Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection consists of a variety of French, English, and American documents that span from the late thirteenth century to the year 1950. Series 1 contains medieval French and English land sale and grant documents on vellum written primarily in Latin from c.1290-1396. The French documents are from Caylus and Espinas, while the English documents are from Yorkshire. Series 2 contains English land transfer, indenture, and last will and testament documents on vellum...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection consists of a variety of French, English, and American documents that span from the late thirteenth century to the year 1950. Series 1 contains medieval French and English land sale and grant documents on vellum written primarily in Latin from c.1290-1396. The French documents are from Caylus and Espinas, while the English documents are from Yorkshire. Series 2 contains English land transfer, indenture, and last will and testament documents on vellum...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection consists of a variety of French, English, and American documents that span from the late thirteenth century to the year 1950. Series 1 contains medieval French and English land sale and grant documents on vellum written primarily in Latin from c.1290-1396. The French documents are from Caylus and Espinas, while the English documents are from Yorkshire. Series 2 contains English land transfer, indenture, and last will and testament documents on vellum...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection consists of a variety of French, English, and American documents that span from the late thirteenth century to the year 1950. Series 1 contains medieval French and English land sale and grant documents on vellum written primarily in Latin from c.1290-1396. The French documents are from Caylus and Espinas, while the English documents are from Yorkshire. Series 2 contains English land transfer, indenture, and last will and testament documents on vellum...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Indenture whereby Christopher Bullin, a banker from Liverpool, sells 36,000 square yards (4 acres) of land in Walton-on-the-Hill to William Brown, a merchant from Liverpool. John Topham, Joshua Lace, and Ambrose Lace, all of Liverpool, are also mentioned. A hand drawn map of Bullin's land is provided and the document states that the land is bounded by Mr. Palmer's to the north, the late Mr. Crompton's to the east, the late Mr. Thomas Lowry's to the west, and the road...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Patent for Evan Leigh of Aston-under-Lyne, Lancashire County, England for the invention of "certain improvements in steam engines" and others for "serving machinery." Large, intricately detailed wax Great Seal of the United Kingdom of Queen Victoria attached to document by yellow and green rope. Dates to the reign of Victoria, Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (r.1837-1901). Patent was contained in a blue wooden stationary box with latch. On the top...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection consists of a variety of French, English, and American documents that span from the late thirteenth century to the year 1950. Series 1 contains medieval French and English land sale and grant documents on vellum written primarily in Latin from c.1290-1396. The French documents are from Caylus and Espinas, while the English documents are from Yorkshire. Series 2 contains English land transfer, indenture, and last will and testament documents on vellum...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection consists of a variety of French, English, and American documents that span from the late thirteenth century to the year 1950. Series 1 contains medieval French and English land sale and grant documents on vellum written primarily in Latin from c.1290-1396. The French documents are from Caylus and Espinas, while the English documents are from Yorkshire. Series 2 contains English land transfer, indenture, and last will and testament documents on vellum...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection consists of a variety of French, English, and American documents that span from the late thirteenth century to the year 1950. Series 1 contains medieval French and English land sale and grant documents on vellum written primarily in Latin from c.1290-1396. The French documents are from Caylus and Espinas, while the English documents are from Yorkshire. Series 2 contains English land transfer, indenture, and last will and testament documents on vellum...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents This collection of American railroad stock certificates includes documents from the following companies: White Water Railroad Copmany; The Wali Kill Valley Railroad Company; Vernon Greensburg and Rushville Railroad Company; The Toledo & Michigan Belt Railway Company; Utica and Schenectady Railroad Company; Ware River Railroad Company; West Shore Railroad Company; The Pittsburgh and Connellsville Railroad Company; Albany and Schenectady Railroad Company; Cincinnati,...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Copied by Elijah Haywood, commissioner of the General Land Office, Washington D.C., on June 14, 1832. Original document a land patent for James Dicky dated April 24, 1798, Philadelphia. Land awarded for the Revolutionary War service of William Lewis, a major for seven years in the Virginia Continental Line. James Dicky, an asignee, is given two thousand acres. Other names mentioned include William Lytle, Robert Morris, John Taylor Griffin. Original signed by John Adams,...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Copied by Elijah Haywood, commissioner of the General Land Office, Washington, D.C., on June 14, 1832. Original document a land patent for William Lytle dated May 21, 1798, Philadelphia. Land awarded for the Revolutionary War service of Francis Mianis, a captain for seven years in the Virginia Continental Line. William Lytle, an asignee, is given one thousand acres. Other names mentioned include Henry Banks, William Johnston, William Reynolds. Original signed by John...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Copied by Elijah Haywood, commissioner of the General Land Office, Washington, D.C., on June 14, 1832. Original document a land patent for William Lytle dated June 9, 1798, Philadelphia and delivered to R. Thoamas on June 26, 1798. Land awarded for the Revolutionary War service of William Cunninghma who served as a major for three years in the Virginia Continental Line. 1,333 and 1/3 acres of land is transferred to William Lytle, asignee of Robert Morris, asignee of John...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Copied by Elijah Haywood, commissioner of the General Land Office, Washington, D.C., on June 14, 1832. Original document a land patent for William Lytle dated June 9, 1798, Philadelphia. Land awarded for the Revolutionary War service of Harrison Winn, a soldier the entire war, and David Harris, a soldier for three years. William Lytle, an asignee, is given three hundred acres. Other names mentioned include Henry Hayes, John W. Johnson, Thomas Mathews, and John Archer....

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Copied by Elijah Haywood, commissioner of the General Land Office, Washington, D.C., on June 14, 1832. Original document a land patent for William Lytle dated January 14, 1799, Philadelphia. Land awarded for the Revolutionary War service of Johnathan Tinsley, John Shaver, George Shaver, and Dennis McKiney in the Virginia Continental Line. William Lytle, an asignee, is given five hundred acres. Other names mentioned include Samuel McCraw, Josiah Tanehill, and John...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Copied by Elijah Haywood, commissioner of the General Land Office, Washington, D.C., on June 14, 1832. Original document a land patent for William Lytle dated January 15, 1799, Philadelphia. Land awarded for the Revolutionary War service of John Casey, a soldier for the entire war, Allen Stubbs, a soldier for three years, and Samuel Brooking, a corporal for three years, all in the Virginia Continental Line. William Lytle, an asignee, is given five hundred acres. Other...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Copied by Elijah Haywood, commissioner of the General Land Office, Washington, D.C., on June 14, 1832. Original document a land patent for William Lytle dated July 5, 1799, Philadelphia. Land awarded for the Revolutionary War service of William Davies, a colonel of seven years in the Virginia Continental Line. William Lytle, an asignee, is given one thousand acres. Other names mentioned include Thomas Bedford and John Catlett. Original signed by John Adams, President,...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Copied by Elijah Haywood, commissioner of the General Land Office, Washington D.C., on June 14, 1832. Original document a land patent for William Lytle dated May 12, 1800, Philadelphia and delivered to Thomas Hopkins on December 20, 1800. Land awarded for the Revolutionary War service of Thomas Patterson in the Virginia Continental Line. William Lytle, an asignee, is given three hundred and ninety acres. Other names mentioned include Charles Patterson, Henry Whitings,...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Copied by Elijah Haywood, commissioner of the General Land Office, Washington D.C., on June 14, 1832. Original document a land patent for William Lytle dated May 12, 1800, Philadelphia and delivered to Thomas Hopkins on December 20, 1800. Land awarded for the Revolutionary War service of Thomas Patterson in the Virginia Continental Line. William Lytle, an asignee, is given one thousand acres. Other names mentioned include Charles Patterson. Original signed by John Adams,...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Copied by Elijah Haywood, commissioner of the General Land Office, Washington D.C., on June 14, 1832. Original document a land patent for William Lytle dated December 19, 1800, Washington, D.C. Land awarded for the Revolutionary War service of David Stephenson, a major for seven years, and William McEliay, a soldier for three years, both in the Virginia Continental Line. William Lytle, an asignee, is given three hundred and ninety acres. Other names mentioned include Evan...

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Copied by Elijah Haywood, commissioner of the General Land Office, Washington D.C., on June 14, 1832. Original document a land patent for William Lytle dated December 19, 1800, Washington, D.C. and delivered to Thomas Hopkins on December 20, 1800. Land awarded for the Revolutionary War service of James Monroe, a major for three years in the Virginia Continental Line. William Lytle, an asignee, is given three thousand three hundred and one third acres. Other names mentioned...

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Printed in Washington, D.C. by R.C. Weightman. Uncut, 5 pages.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents 29th Congress, 1st Session, House of Representatives Executive Documber No. 221, August 6, 1846. Published in Washington D.C. by Ritchie & Heiss. 3 pages. President James K. Polk here transmits a copy of the treaty by which the United States acquired the Oregon Territory. Includes separate, typed twentieth century note.

Scope and Contents Scope and Contents Printed in Boston by Alfred Mudge & Son, 34 School Street, Opposite City Hall. Bound, 26 pages. Josiah Perham, an early advocate of a transcontinental railroad here proposes the construction of a Pacific railroad to be financed by sale of stock, in quantities of one to ten shares, to small investors. Calling his scheme the People's Pacific Railroad, he envisioned the ownership of the line to consist of at least a million Americans, each of whom would be a participant...

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Headline story titled "Exploring Expeditions" with main titles "The Hayden Expedition of 1873," "The New Route to Yellowstone Park, Capt. Jone's Expedition of 1873," and "Prof. Agassiz's Amazon Expedition." Uncut, still as one large folded sheet. 8 pages.