. Ewell. (On same sheet.)

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Ewell, Elizabeth S.

Ewell (Jesse) to Thomas Ewell, at George Town, District of Columbia, undated

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 2, Object: 11
Identifier: id179306
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Ewell, J.-Ewell, P.

Ewell (Rebecca L.) to B. S. Ewell, at Williamsburg, Virginia. Postmarked Buckland, Virginia, 1851 February 17

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 3, Object: 11
Identifier: id179337
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1851 February 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Ewell, Rebecca L.-Ewell, Richard S.

Ewell (Thomas), at Nashville, Tennessee, to his brother, Benjamin S. Ewell, at Greenwich, Prince William County, Virginia, 1839 September 12

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 4, Object: 11
Identifier: cuid207
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1839 September 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Ewell, Thomas

Ewell (Thomas), at Jackson, Tennessee, to Mrs. Elizabeth Ewell, at Greenwich, Prince William County, Virginia, 1842 November 27

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 5, Object: 11
Identifier: id179382
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1842 November 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Ewell, T.-Ewell, W.

Gantt (Ann) to Benjamin S. Ewell, at West Point, New York. Postmarked Bladensburgh, Maryland, 1831 October 23

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 6, Object: 11
Identifier: id179428
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1831 October 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Flourney, R.-Gantt, T.

Gantt (Thomas T.), at St. Louis, to Elizabeth S. Ewell, at Georgetown, D.C., 1884 February 4

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 7, Object: 11
Identifier: id179469
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1884 February 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Gantt, Thomas T.

Grigsby (Hugh Blair), at Edgehill, to Col. Benjamin S. Ewell, at Williamsburg, Virginia (In William and Mary Papers.), 1872 June 2

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 8, Object: 11
Identifier: id179488
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1872 June 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Gantt, M.-Gwynn, W.

Heth (Harry), acting Marshal-in-chief, Inauguration of the Jackson Statue, at Richmond, Virginia, to Col. Benjamin S. Ewell, at Williamsburg, Virginia, 1875 October 22, 1875 October 4

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 9, Object: 11
Identifier: id179514
Scope and Contents

A letter from James L. Kemper, Governor of Virginia, at Richmond, to Harry Heth is on this same sheet.

Dates: 1875 October 22; 1875 October 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Hall, J.-Hoge, Mary S.

Hoge (Susan), at Richmond, to Elizabeth Ewell, daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, Undated

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 10, Object: 11
Identifier: id179550
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: Undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Hoge, Moses-Hutchison, W.

Lowndes (F.), at Georgetown, to Rebecca Ewell, 1866 February 20

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 12, Object: 11
Identifier: id180689
Scope and Contents

L. will give R. grape and current cuttings. Some of the Jefferson relations including Fanny Manning have been staying with Patsy.

Dates: 1866 February 20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Lamb, W.-McIlvain, W.

Mitchell (G.), at Annapolis, Maryland, to Doctor Thomas Ewell, at Georgetown, D.C., 1806 November 11

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 13, Object: 11
Identifier: id180871
Scope and Contents

The books Ewell sent have arrived and will be given to the subscribers.

Dates: 1806 November 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, McLane, R.-Munford, S.

Peyton (R. H.) to B. S. Ewell, at West Point, New York. Postmarked Augusta, Georgia, Undated

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 11
Identifier: id180915
Scope and Contents

Letter dated simply March 24. Has a whist club; hopes to be able to pay him $50 soon.

Dates: Undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Saunders (Page), at Williamsburg, Virginia, to Elizabeth S. [L?] Scott, at Prince Edward Court House, Virginia, [1867 December 14?]

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 15, Object: 11
Identifier: id180971
Scope and Contents

Asks about her recent marriage; will miss her.

Dates: [1867 December 14?]
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, S.-Saunders, R.

Scott (Elizabeth L.), at Williamsburg, Virginia, to the editor of the News Leader, at Richmond, Virginia, 1909 February 5

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 16, Object: 11
Identifier: id180987
Scope and Contents

Comments on Miss Boyson's prize essay on Robert E. Lee; calls for an end to sectional prejudice.

Dates: 1909 February 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Scott, B.-Slye, R.

Stoddert (H.), at St. Louis, to Elizabeth [?], [1865?] April 23

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 17, Object: 11
Identifier: id181144
Scope and Contents

News of the family; tells her to take anything of his that she needs.

Dates: [1865?] April 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Smith, C.-Stoddert, R.