Skip to main content

Box 1

 Container

Contains 8 Results:

Personal Correspondence, 1831-1834 and undated

 File — Box: 1, Folder: 34
Identifier: id301898
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Correspondence and other material, 1780-1834, by, to, and concerning James Monroe.  See inventory link (below) for folder list.

Dates: 1831-1834 and undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers

James Monroe, New York, to [?], 1831 March 24

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 34
Identifier: id301900
Scope and Contents

Decided to stay in New York because of health and will sell property in Loudo[un. Gave young Brown a letter of introduction to Gov. LaFayette. Offers his services. Typewritten Copy included.

Dates: 1831 March 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

James Monroe, New York, New York, to Dr. Charles Everett , 1831 March 28

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 34
Identifier: id301902
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Correspondence and other material, 1780-1834, by, to, and concerning James Monroe.  See inventory link (below) for folder list.

Dates: 1831 March 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

J.Q. Adams, Quincy, to Richard Rush, York, Pennsylvania, 1831 September 17

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 34
Identifier: id301904
Scope and Contents

Discusses the Monroe Doctrine and Free masonry.

Dates: 1831 September 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

Thomas Munroe, Washington, to John Randolph Clay, St. Petersburg, 1834 November 24

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 34
Identifier: id301906
Scope and Contents

Discusses the death of his son and arrangements to be made in settling his affairs. Typewritten Copy included.

Dates: 1834 November 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

Note in Monroe's hand "who shall vote", undated

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 34
Identifier: id301908
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Correspondence and other material, 1780-1834, by, to, and concerning James Monroe.  See inventory link (below) for folder list.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

Note in Monroe's hand on government finances (James Monroe to Silas Burrows?), undated

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 34
Identifier: id301910
Scope and Contents

Fragment of 1 page. Autograph Document.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

James Monroe to Caesar Rodney, undated

 Item — Box: 1, Folder: 34
Identifier: id301912
Scope and Contents

Invitation. This document was conserved with support from Clan Munro Association U.S.A., Inc.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence