Scope and contents From the Collection:

Three Prisoner of War letters from World War II written in Italian.  Two letters originated in Algeria (Orano) Camp #134.  The third has an address listed as the Prisoner of War Information Bureau Provost Marshall's Office, POW camp M126, Washington, D.C.  Letters are stamped or have markings indicating Prisoner of War Postage and also show stamps that the letters passed censoring protocol.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Diary kept by Lieutenant Colonel Clifford C. Neilson, Commander of the 4th Battalion, 23rd Infantry, 25th Infantry Division in Vietnam from May to November 1968.  It was written in the evening and recounts actions of the unit but much of the diary is written in shorthand and acronyms as it was created while engaged in heavy combat by the author in the vicinity of Ton Sonh Nhant Airbase near Saigon and Tay Ninh Province.  Neilson records that they suffered 38 men killed in action, 218 wounded...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

One letter from Willard Doud to his sister, Dora Elizabeth Doud (Swem) dated July 11, 1898 from Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.  In his letter, Doud describes the scene in the Caribbean during the Spanish American War.  He even gives a description of prisoners of war from the Spanish Navy on transport via the USS St. Louis.  Included with the letter is a pin from Dora's high school year at Englewood High School in Chicago, Illinois.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from Bishop John Johns in Richmond, Virginia to Henry Anthon, D.D. and Rector of St. Mark's Church, Bowery, New York dated June 11, 1849.  Subject matter of the letter is the College of William and Mary and specifically the appointment of Dr. Stone to the College.  John Johns served as the fifteenth President of the College from 1849 until 1854.  He was also  the 4th Bishop of Virginia, elected in 1862.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: About 55 pages of a diary by Nina Blodgett recorded during three trips spanning 1968-1974.  The first trip was a guided tour to Alaska July 2-20, 1968 where Blodgett describes landscapes, glaciers, travel logistics with her group, and sleeping arrangements.  She also describes the late sunset, people near her catching a 165+ pound halibut, and view of Native American dances. The second trip was a Caribbean Grange tour, February 1-14, 1974.  On this trip Blodgett visits many...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Civil War diary of Henry Alexander Scandrett dated 1862. The front of the diary has the entry from January 7, 1862 written through Thursday, January 9, "Monday 5th of May. Was in my first battle today. About 1 o'clock PM our regiment was marched into the field.  We were thrown in advance and through some blunder was not reinforced.  We have lost all our company officers and our field officers are all wounded.  With fifteen others I was taken prisoner and am now in William and Mary College." ...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: 17 whole and partial letters written from Margaret P.H. Luqueer to her Cousin Jacob and Aunt Nancy while she travelled through Europe and the Middle East. In her letters she describes the scenery at length; London Fog in London rendering darkness during the day, beautiful cliffs and sea views on her way to Sorrento. In all, Margaret visits, London, Rome, Pompeii, Alexandria, Jerusalem, Damascus, Beirut, Athens, Trieste, Pallanza- Lake Maggiore, Innsbruck, Munich, Paris, Geneva, and...

Scope and Contents A Sanford Howard production of the screenplay, Mr. Kool final draft script dated June 19, 1973. The film was released in the United States  August 7, 1974 titled Together Brothers.  As part of the Blaxploitation Cinema, the story is about an African American policeman, nicknamed Mr. Kool, who is gunned down in a poor neighborhood in Galveston, Texas.  The only witness to the crime was a young boy named Tommy who is rendered mute by the trauma he suffered when the gunman tried to kill him,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Invoices, receipts and related material for financial transactions during the nineteenth century, mostly in Virginia and on the East Coast.  The collection is arranged alphabetically by the name attached to the document, with usually one document per name.  Many items do not have locations, but most are in Virginia. These items give an overview of the types of goods purchased and the price of these purchases during the nineteenth century.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Invoices, receipts and related material for financial transactions during the nineteenth century, mostly in Virginia and on the East Coast.  The collection is arranged alphabetically by the name attached to the document, with usually one document per name.  Many items do not have locations, but most are in Virginia. These items give an overview of the types of goods purchased and the price of these purchases during the nineteenth century.

Scope and Contents

Receipt for William W. Beadles, Farmers Bank, Richmond, Virginia, December 17, 1844. Signed by Stuart Morris.

Scope and Contents

Payment to J.S. New for shoe leather from M. Branch estate per Mares & Christian and E.W. Branch.  November 1856.

Scope and Contents

Receipt for coal from P.C. Laurs at 10 cents per bushel.  August 28, 1848.

Scope and Contents

Invoice of clothing bought of [illegible] by F.W. Deven. February 20, 1856. Location unknown.

Scope and Contents

Receipt for ticket paid in Fort Republic, Virginia to Southern Express Company. December 2, 1898.

Scope and Contents

Receipt and invoice for household items bought from Alexander Nott and Binford and Norman. Richmond, Virginia. 1848.

Scope and Contents

Receipt for Encyclopedia Americana, Volume 7, bought from Frank Taylor of Thompson and [unclear]. 1831 or 1851.

Scope and Contents

Three receipts for shipping bundles of paper with Sloop Lewis and Sloop Aetna. Receipt for rent from heirs of James M.Varnum. Possibly Washington, D.C. and New York. 1833 and 1837.

Scope and Contents

S.G. Fauntling Invoice for purchases from Dunn & Burch. 3 pages listing mostly groceries and general store items. April-December 1889.

Scope and Contents

Tax receipt for payment in full of tax for 1834 by John Fleming. Location unknown.

Scope and Contents

Givandon, R. Receipt for sessions in penmanship from Levi Dolbear, $10.00. Natchez. February 3, 1848.

Scope and Contents

Order slip for corn written to William Spencer by Dabney Hill asking him to give a bushel to William Evans. September 6, 1843.

Scope and Contents

Receipt for a curry comb and chisel bought from B.H. Powell. January 24,1848.

Scope and Contents

Receipt for Archibald Hollen by Elias Hollen for $5 payment to Daniel Thomas. September 30, 1868. Location unknown.