Skip to main content

Samuel Henry Early Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01483

Scope and Contents

The collection consists of three items.

The first item is a silhouette of Early.

The second item is a half-tone and mezzotint engraving of Early with facsimile autograph. He dressed in military uniform.

The third item is a letter written by Early to his daughter, Ruth Hairston Early, on September 23, 1866. He discusses her education, specifically music, and discusses other subjects.

Dates

  • 1866, undated

Conditions Governing Access

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Curator of Manuscripts and Rare Books, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical / Historical

Samuel Henry Early attended William & Mary from 1830-1832. He lived in Lynchburg, Va.

Extent

0.01 Linear Feet

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Silhouette gift of E. R. Early of Washington DC

The engraving was a gift of Ruth H. Early of Lynchburg, Va. in October 1921.

The letter to his daughter was found in a book presented to W&M Libraries by Ruth H. Early and accessioned in October 1941.

Related Materials

University Archives Faculty-Alumni File Collection

General

Removed from the Faculty-Alumni File Collection in June 2016
Title
Guide to the Samuel Henry Early Collection
Description rules
dacs
Language of description
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: