Skip to main content

Joseph Carrington Cabell College Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.024

Scope and Contents

This collection contains biographical items, correspondence (1798-1831), and Cabell's i>, 1831. Correspondence is photocopied from the Cabell Collection at Alderman Library at the University of Virginia, and includes letters relating to William and Mary and the University of Virginia.

Dates

  • 1798-1831

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Born December 28, 1778 in Amherst (now Nelson) County, VA, to Col. Nicholas and Hannah (Carrington) Cabell. Graduated from William and Mary in 1798 after studying law. A member of the Virginia Senate from 1810-1829 and a principal coadjutor of Thomas Jefferson in the founding of the University of Virginia, for which he served as a visitor and rector. Died February 5, 1856. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: http://scrc.swem.wm.edu/wiki/index.php/Joseph C. Cabell (Joseph Carrington)

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 1988.128 was received on 12/20/1988. It was previously part of the University Archives Faculty-Alumni File Collection and College Papers backlog and was made into its on collection.

Related Materials:

Joseph Carrington Cabell Papers (Mss. 81s C11); Cabell Family Papers (Mss. 65 C12).
Title
Guide to the Joseph Carrington Cabell College Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-05-29
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: