Skip to main content

Box 1

 Container

Contains 15 Results:

Dame (W.M.), at Baltimore, Maryland, to Mrs. Turner, 1890 March 24

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 5, Object: 12
Identifier: cuid127
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1890 March 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Crittenden, A.-Dulaney, A.

Ewell (B. S.), at York, Pennsylvania, to Rebecca L. Ewell, at Greenwich, Prince William County, Virginia, 23 April 1837

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 6, Object: 12
Identifier: cuid155
Scope and Contents From the File:

The contents of this folder were previously housed in Box 1, folder 3, "Letters, E".

Dates: 23 April 1837
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Eastman, S.-Ewell, B.

Ewell (Benjamin S.), at Tullahoma, Tennessee, to his daughter, Elizabeth S. Ewell, 1863 April 9

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 7, Object: 12
Identifier: cuid175
Scope and Contents

Benjamin discusses the people and land of east Tennessee, as well as the Lousiana Volunteers. He says the Confederates will win if not greatly outnumbered. Uncle Dick should come; he is needed by the Army.

Dates: 1863 April 9
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Ewell, Benjamin S.

Ewell (Benjamin S.), at Williamsburg, Virginia, to his sister, Elizabeth S. Ewell, at Georgetown, D.C., 1867 December 6

 Item — Box: 1, Object: 8, Object: 12
Identifier: id178990
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1867 December 6
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Ewell, Benjamin S.

Ewell (Benjamin S.), at Williamsburg, Virginia, to Mrs. L. C. Ewell, 14 September 1870

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 9, Object: 12
Identifier: id179019
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 14 September 1870
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Ewell, Benjamin S.

Ewell (Benjamin S.), at Williamsburg, Virginia, to Elizabeth S. Ewell, at Georgetown, D.C., 1874 November 25

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 10, Object: 12
Identifier: id179043
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1874 November 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Ewell, Benjamin S.

Barlow (R. G.), Williamsburg, Virginia, to Col. Benjamin S. Ewell, 1894 March 21

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 1, Object: 12
Identifier: cuid45
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1894 March 21
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Alden, B. - Bonner, W.

Brown (Harriot S.), at Washington, to Elizabeth Ewell, undated

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 3, Object: 12
Identifier: cuid87
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Brown, H.-Burnet, D.

Conway (Richard Moncure), at Conway Farm, near Peake's Cross Roads P.O., Spottsylvania County, Virginia, to Benjamin S. Ewell, at Williamsburg, Virginia, 1883 April 18

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 4, Object: 12
Identifier: cuid107
Scope and Contents

2 copies.

Dates: 1883 April 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Campbell, H.-Crawford, R.

Brown (Campbell), at Spring Hill, Tennessee, to Elizabeth Ewell Scott, 1872 April 10

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 2, Object: 12
Identifier: cuid63
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1872 April 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Bragg, B. - Brown, E.

Ewell (B. S.) to Paul H. Ewell, at Washington, D.C. Postmarked West Point, New York., undated

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 11, Object: 12
Identifier: id179082
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Ewell, Benjamin S.

Ewell (Elizabeth) to Benjamin S. Ewell, at York, Pennsylvania. Postmarked Buckland, Prince William County, 1838 July 24

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 12, Object: 12
Identifier: id179103
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1838 July 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Ewell, C.-Ewell, E.

Ewell (Elizabeth) to Benjamin S. Ewell, at Lexington, Rockbridge County, Virginia. Postmarked Buckland, 1847 September 13

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 13, Object: 12
Identifier: id179127
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1847 September 13
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Ewell, Elizabeth

Ewell (Elizabeth) to William Stoddert, 1858 July 11

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 14, Object: 12
Identifier: id179159
Scope and Contents Mr. Wilmer preached today. His baby son died recently of cholera. Commencement party. Mr. Miner’s fatal bath. Excited meeting of the College Board. Gov. Wise wanted to make all State colleges subsidiary to U.Va., but was defeated, but Law School abolished to everyone’s regret. Ben resigned the Presidency, will take Chair of Mathematics. Changes in faculty. Ben wanted William at the College as assistant in Languages and Chaplain, but turned down by Mr. Smead, the Professor of Language....
Dates: 1858 July 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Ewell, Elizabeth

Ewell (Elizabeth S.) to Benjamin S. Ewell, at Prince Edward Court House, Virginia. Postmarked Buckland, 1842 June

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 15, Object: 12
Identifier: id179196
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1842 June
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 1 / Letters, Ewell, Elizabeth S.