Skip to main content

Homer B. Bassett Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00192

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

Three typewritten volmes of Homer B. Bassett on his trip through the USSR in May to September of 1930. Includes two volumes entitled "Report on Railways of USSR," which contain suggestions for improvements to the Soviet railway system and description of their current state. The second volume contains the typescripts of the daily notes of the inspectors, written while they were at each site that was inspected. The third volume is Homer Bassett's personal diary from the trip, which contains his iternerary, observations on people that he saw, description of his visit to the Kremlin, and other observations relating to the state of the USSR.

Dates

  • 1930

Creator

Conditions Governing Access

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Curator of Manuscripts and Rare Books, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.25 Linear Feet

Language

English

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Purchased, March 2012

Title
Guide to the Homer B. Bassett Papers
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: