Skip to main content

Philip Slaughter Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D1

Scope and Contents

Fragment of a diary, 1777, kept by Philip Slaughter probably while serving in the 11th Virginia Regiment which concerns the campaign in Pennsylvania. The diary mentions John Marshall and also includes Slaughter's account for 1837.

 

Diary of Philip Slaughter, 1807-1816, in Swem Library’s microforms area, 1 reel, call number HD1471 .U5 R43.

Dates

  • 1777-1837
  • Majority of material found in 1777

Language of Materials

English

Physical Description

11 p. : bound volume ; 21 cm.

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

1.00 Linear Feet

Physical Characteristics or Technical Requirements:

When available, microfilm, photocopies, digital surrogates, or other reproductions must be used in place of original documents.

Related Materials:

Diary of Philip Slaughter, 1807-1816, in Swem Library’s microforms area, 1 reel, call number HD1471 .U5 R43.

Physical Description

11 p. : bound volume ; 21 cm.
Title
Guide to the Philip Slaughter Diary
Author
Special Collections staff.
Date
2009-07-07
Description rules
dacs
Language of description
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: