Skip to main content

Hugh Blair Grigsby Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01769

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

Letters written to Grigsby by L. S. Joynes, Thomas R. Joynes and Benjamin S. Ewell concerning a professorship for Edward S. Joynes and the Grammar School at the College of William and Mary. Includes constitution, 1854, of the Jamestown Society, Washington, D. C. and one issue of the newspaper, the Richmond Standard, 29 May 1880, which had an article on the Henry family of Virginia (descended from John Henry and Sarah Winston Syme.

Letter written from New York by George Bancroft, retired Secretary of the Navy, to Hugh Blair Grigsby concerning the "Mecklenburg Affair," Madison on the Constitution and refers to Edward Rutledge. Dated 27 June 1857. Original ID number was Mss. 95 G87. Material from the Faculty Alumni File added in 2018.

Dates

  • Creation: 1854-1880

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Hugh Blair Grigsby was the son and only child of Benjamin Porter Grigsby (1770-1810), an early Presbyterian minister in Norfolk, Va., and Elizabeth McPherson (1778-1860). Grigsby married Mary Venable Carrington in 1840 and afterwards lived at Edgehill, Charlotte County, Virginia.

Hugh Blair Grigsby, nineteenth-century Virginia historian, lived from 1806-1881. He served on the Board of Visitors and as Chancellor of the College of William and Mary and was President of the Virginia Historical Society. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.05 Linear Feet

Additional Description

Acquisition Information:

Gift 2004.16 addition: Removed from vol. 1 of Grigsby's copy of Bancroft's History of the Colonization of the United States (1841) - uncatalogued at SOSS as of 3/04.

Physical Description

6 items

Processing Information:

Processed by Laura Odendahl in 1995.

Related Name

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Hugh Blair Grigsby Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Laura Odendahl.
Date
2007-07-30
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: