Waller family papers
-
No requestable containers
Content Description
The Waller family papers contains original documents including correspondence, deeds, land indentures, receipts, photographs and other papers related to the genealogical research of the Waller family by Anne Waller Reddy (1890-1971). Materials include those belonging to or documenting Governor Littleton John Waller Tazewell as well as Benjamin and John Waller.
The 18th century papers concern a lawsuit between Benjamin and John Waller over land in King William County. There are also court papers relating to a capital murder trial in the General Court of Benjamin Waller.
Dates
- Creation: 1750-1965
Creator
- Reddy, Anne Waller, 1890- (Person)
Conditions Governing Access
The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Extent
1.92 Linear Feet (2 Hollinger boxes (1 oversize))
Language
English
Arrangement
The collection is arranged into one series: Series I. General papers.
Immediate Source of Acquisition
The Waller family papers were donated by Mary Caroline Giles Mixon in memory of John Waller, the immigrant.
- Title
- Guide to the Waller family papers
- Status
- Unprocessed
- Author
- William & Mary Special Collections Research Center
- Date
- 2023 May
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Andrew Lewis Riffe, "The Wallers of Enfield, King William County), Part 1" Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 59, No. 3 (July 1951), pp. 337-352
- Andrew Lewis Riffe, "The Wallers of Enfield, King William County), Part 2" Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 59, No. 4 (October 1951), pp. 458-493.
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository