Skip to main content

Box 6

 Container

Contains 20 Results:

1879-1932 and undated

 File — Box: 6
Identifier: id174671
Scope and Contents

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: 1790-1965; Majority of material found within 1847-1887
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials

Poem - "Dreamers"[by James Barron Hope], undated

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174672
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

Poem - "Alas! He's cold!"[by James Barron Hope], undated

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174673
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

Poem - "Let there be Light,"[by James Barron Hope], undated

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174674
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

Poem - "Three names,"[by James Barron Hope], undated

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174675
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

Poem [by James Barron Hope], undated

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174676
Scope and Contents

This poem was probably the "Yorktown Ode"delivered by James Barron Hope on the 100th anniversary of the surrender of Cornwallis at Yorktown, 19 October 1881.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

An address [by James Barron Hope] made [Yorktown], October 1879

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174677
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: October 1879
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

An address [by James Barron Hope] to "Young Gentlemen of Onancock Academy", undated

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174679
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

An address [by James Barron Hope] on agriculture, undated

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174680
Scope and Contents

Includes details of the operation of "Mount Vernon" Plantation.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

Autograph poems [by James Barron Hope] and some newspaper clippings of poems which are pasted on black pages, December 1860

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174681
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: December 1860
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

Folder 10: Stories

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174682
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: 1790-1965; Majority of material found within 1847-1887
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

"Memoriae Sacrum. Alexander Galt, the Sculptor,"by James Barron Hope, undated

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174686
Scope and Contents

Poem from the South Atlantic.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

Memorial poem to James Barron Hope by William E. Cameron, Petersburg, Virginia, 20 October 1887

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174687
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: 20 October 1887
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

A portion of the front page of the Daily Advertiserof Boston, 18 June 1881

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174689
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: 18 June 1881
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

Account of "James Barron's life in Dictionary of American Biography" in the Virginian Pilotand Norfolk Landmark, 1932-06-20T00:00:00.000

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174690
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: 1932-06-20T00:00:00.000
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

Part of the Norfolk Virginian Pilotwith article on James Barron Hope, 1937-10-28T00:00:00.000

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174691
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: 1937-10-28T00:00:00.000
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

A daguerreotype of a young man [James Barron Hope], undated

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174692
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

Sketch entitled "Two Envious Confederates,"framed [by James Barron Hope], undated

 File — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174693
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated

"The Beginning of the End,"a story without a plot, undated

 Item — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174683
Scope and Contents

285 pages with cover signature "James Barron Hope." Enclosure see item list below, Box-folder 6:10.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated / Folder 10: Stories

Enclosed in the AV., sheet of titles of XIX chapters, undated

 Item — Multiple Containers
Identifier: id174685
Scope and Contents From the File:

This collection of manuscript poems, addresses, one story, one sketch and a daguerreotype augment the material found in Series 3, Literary and Artistic Work of James Barron Hope.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I) / Series 5: Compositions and Other Literary Materials / 1879-1932 and undated / Folder 10: Stories