Box 8
Container
Contains 30 Results:
J. B. Walters, Portsmouth, Virginia, to Capt. James Barron Hope, 28 March 1873
Item — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174758
Scope and Contents
Criticism of an editorial in The Virginian; endorsement by James Barron Hope concerns his reply. Endorsement by J[aney] B[arron] H[ope] M[arr]tells how this led to a near duel.
Dates:
28 March 1873
J. B. Walters to Capt. Jas. Barron Hope, 28 March 1873
Item — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174759
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents A demand for "satisfaction" sent by the hand of his friends Capt. B. Martin and F. J. Roche.
Dates:
28 March 1873
1861-1905 and undated
File — Box: 8
Identifier: id174753
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
1790-1965; Majority of material found within 1847-1887
Written from Warrenton, North Carolina, 2 June 1861
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174754
Scope and Contents
Note endorsed, "Written by Jane Barron Hope (Mrs. Wilton Hope) mother of Jas. Barron Hope."
Dates:
2 June 1861
Obituary of Mrs. Jane A. Hope, daughter of Comm. James Barron, 3 February 1862
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174755
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
3 February 1862
Miscellaneous Items
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174756
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
1790-1965; Majority of material found within 1847-1887
S. Barron, "Malvern," near Loretto, Essex County, Virginia, to Capt. J[ames] Barron Hope,Norfolk, Virginia, 27 August 1880
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174761
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Cover endorsed, "Uncle Sam Barron's letter about Lamb-Hope duel" signed J[aney] H[ope] Marr.
Dates:
27 August 1880
Editorial "The Code" which concerned the threatened duel between Col. Lamb and Capt. Hope, August 1880
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174763
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
August 1880
Invitation to the Yorktown Centennial Celebration, 18 October 1881
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174764
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
18 October 1881
A. S. Lloyd, Norfolk, to Jas. Barron Hope, Norfolk, 16 July 1887
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174765
Scope and Contents
Sent with sketch of Pocahontas.
Dates:
16 July 1887
Jennie B. Marr, Warrenton, Virginia, to Mrs. Annie B. Hope, Norfolk, Virginia, 18 September 1887
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174767
Scope and Contents
Letter of condolence upon the death of Capt. [James Barron] Hope.
Dates:
18 September 1887
Edw'd R. Baird, "Epping Forrest," to Mrs. R. A. Marr, Norfolk, Virginia, 24 September 1887
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174768
Scope and Contents
Letter of condolence upon the death of James [Barron Hope].
Dates:
24 September 1887
R. E. Lee, Jr., Washington, D.C., to Mrs. Marr, 13 December 1892
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174770
Scope and Contents
Appreciation for a package of poems that he had received.
Dates:
13 December 1892
Article by Janey Hope Marr in the Hampton Monitortitled "Correct Story of Hope-Lamb Affair", 1903-03-06T00:00:00.000
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174771
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
1903-03-06T00:00:00.000
Henry E. Shepherd, Baltimore, to Mrs. Janey Hope Marr, 1905-06-13T00:00:00.000
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174772
Scope and Contents
Letter concerns his hearing of a recitation of a poem by [James Barron] Hope on August 8, 1866.
Dates:
1905-06-13T00:00:00.000
Announcement of the publication of Little Stories for Little Peopleby James Barron Hope, undated
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174986
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
undated
Sketch, undated
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174987
Scope and Contents
Endorsed "Painted for my room...by my father, James Barron Hope." Signed Janey Hope Marr.
Dates:
undated
Printed notice of publication of "A Wreath of Virginia Bay Leaves", selected poems of James Barron Hope, edited by his daughter, Janey Hope Marr, undated
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174988
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
undated
Anne V. Marr, "Notes to go with the Barron-Hope Papers," December 1965.
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174989
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
1790-1965; Majority of material found within 1847-1887
Silhouette of James Barron Hope, when 5 years old, undated
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174990
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
undated
Lace cap worn by James Barron Hope, undated
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174991
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
undated
Linen collar worn by James Barron Hope, undated
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174992
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
undated
Wedding slippers and stockings of Jane Barron Hope, married to Wilton Hope, 13 June 1816
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174993
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
13 June 1816
Spectacles worn by James Barron Hope, undated
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174994
Scope and Contents
From the Collection:
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates:
undated
Oval miniature of Elizabeth Barron French, daughter of James Barron the Younger, and wife of Dr. George French, undated
File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174995
Scope and Contents
With attached colored drawing on tissue, representing her departed spirit, and illustrated with flowers, willow tree, gravestone, etc.
Dates:
undated