Box 1
Contains 398 Results:
T. McD. Goldsbrough on behalf of Alexandria & Orange Railroad, to B. S. Ewell, 1850 August 3
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Alvord (Benjamin), at Transylvania University, Lexington, Kentucky, to Benjamin S. Ewell, at Prince Edward Court House, Virginia, 1840 December 6
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Anderson (J. R.), at Richmond, to Prof. George E. Dabney, 1854 May 24
Letter recommending Benjamin S. Ewell for a professorship.
Anderson and Doan, at Washington, D.C., to William S. Caruthers, at Olympia, Washington, 1883 December 16
The letter is in reference to the Revolutionary War claim of the Stoddert family.
Armistead (C. P.), Williamsburg, Virginia, to Col. Benjamin S. Ewell, Ewell's Station, James City County, 1889 November 27
Two letters, one including a receipt.
Armstrong (George D.), at Norfolk, Virginia, to the Board of Visitors of the University of Virginia, 1854 June 12
Letter recommending Benjamin S. Ewell for a professorship.
Bailey (J. W.), Professor of Chemistry, United States Military Academy, West Point, New York, to unknown recipient, 1848 April 8
Letter recommending Benjamin S. Ewell for a professorship.
Bailey (J. W.), at West Point, New York, to Benjamin S. Ewell, 1851 September 26
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Bailey (J. W.), at West Point, New York, to George E. Dabney, at Richmond, 1854 June 12
Note: This letter includes a recommendation for Benjamin S. Ewell as a professor, signed by five professors at the United States Military Academy.
Bane (Ragland A.), at Keily Field, Texas, to Mrs. R.W. Crawford, Williamsburg, Virginia, 1918 February 4
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Barlow (R. G.), Williamsburg, Virginia, to Col. Benjamin S. Ewell, 1894 March 21
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Bartlett (William H. C.), at West Point, New York, to Benjamin S. Ewell, at York, Pennsylvania, 1839 January 25
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Beckwith (Anne L.), at Sunny Side, to her cousin, 1857 May 12
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Berkeley (Alice Scott), at Mayland, to Elizabeth Ewell, daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, 1863 July 3
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Brown (Campbell), at Spring Hill, Tennessee, to Elizabeth Ewell Scott, 1891 November 2
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Brown (E.H.), at Richmond, to Elizabeth Ewell, daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, undated
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Brown (Harriot S.) to Elizabeth Ewell, daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell. Lizinka C. Brown to Elizabeth Ewell.(On same sheet.), 1856 September 23
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Brown (Harriot S.), at New York, to Elizabeth Ewell, 1860 July 17
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Brown (Harriot S.), at Charlottesville, Virginia, to Elizabeth Ewell, 1863 October 12
General Ewell brought her here with her mother. The army is at Liberty Hills. Campbell Brown joined them for the celebration. The General says the army may go on to Baltimore. "The Cheryb" in Richmond may have their leg amputated. General Long, Fitzhugh Lee, Col. Chambliss, Major Gresiand, and Mr. Smith are there. Brown writes of family news and boarding house arrangements. She sends congratulations on General Magruder's victory at Sabine Pass.
Brown (Harriot S.), at Charlottesville, Virginia, to Elizabeth Ewell, 1863 October 23
Brown writes that Elizabeth's letter arrive with some grom General Ewell and Campbell. The army is moving soon. She had been at Stony Lonesome and the windows and fences are ruined. She relates news of the capture of nine Yankees by Captain Jones, General Gordon's aide-de-camp at Bristol.
Brown (Harriot S.), at Charlottesville, Virginia, to Elizabeth Ewell, 1863 November 5
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Brown (Harriot S.), at Charlottesville, Virginia, to Elizabeth Ewell, 1863 November 17
She writes more from Brandy Station and is going back to Charlottesville. She notes that General Ewell must get a new artificial leg. The officers' spirits are still high.
Brown (Harriot S.), at Morton Hall, [Prince Edward County, Virginia], to Elizabeth Ewell, 1864 January 19
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Brown (Harriot S.) to Elizabeth Ewell, undated
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.
Brown (Harriot S.), at Kinlock, [Alabama], to Elizabeth Ewell, undated
Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.