Robert Paul Carlson Collection
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
This collection contains news clippings, correspondence, and photographs about Robert Paul Carlson from 1953-2007. Carlson was a member of the William and Mary class of 1966. The bulk of the material is made up of news clippings about Carlson's involvement with preserving the history of Maine Township in Park Ridge, Illinois, where he taught Social Studies for 50 years. Also included in the papers are two DVDs, including one from a 2007 message by New York Senator Hillary Clinton about Carlson, her former high school teacher, being inducted into the Maine Township's Wall of Honor. The other DVD features two 2005 news clips from ABC 7 and WTTW in Chicago, Illinois about Carlson teaching for almost 50 years at Maine East High School. The material was arranged by Gary Weil as a gift to Paul Carlson. Weil initially presented the collection to Maine Township High School, Park Ridge, Illinois, in nomination of Paul Carlson for the school’s Wall of Honor.
Dates
- Creation: 1953-2007
- Creation: Majority of material found in 1960-1990
Creator
- Weil, Gary (Person)
- Carlson, Robert Paul (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Extent
0.40 Linear Feet
Acquisition Information:
Acc. 2009.494 was received on 8/6/2009 from Gary Weil via Donald Buchanan who had delivered it to the William & Mary Office of the President.
Processing Information:
Accessioned and minimally processed by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in October 2009. Further description and arrangement by Peter Klicker, SCRC Staff, in December 2009.
- Title
- Guide to the Robert Paul Carlson Collection
- Author
- Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, Peter Klicker, SCRC Staff.
- Date
- 2009-10-24
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository