Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection consists of the sworn statement from James Spencer concerning his whereabouts after the Battle of Cross Lanes.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collections consists of a witnessed letter detailing the court martial charges against Private John Gregg [?], Co. E, 31st Regiment.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection consists of a witnessed letter detailing the court martial charges against Private Zachariah Swink, Co. G, 31st Regiment.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection contains the diary of Myrtle M. Weaver Alwine of Greeley, Colorado and Ontario, California. As the diary begins, Myrtle Weaver works at the home of Emmie William Henry Lindley, 539 West A Street, Ontario, California. William Lindley was successful in a variety of businesses, including land development, orange groves and insurance. Miss Weaver has moved to California from Greeley, Colorado about six months prior to the start of her diary in September, 1914. The diary describes...

Scope and Contents

A letter from Sally Park (Turner) Alexander, Park Forest [?] to “Aunt Betsy” [?], Texas. She sSends news of relatives and local happenings to “Aunt Betsy” in Texas. Typescript included.

Scope and Contents

A letter from Norfleet Smith, 1st Lieut., Co “G”, 3rd N.C. Cavalry, Barringer’s Brigade to Major Brien, near Petersburg, Va. He requests 12 hour leave of absence to visit Petersburg to attend to business matters. He is including a note granting permission by order of Lt. Col. Moore, signed by L.S. Warren.

Scope and Contents A letter from Mark T. Alexander, Head Quarters, Rosser’s Cavalry Division, C.S.A. to his mother, Sally Park (Turner) Alexander, no place. He reports his division had gone to Middleburg and has taken 225 prisoners. He discusses the New Creek, W.VA. raid and tells of the controversy over the order to send back all able bodied men. General Thomas L. Rosser has treated Gen. Fitzhugh Lee “very discourteously” by sending back all of his Hd.Qtrs. Rosser is surrounded by men who “would black his...

Scope and Contents

A list of 217 persons enslaved by Mark Alexander Senior of Mecklenburg County, Va., on the day of the surrender of the Army of Virginia by Gen. Robert E. Lee, giving names, ages, sex, and occupations.

Scope and Contents

A letter from Sally Park (Turner) Alexander, no place, to her daughter Nannie, no place. She relates family news. Xerox copy.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection contains the diary of a patient named Binnie in Maine General Hospital in Portland, Maine. She describes her life on the ward, her treatments, and the movements of other patients on and off of her ward.

Scope and Contents

Property listing of lots in Virginia with their improvements, dwelling houses, and enslaved persons.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

A document signed by G. Lamb, Government Agent, Richmond, VA, for the receipt of an enslaved man named Jack, owned by John J. Ferris, to work on fortifications at and near Richmond, by order of Lt. Col. Walter Husted Stevens, Chief Engineer, D.N.V.

Scope and Contents

A letter from St. Leger Landon Carter, no place, to Dr. Beverley R. Wellford, Fredericksburg, Va., in which he sends payment for his account and questions the medical bill. "My stomach has been a pillbox for 20 years, but I have no recollection of taking 300 at a time." He also questions the treatment of slaves: "I find that you gave Pleasants 200 somethings (I wish they had been lashes) and subjected her to the jackscrew..."

Scope and Contents

Cassimere is stationed near Columbia College while on sentry duty. He writes of drilling exercises and personal chores, such as blackening his boots. He shares his New Year Eve thoughts. "Maybe you think that it is strange for me to cook, but just tell the girls not to get married until the soldiers return home."

Scope and Contents

D. Wilkie, Kensington [London], to James Russell, Covent Gardens [London]. Wilkie sends the name of an acquaintance in Dublin, Ireland who will be happy to make his acquaintance when he arrives there; sends best wishes for a 'pleasant journey and a successful campaign in Dublin.' .

Scope and Contents

D. Wilkie, Kensington [London], to James Wilson Croker. Accepts membership in club and returns list as requested.

Scope and Contents

D. Wilkie, Kensington [London], to James Russell, Covent Garden, [London]. Asks Russell to leave out a few wigs to use in his artwork, and also the lute and snuff-box. Will send for them Tuesday, regards for family.

Scope and Contents

D. Wilkie, Kensington [London], to Francis Collins, [London]. Wilkie expects Collins on Tuesday with the frame along with the people to put it up.

Scope and Contents

D. Wilkie, Kensington [London], to unlisted. Mrs. Baillie will let them have the picture; requests proof of your last plate to give her when he sends for the picture.

Scope and Contents

D. Wilkie, Kensington [London], to Mrs. Boys. Submits drawing to Mrs. Boys for her approval and acceptance; apologizes for the delay.

Scope and Contents

D. Wilkie, Kensington [London], to Sir Francis Chantrey. Has been assured that Walter Francis Scott, Duke of Buccleuch, will be in London on the 21st.

Scope and Contents

D. Wilkie, Kensington [London], to Lord John Russell. Regrets that he missed Mrs. Russell's visit to view his art; hopes Lord Russell will stop by to view his art soon at the exhibition.

Scope and Contents

D. Wilkie, Kensington [London], to Francis Graham Moon. Agrees with his letter of the 4th containing his proposed agreement; hopes that no difficulties will arise in settlement; requests his brother have the picture of the Queen's First Council delivered for the 'immediate commencement of work.'

Scope and Contents

D. Wilkie, Kensington [London], to James Hall. Next sitting will be in two days, suggests a meeting time.

Scope and Contents

D. Wilkie, Kensington [London], to Charles R. Leslie. Accepts invitation with his sister to wait upon Mr. and Mrs. Leslie.