Skip to main content

Box 2

 Container

Contains 37 Results:

Nelson (A. L.), at University of Virginia, to William J. Robertson, at Charlottesville, Virginia, 1854 June 3

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 1
Identifier: id180894
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1854 June 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Nelson (A. L.), at University of Virginia, to the Board of Visitors of the University of Virginia, 1854 June 26

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 2
Identifier: id180895
Scope and Contents

Letter giving his opinion of Benjamin S. Ewell as an instructor.

Dates: 1854 June 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Nelson (A. L.), at Lexington, Virginia, to Col. Benjamin S. Ewell, at Williamsburg, Virginia. Forwarded to Ewell, Virginia, 1894 May 25

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 3
Identifier: id180896
Scope and Contents

Invitation to E. to attend Washington and Lee University graduation in June, to stay with Nelsons. Senator Mills and Hon. John Goode to be speakers.

Dates: 1894 May 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Peachy (Archibald C.), at Williamsburg, Virginia, to Benjamin S. Ewell, 1894 September 17

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 4
Identifier: id180899
Scope and Contents

Peachy sends Ewell’s deed and notes to be signed and notarized. Mrs. Scott [E’s daughter Elizabeth] leaving for St. Louis to stay two or three weeks. Suggests changing name of “Stony Lonesome” to something more cheerful. Dr. Coleman dead of cancer.

Dates: 1894 September 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Peck (William G.), at Columbian College, New York, to B. S. Ewell, 1880 November 1

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 5
Identifier: id180900
Scope and Contents

Has prepared a series of math text books; will have his publishers send copies.

Dates: 1880 November 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Pemberton (J. C.) to to Joseph E. Johnston, 1863 May 12-18

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 6
Identifier: id180903
Scope and Contents

The letterbook copies of seven letters describe dDescribes troop movements around Vicksburg.

Dates: 1863 May 12-18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Pemberton (J. C.) Letterbook, 1863 October 1-December 14

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 7
Identifier: id180905
Scope and Contents

Discusses troop movements and progress of the war.

Dates: 1863 October 1-December 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Perry (Maud Shirley), at Riverside, Connecticut, to [ ? ], 1894 September 4

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 8
Identifier: id180908
Scope and Contents

Is glad they are friends; visited New Orleans and other places.

Dates: 1894 September 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Peyton (R. H.), at Augusta Arsenal, Georgia, to B. S. Ewell, at West Point, New York, 1835 May 3

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 10
Identifier: id180913
Scope and Contents

Discusses the scandal at West Point; lists army transfers; went to a “fish frolic”; saw a phrenologist; is sobering up the troops with punishment.

Dates: 1835 May 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Peyton (R. H.) to B. S. Ewell, at West Point, New York. Postmarked Augusta, Georgia, Undated

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 11
Identifier: id180915
Scope and Contents

Letter dated simply March 24. Has a whist club; hopes to be able to pay him $50 soon.

Dates: Undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Pinkney (E. H.) to Elizabeth S. Ewell, sister of Benjamin S. Ewell, at Georgetown, D.C. Postmarked Bladensburg, Maryland, 1868 February 7

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 12
Identifier: id180918
Scope and Contents

Asks if she will stay in the house; asks if anything has been done about the administration; asks if anything has been done about the Virginia Estate.

Dates: 1868 February 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Pinkney (W.) to Francis Lowndes, 1850 May 1

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 13
Identifier: id180921
Scope and Contents

Informs him of the death of cousin Nannie.

Dates: 1850 May 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Pinkney (W.) to Gen. Benjamin Ewell, 1879 September 22

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 14
Identifier: id180922
Scope and Contents

Sends a poem; hopes the College is doing well.

Dates: 1879 September 22
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Plumer (William S.), at Baltimore, Maryland, to Hon. John Tyler and Robert G. Scott, 1848 April 10

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 15
Identifier: id180923
Scope and Contents

Letter of recommendation for Benjamin S. Ewell.

Dates: 1848 April 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Plumer (William S.), at Philadelphia, to the Visitors of the University of Virginia, 1854 June 15

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 16
Identifier: id180924
Scope and Contents

Recommending Benjamin S. Ewell for a professorship.

Dates: 1854 June 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Prout (A. L.), Rebecca L. Ewell, at Buckland, Prince William County, Virginia, 1847 August 8

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 17
Identifier: id180925
Scope and Contents

Is visiting her aunts and other friends, family, a. And servants have been sick.

Dates: 1847 August 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Prout (A. L.), Rebecca L. Ewell, at Buckland, Prince William County, Virginia, 1847 December 20

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 18
Identifier: id180926
Scope and Contents

Received a letter from Vera Cruz written after the battle;, recounts the description of the battle where Levi was killed; wants Richard to come home.

Dates: 1847 December 20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Prout (A. L.), Rebecca L. Ewell, at Buckland, Prince William County, Virginia, 1847 December 26

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 19
Identifier: id180927
Scope and Contents

Received a letter from Ben which she quotes about Mexico and Levi’s death.

Dates: 1847 December 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Prout (A. L.), at Ewells, James City County, Virginia, to Elizabeth S. Ewell, sister of Benjamin S. Ewell, at Georgetown, D.C., 1874 May 12

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 20
Identifier: id180928
Scope and Contents

Is enjoying her visit; family news; is going to D.C.

Dates: 1874 May 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Prout (Nannie S.), at Washington, to her cousin [ ? ], 1851 March 8

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 21
Identifier: id180930
Scope and Contents

Asks her to meet Aunt Ewell at Buckland; Lizzie is very comfortable in the convent; asks her to send music.

Dates: 1851 March 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Randolph (Theo. F.), at White Sulphur Springs, to Col. Benjamin S. Ewell, 1874 July 23

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 22
Identifier: id180932
Scope and Contents

Thinks farmers from New Jersey will emigrate to Virginia but are worried about malarial fevers; has a ditch making machine.

Dates: 1874 July 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Rasin (R. W.), to Benjamin S. Ewell, 1866 August 23

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 23
Identifier: id180933
Scope and Contents

Gives a description of Toddsberry (sic) in Gloucester County.

Dates: 1866 August 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Reid (Samuel McD.), at Lexington, Virginia, to Benjamin S. Ewell, at Hampden Sydney College, Prince Edward Court House, Virginia, 1846 March 14

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 24
Identifier: id180934
Scope and Contents

Sends copy of order electing him professor of military science.

Dates: 1846 March 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Reynolds (William, Jr.), at Baltimore, to Elizabeth S. Ewell, daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, at Richmond, 1865 June 23

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 25
Identifier: id180935
Scope and Contents

Arrived safely; has warned Miss Rebecca that her hair is ½ inch long; the orchestra was invited to the country.

Dates: 1865 June 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.

Reynolds (William, Jr.), at Baltimore, to Elizabeth S. E. Scott, at Farmville, Prince Edward County, Virginia, 1868 January 2

 Item — Box: 2, Folder: 14, Object: 26
Identifier: id180936
Scope and Contents

Tells her she will not become fossilized now that she is married; went calling New Years Day.

Dates: 1868 January 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 2 / Letters, Nelson, A.-Round, G.