Scope and Contents From the Collection: [NOTE: Since the Martha Barksdale diary is fragile, researchers are required to use either the digital verison, the photocopy, or the transcription of the diary.]The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of...

Scope and Contents [NOTE: Since the diary is fragile, researchers are required to use either the digital verison, the photocopy, or the transcription of the diary.]In her diary, Martha Barksdale recorded the events of her first year at college as a member of the first class of women to enter the College of William and Mary. The entry for 26 November 1918 reads: "[...] were quarrentined for Spanish influenza. This was a good thing for us. None of the girls had it so we used our time in getting well...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: [NOTE: Since the Martha Barksdale diary is fragile, researchers are required to use either the digital verison, the photocopy, or the transcription of the diary.]The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of...

Scope and Contents

The diploma from Gymnastic Peoples College in Ollerup, Denmark, reads: "Martha Elizabeth Barksdale has successfully completed the six weeks summer course for American women teachers of physical education and is hereby endorsed as an exponent of fundamental gymnastics in America."

Scope and Contents

Two Pages. Completed form for Martha Barksdale, giving her department and title; degrees held and other education; date and place of birth and parents' names; clubs and fraternities; publications; hobbies; teaching experience; other positions held

Scope and Contents From the Collection: [NOTE: Since the Martha Barksdale diary is fragile, researchers are required to use either the digital verison, the photocopy, or the transcription of the diary.]The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: [NOTE: Since the Martha Barksdale diary is fragile, researchers are required to use either the digital verison, the photocopy, or the transcription of the diary.]The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: [NOTE: Since the Martha Barksdale diary is fragile, researchers are required to use either the digital verison, the photocopy, or the transcription of the diary.]The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: [NOTE: Since the Martha Barksdale diary is fragile, researchers are required to use either the digital verison, the photocopy, or the transcription of the diary.]The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of...