Two albums containing pictures, brochures, advertisements, and newspaper clippings from Temple Beth El of Williamsburg, Virginia. Founded in 1959, the scrapbooks highlight one of the building renovations that began in 1989. The Synagogue was formerly the Foster Gift shop. In 1968, it was purchased from Colonial Williamsburg, and moved from its foundation on Francis Street to its Jamestown Road location and serves as the temple for the Jewish congregation of Williamsburg. The scrapbooks predominately feature Dr. Paul and Ethel Sternberg, the first president of the congregation and first female president, respectively. Other pictures and articles showcase the congregation, activities, services, and community outreach from the 1980's through early 2000's with some photographs of the temple from the 1970's.
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Temple Beth-El Scrapbooks, 1972- 2008, Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library, College of William and Mary. https://scrcguides.libraries.wm.edu/repositories/2/resources/7570 Accessed January 25, 2021.