Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter written in pencil in widely spaced block type letters by Laura Bridgman to Alexander.   She states that "Mrs. M. requested me to earnestly write you a note" and (Mrs. M., his mother) was "delighted to hear from you." Wishes him well and hopes he will return home soon.  December 1, 1857.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Wedding invitation to the marriage between Mary S. Bowen and Edward Maurice Blackburn at the Baptist Church in Rockland, Virginia.  April 21, 1897.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Wedding invitation to the marriage between Mary S. Bowen and Edward Maurice Blackburn at the Baptist Church in Rockland, Virginia.  April 21, 1897.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Two receipts for George W. Chaney for timber and other items purchased from James W. Smith and L. Thos. Lambeth.  Dates include 1849 and 1857.  Location unknown.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Two receipts for George W. Chaney for timber and other items purchased from James W. Smith and L. Thos. Lambeth.  Dates include 1849 and 1857.  Location unknown.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Two letters to Harvey Chase of C & W Manufacturing [Troy Cotton and Wool Manufactory] in Fall River, Massachusetts from William Cornell of Newport, Rhode Island and Sibley Morrison of Augusta, Georgia about purchasing cotton and prices of cotton. 1832 and 1833.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Two letters to Harvey Chase of C & W Manufacturing [Troy Cotton and Wool Manufactory] in Fall River, Massachusetts from William Cornell of Newport, Rhode Island and Sibley Morrison of Augusta, Georgia about purchasing cotton and prices of cotton. 1832 and 1833.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Handwritten promissory note from J.B. Brock to William B. Massey for $150, dated January 9, 1861.  Reverse side has handwritten note by W. B. Massey stating he paid $19.78 due Brock, dated December 2, 1865.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Handwritten promissory note from J.B. Brock to William B. Massey for $150, dated January 9, 1861.  Reverse side has handwritten note by W. B. Massey stating he paid $19.78 due Brock, dated December 2, 1865.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

November 22, 1878 letter from Annie R. Battle, Whitakers, Washington County, North Carolina, to Mr. Donnan requesting he send her what money he can spare and is sorry he received nothing on the Smith debt.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

November 22, 1878 letter from Annie R. Battle, Whitakers, Washington County, North Carolina, to Mr. Donnan requesting he send her what money he can spare and is sorry he received nothing on the Smith debt.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from John Bullock, Williamsboro, North Carolina to James Anderson, Cottage Home, North Carolina about church strife between the minister and another man (Church of Shiloh and Church of Nutback), the deterioration of the old mansion house, family news and more.  November 12, 1856.

Scope and Contents

John Bullock to James Anderson.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Draft of a letter by John C. Chaney, Richmond College [Va.] to Bro. Sutherland asking for monetary help so he can continue his studies at Richmond College.  February 2, 1867.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Draft of a letter by John C. Chaney, Richmond College [Va.] to Bro. Sutherland asking for monetary help so he can continue his studies at Richmond College.  February 2, 1867.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Receipt for land transfer from John R. Taylor to Carter Braxton, September 23, 1833.  Ledger balance receipt for a day ledger. Obituary of Carter Braxton's son, Phillip Ludwell Braxton, [1835]. Handwritten eulogy entitled "Thoughts on the death of dear Ludwell" written by either Carter Braxton or his wife. Account by Carter Braxton of the sale of Mr. Robertson's estate, Providence, in Middlesex County, Virginia, 1837. Names of purchasers includeThomas Harrow, Benjamin Temple, George D. Pace,...