Nancy S. Luzar papers
-
No requestable containers
Content Description
This collection consists of papers, photographs, textiles, ephemera, artifacts, and a scrapbook created and collected by Nancy Sturgeon Luzar (Class of 1972) during her time at William & Mary. Included are a blue Villager wool sweater that Luzar wore Freshman year (1968-1969) and green Villager wool suit jacket and skirt that she bought for Freshman Homecoming and wore to football games. Other clothing includes Luzar's yellow William & Mary gym uniform shirt, a William & Mary football jersey, a navy blue windbreaker with the Greek letters "Chi Omega" stitched in white, "wheat" colored pants that Luzar brought (but was not allowed to wear) Freshman year, and a purple felt hat that Luzar wore Senior year (1972). Papers include Luzar's college scrapbook, Green & Gold photo books for the Classes of 1972 and 1973, official correspondence from William & Mary administrators to new and enrolled students, as well as programs and ephemera documenting student activities. Also included is an envelope that once held William & Mary football tickets, given to Luzar by Coach Lou Holtz as a personal friend.
Dates
- Creation: 1968-1972
Conditions Governing Access
The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Extent
4 Linear Feet
Language
English
Arrangement
Collection is arranged by accession.
Immediate Source of Acquisition
Donated by Nancy Luzar (Class of 1972).
- Title
- Guide to the Nancy S. Luzar papers
- Status
- Completed
- Author
- William & Mary Special Collections Research Center staff
- Date
- 2023 July
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository